We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When it's free for two nights, I like!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Cedar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Great Cedar Hotel to your Saves list
Great Cedar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Norwich-Westerly Road, at Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06339   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Pittsfield, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“When it's free for two nights, I like!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We usually stay at Grand Pequot, but unfortunately the only comp rooms available were at Great Cedar. I have read very bad reviews on here about it, but honestly I really cannot find major faults with this hotel. The bed was extremely comfy. We stayed on the fourth floor (the smoking floor by choice). We stayed in room 452 right off the elevator and it was extremely quiet. Yes certainly it isn't as updated as the Grand Pequot but when you get the room free for two nights it's perfect. The pool and hot tub are definitely nicer at Pequot thought. Remember if you stay here you can pre-check in hours before check-in time and they will call you when your room is available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    43
    13
    11
See reviews for
32
69
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the casino before. However this is the first time we stayed in the Grand Cedars. We normally stay in the hotel formally known as the MGM Grand. However, the walk from the MGM always feels like an eternity. So we decided to try the Great Cedars. For those of you that don't know the Great Cedars is an older hotel at Foxwoods. We had a toe rom suite. The room was updated; however, it was very apparent that the updates were done in haste and little maintenance has been done to maintain the room. Out bathroom shower door handle was caulked back quite poorly and the shower door wouldn't shut. Therefore, we had water all over the floor. There was also puddles on water around the jacuzzi tub. That grossed me out a little. The hotel is old. Although they have tried to update it, I believe they were quickly and cheaply done. Maybe staying in the newer MGM is worth the walk.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Spent the night on February 26th to celebrate my husbands b.d.Bad enough all of the comp rooms were taken(as they said)we ended up paying $94.29 for a miserable night.Put us on the 6th floor facing the bus area.All night long could hear buses coming and going besides the trucks making deliveries.It seemed as if all night long all we could hear was the flushing of the toilet from the room next to us.Went down to the casino at 7a.m. to get a cup of coffee,not one drink person in sight....I will never pay for another room at Foxwoods,if it wasen't for my husband's b.d.wouldn't had even gone.Left at 10 to go to Mohegan for their buffet as it is really worth the price,$10.00 it's really a deal and a half .Hopefully other gamblers have better luck at Foxwoods because for the past year or so they just take our money....so I really paid more than $94.29 for this horrible time spent there...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mashantucket hotels

Waterford, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went with mom and daughter for midwinter getaway. Room was Nicely decorated, beds very comfortable and nice view. Indoor pool area not as nice as grand Pequot tower, so was a little disappointed in this, small and outdated. Otherwise pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel located right in the casino. The room was ready much sooner than expected. The room was great but not as good as the Grand Pequot. For a night of dinner and gambling it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and were surprised that the quality we remembered from past years was gone. The staff were very good but the room was only OK. There were no towel racks in the bathroom so we had to be creative in hanging up the face towels. There were 2 sinks, one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. This was a nice touch, but they only provided one bar of soap so we could not use the second sink. We had requested a late checkout, but the room key stopped working at 11am instead of 12pm. The staff on the floor let us into the room to get our luggage and they were very nice and helpful. The room was very clean. The temperature control was warmer/colder with no temp settings.

Room Tip: Ask for a comp upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here multiple times throughout the years. At one point, she preferred it over Foxwood's flagship hotel, Grand Pequot. Those days are gone.

The hotel looks worn. If you didn't know it, you'd think you were in a 3 star motel at best. At our last stay, my wife was struggling to find a comfortable spot on the mattress that obviously should have been retired years ago.

The bathroom is nothing to write home about (here again, it's what you would expect from a motel). Our kids found the triangular window seat charming when they were younger. They're still orange, behind orange sheers. We dump our luggage on the seat.

The walls are thin. Compound that with this being a casino hotel, and, well... don't expect a good night's sleep if you share the floor with raucous neighbors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
0.3 mi away
The Fox Tower
The Fox Tower
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
6.9 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Cedar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Cedar Hotel

Address: 39 Norwich-Westerly Road, at Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06339
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Cedar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Great Cedar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Cedar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.