We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Face Lift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Cedar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Cedar Hotel to your Saves list
Great Cedar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Norwich-Westerly Road, at Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06339   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Wolcott, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Poor Face Lift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the casino before. However this is the first time we stayed in the Grand Cedars. We normally stay in the hotel formally known as the MGM Grand. However, the walk from the MGM always feels like an eternity. So we decided to try the Great Cedars. For those of you that don't know the Great Cedars is an older hotel at Foxwoods. We had a toe rom suite. The room was updated; however, it was very apparent that the updates were done in haste and little maintenance has been done to maintain the room. Out bathroom shower door handle was caulked back quite poorly and the shower door wouldn't shut. Therefore, we had water all over the floor. There was also puddles on water around the jacuzzi tub. That grossed me out a little. The hotel is old. Although they have tried to update it, I believe they were quickly and cheaply done. Maybe staying in the newer MGM is worth the walk.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    39
    12
    10
See reviews for
29
67
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Spent the night on February 26th to celebrate my husbands b.d.Bad enough all of the comp rooms were taken(as they said)we ended up paying $94.29 for a miserable night.Put us on the 6th floor facing the bus area.All night long could hear buses coming and going besides the trucks making deliveries.It seemed as if all night long all we could hear was the flushing of the toilet from the room next to us.Went down to the casino at 7a.m. to get a cup of coffee,not one drink person in sight....I will never pay for another room at Foxwoods,if it wasen't for my husband's b.d.wouldn't had even gone.Left at 10 to go to Mohegan for their buffet as it is really worth the price,$10.00 it's really a deal and a half .Hopefully other gamblers have better luck at Foxwoods because for the past year or so they just take our money....so I really paid more than $94.29 for this horrible time spent there...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mashantucket hotels

Waterford, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went with mom and daughter for midwinter getaway. Room was Nicely decorated, beds very comfortable and nice view. Indoor pool area not as nice as grand Pequot tower, so was a little disappointed in this, small and outdated. Otherwise pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel located right in the casino. The room was ready much sooner than expected. The room was great but not as good as the Grand Pequot. For a night of dinner and gambling it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and were surprised that the quality we remembered from past years was gone. The staff were very good but the room was only OK. There were no towel racks in the bathroom so we had to be creative in hanging up the face towels. There were 2 sinks, one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. This was a nice touch, but they only provided one bar of soap so we could not use the second sink. We had requested a late checkout, but the room key stopped working at 11am instead of 12pm. The staff on the floor let us into the room to get our luggage and they were very nice and helpful. The room was very clean. The temperature control was warmer/colder with no temp settings.

Room Tip: Ask for a comp upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here multiple times throughout the years. At one point, she preferred it over Foxwood's flagship hotel, Grand Pequot. Those days are gone.

The hotel looks worn. If you didn't know it, you'd think you were in a 3 star motel at best. At our last stay, my wife was struggling to find a comfortable spot on the mattress that obviously should have been retired years ago.

The bathroom is nothing to write home about (here again, it's what you would expect from a motel). Our kids found the triangular window seat charming when they were younger. They're still orange, behind orange sheers. We dump our luggage on the seat.

The walls are thin. Compound that with this being a casino hotel, and, well... don't expect a good night's sleep if you share the floor with raucous neighbors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent an overnight at the Great Cedar Hotel. This was a comped visit. I asked if there were any complimentary upgrades and we were upgraded to a full suite on the top floor. There was a full living room with a window seat, full sofa, love seat and wet bar. Two bathrooms; one of which had a jacuzzi tub and separate water closet. The bedroom had a king size bed, window seat and a very large closet. The room was somewhat dated but the space more than made up for the 80's decor. My husband loved the room!

Room Tip: As the title says, just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Cedar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Cedar Hotel

Address: 39 Norwich-Westerly Road, at Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06339
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Cedar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Great Cedar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Cedar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.