We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Country Pub

The White Horse Country Pub
Route 202, 258 New Milford Turnpike, Marble Dale, CT
860 868 1496
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great place, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Overall, a very cool place. The vibe and the energy in the bar area is great albeit quite the zoo on a Saturday night. I like the authentic menu items for a British pub feel.

My two dings against it were the music and the wine. I don't know what the proper music choice should be for a British pub other than maybe British Invasion music, but cranking out The Beach Boys was definitely NOT the answer. Maybe some guitar, acoustic type stuff in the background would be better.

And the wine. We had a glass of the house Pinot Noir and Pinot Grigio. We are FAR from wine snobs, but we do appreciate good wine versus cheap wine. These were both very cheap. With the volume of booze this place does, I am sure they can invest in better wines by the glass. Please someone tell them.

Like I said, overall, a fun place for dinner.

P.s. The bar service was a bit slow at times as the bartenders need to develop "bar eyes". (the ability to see who needs service as you are getting drinks and food for others)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    34
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of London in Litchfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Always great food -- creative, generous portions & a wait-staff who tries very hard to please. It's worth the trip and you can always park in the post office lot if their own lot is filled. Very big bar business. The entree of mussels is too large to be believed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice on Route 202”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The atmosphere is awesome. It is pleasantly decorated with even an authentic Indian Motorcycle behind the bar. The food was excellent and well priced. I highly recomend the RED KNIGHT FIRE BURGER. Also our waitress Bonnie was very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Authentic Feel and Yummy Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place is not fancy but we loved the food! Not a dieters delight either. Lots of fried offerings for lunch, but everything was fresh, nicely prepared and presented. The wait staff is professional, attentive and knowledgable. The back room with the view of the babbling brook is very quaint and lovely and the decor throughout is authentic and inviting. The food is not fancy, the place is not fancy but it is warm and comfortable - a lot like the food. The whole area is one of the best places in the state. I recommend this place to lots of people and I will go back again - - and again, especially for Sunday brunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great English Country Fair Nestled in the Hills of Southern New England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The White Horse redefined the English Country Pub here in New England. Many of the dishes are traditionally British in nature, with many new and creative additions - all guaranteed to please. Traditional favorites such as Bangers n Mash, Sheppards Pie, and savory stews delight guests. Many of their soups & salads also have a very unique flair with many creative additions. And the desserts - wait until to taste them - amazing!

The cozy ambiance of this place also serves to further warm the pallet - a meandering river runs by the back of the restaurant for diners to enjoy. There is also a very nice bar and a fireplace to warm guests on chilly evenings. There's even a perfectly restored 1930's Indian Motorcycle up behind the bar area - beautiful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Country Pub also viewed

 
Washington Depot, CT
 

Been to The White Horse Country Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Country Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.