We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Cedar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Great Cedar Hotel to your Saves list
Great Cedar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Norwich-Westerly Road, at Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06339   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Great Cedar, though the oldest at the Foxwoods complex, is being maintained very well and has been updated. The location is near to many good restaurants and is centrally located to the shops and casinos. If walking is a problem, for older visitors, this would be the place to stay. The rooms are basic, but very clean. See attached photos. There is a also a pool that is part of the hotel if that matters to anyone. There wasn't much of a view, but I don't think anyone goes to Foxwoods to stare out their windows!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    32
    12
    9
See reviews for
25
52
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights over April vacation. Room was your average 2-3 star hotel room, but clean, comfortable and obviously in a great location. If you aren't looking for luxury, you will be perfectly happy.

Pool and hot tub are tiny.

Love the free valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because we were told the rooms were a little larger and "more family friendly". We loved the room and even got the type of beds we requested! Loved the window seat even though the view over looked the parking lot. Staff were not friendly at check-in, starting with parking attendents that seem bothered that we pulled in. At front desk was never welcomed or asked if we had stayed their before. We had to ask how to get to elevators and didn't ask if we had any questions. They didn't even tell us when check-out was!!!! Upon check out, girl who waited on us was snotty. We decided to store our luggage with bellhops, upon leaving while waiting for our car the bellhop was complaining to us about staff shortage and all the lay-offs. Very undecided if we will stay at this hotel or even return to Foxwoods!!!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Great Cedar Hotel and the room was great (awful view but that was not really important) The hotel/casino was very busy with the Alicia Keys concert and I found that trying to get to a bara and get a drink was impossible. They do not seem to have enough venues to accomodate sold out crowds. Other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Checked into the Great Cedar Hotel for the first time usually stay at MGM Grand or Grand peqout at Foxwoods. Had a great rate of $79 due to my player's card. When we arrived late (8:00) due to horrible weather conditions, we were told that the room type we reserved was no longer available.. but no worries... Jean at the front desk upgraded us to a wonderful suite for no extra charge! We had a bedroom with a beautiful window seat, living room with wet bar, one full bath with a marble shower and two person hot tub, and another 1/2 bath off the living room! The suite was so nice we hardly left it at all. They also gave us a late check out the next day! Room service was wonderful and the amenities in the suite were top notch- down to the plush robes! Would book again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: If suite upgrades are available and reasonable then you should go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first stay at Great Cedar. Although MGM at Foxwoods beats it out, it was a decent hotel. The locale is very convenient as it is right above the Foxwoods casino. We had a king bed which was very comfortable. There was a desk connected to the bureau with computer connection and free wi-fi. The bureau housed a refrigerator and safe, along with 2 deep drawers and the coffee/tea supplies. There was a flat screen TV on the bureau. There was a corner window seat as well as another chair and 2 tables. There is a clock radio with an I-pod dock on the nightstand. The bathroom was very clean and had an extra sink just outside the bathroom, across from the closet. This was nice to have two sinks/mirrors. The room showed some wear in frayed toss pillows and the toilet seat was missing the hinge cover.

My only real complaint is the housekeeping. Upon arrival, the room was fine. We stayed two nights so after getting up and out on our first full day, we were quite surprised when we returned at 3:00 in the afternoon and our room wasn't cleaned yet. The housekeeper was in the hall and said she hadn't gotten to it yet. We told her we'd be back and went to the pool for a while. Once we returned, although they had been in the room, there were problems. We had had breakfast delivered to the room in the morning and because we couldn't break down the table to fit it through the door into the hall, we had left it in the room, assuming housekeeping would take care of it. Well, they didn't. It was still in our room! Also, they did not give us new soap (the bars of soap are tiny). They did not replenish the coffee condiments that we used (stirrers, sugar, etc.) So, we weren't thrilled with the lack of care given our room by that staff.

Overall though, it was a nice stay. The pool and hot tub are nice and clean. The valet service was great. The front desk staff was nice on check in and check out. We had a room far away from the elevator, at the end of the hall which was nice and quiet. We'd consider going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed at all 4 Foxwood hotels and Great Cedar is our favorite! We got down there early enough to check in and immediately hit the pool/hot tub. This area was SO clean and the water was perfect! There was no one in the room which added to the serenity. The locker room came as a HUGE surprise - it was complete with toiletries, towels, face cloths. There was a nice sized steam room, another hot tub for private soaking. Everything was so clean. There was even a "lounge" area in the locker room. I am a woman and my locker room was great, however, my boyfriend's locker room experience was very nice amenity-wise, but there seemed to be a different crowd just lounging in the locker room which made him a little uncomfortable.

Our room was very spacious and very clean. Our alcove window seat was a nice touch. We ordered room service late in the evening and the room steward lady was very pleasant. The only thing that I didn't realize until after I signed the bill was that there was a tip already built in - so heads up. I'm just glad she was pleasant and the extra 20% I gave her wasn't unwarranted! The food we got (midnight) was delicious - and plentiful!

I hesitate in writing this review because there are so many good deals at this site that I don't want to share and ruin things for myself!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Cedar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Cedar Hotel

Address: 39 Norwich-Westerly Road, at Foxwoods Resort Casino, Mashantucket, CT 06339
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Cedar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Great Cedar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Cedar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.