We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Cedar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Cedar Hotel to your Saves list
Great Cedar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Norwich-Westerly Road, at Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06339   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Groton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at a suite in the Great Cedar. It was great as always. We have stayed at the MGM and the Grand Pequot before and we always like the Great Cedar the best. The front desk is always nice. Housekeeping are always extra friendly and so is all the other staff. I definitely recommend anyone looking to stay in the casino to stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    50
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
26
57
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BOSTON, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I prefer this hotel over the Pequot, because it is much closer and convenient to the main casinos. You don't have to use an escalator to get to your room, there's an elevator right next to the great cedar casino. The elevator service was prompt. The room is a good size and I like the windows, which you can also open if you want some fresh air. The beds and pillows were comfy and I thought that the bathroom size was average, I wouldn't say that it was small. There is also another sink and mirror outside of the bathroom. We couldn't hear any noise from any other rooms. Cons - The TV stations set up was confusing at first. You had to make sure the remote was pointed the right way at the TV to get it to change channels. There is no listing of TV channels in the hotel guide. The room temperature seemed to be either too cold or too hot. Our room was not available at our 10 am check in, but was ready around 10:30, they will call you. (not a con) I had to hunt for the bathroom towels, they are in a slot below the sink. You only get one small container of shampoo, conditioner, hand lotion and 2 small soaps, double the amount of everything would have been a little better. There is a fridge hidden with the drawers and a safe.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the elevators, our room was quite away from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent this past Friday evening (11/01/2013) here at the Great Cedar and enjoyed the stay in it's entirety. From checkin to checkout everything was as it should be - top shelf - Service was a real class act. Cleanliness was impeccable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a great stay! The room was very comfortable with a spectacular view of the Fall foliage. We also appreciated that we could open the windows and sleep well with the fresh air. Thank you for the great service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

First stay at Great Cedar. Have stayed multiple times at MGM Grand and Grand Pequot, I consider both of them better but I kind of expected that when I booked.
Cons: Cedar shows its age, older look and materials, signs worn off where shower handle is for instance. Dings and scratches on a lot of the materials. Bathroom very small, reception on TV very blotchy. The connecting door leading to the neighboring room (the one you'd use if you had booked 2 side by side rooms) was paper thin and I could hear every word of the conversations the people in the next room had. Thankfully they were a quiet neighbor.
Pros: clean room, housekeeping staff extremely friendly each time I saw them, check in very quick, price okay (had discount through Rewards card).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Check in was a breeze, very friendly staff. Finding the parking garage initially a challenge - it's a large area with several hotels all attached. It's a hike from the garage back to the hotel. Room was huge and nicely decorated. So...why 3 stars? We made the decision to stay there due to friends also being there and take responsibility for that choice. It was a weak moment. In retrospect, we could have save A LOT of money by staying a few miles away at the Hampton Inn. Very hard to justify $300 a night (after taxes etc...) Just not that 'opulent' a place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We understood check in policies on a Sunday(5pm). The gentleman at the front desk did not answer questions we asked, made fun of my sister's name. He did not make us feel welcome or confident we would be called when the room was ready. After 2 1/2 hours of wandering the casino, we went back to the hotel and saw others were getting rooms. We inquired and were treated like customer service was not high on the front desk priority. We felt because we are not casino regulars we were treated poorly. We go for the concerts and acts and always stay over. Someone needs to train hotel front desk staff at the GRAND CEDAR to listen instead of always assuming the customer is a problem. The pipe under the bathroom sink was covered with blue and brown mold like yuk. What was up with that???? Your mattresses need a overhaul.

Room Tip: Choose the MGM Grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mashantucket hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Cedar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Cedar Hotel

Address: 39 Norwich-Westerly Road, at Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06339
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Cedar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Great Cedar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Cedar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.