We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preperations for Festive time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Rann of Kutch

Great Rann of Kutch
Kutch, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Kutch
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Preperations for Festive time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Saw the majestic rann and it was a beautiful experience.
After walking on snow & ice walking on salt was a different feel all together.
Morover they are constructing a 2 km long drivable area in middle of Rann to have a exotic feel of sand covered with salt layer all around for kilometers.
Saw the tents being erected for the forthcoming Rann Utsav from 14 dec onwards. Beautiful AC & Non AC tents/ Canopies.
Central performing stage for folk art performences. Gujarat tuorism is all set for a gala event.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    46
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
809 reviews 809 reviews
327 attraction reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
“peaceful and desolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We visited in early Nov 2013-- and enjoyed. However, plan ahead and try to get to the permit/control point early to avoid lines. We stood in line 80 min for the permit to the desert and black hill.... Nice to see the landscape, nature, and desolation---- very peaceful and relaxing. The drive to Black Hill (Kala Dungar) took about 45 min, but there was LOTS of traffic and at the end, the view was hazy and really not so amazing. I would have rather spent more time exploring in the villages or gone to the Than Monastery. Try to stay at Hodka Village, which is near the permit/control stop and 10 min away--- or at Infinity Rann of Kutch, which is about an hour away--- or at another place nearby. If doing a day trip from Bhuj, plan to start early and it'll be a full day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Visiting the Rann is an experience one should not miss. I was inspired by the reviews I read on Trip advisor to visit it and it was worth it. Viewing 360 degrees all around you see the vast expense of desert. It once again reminds you ,how small the man is and how infinite the nature. It helps me to put all my every day life emotions (fear, joy ,anger ) in proper perspective in front of the Majesty of nature.
You have to take a permit to visit it after showing proper Identification Documents. So do carry them. Unfortunately except during the Rann Festival, one is not allowed to visit it in night and so I missed that experience which I wanted to have badly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Infinite desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A visit here when there is full moon day can be absolutely beautiful in the evening and night. THe white desert shines amidst the refection of the moonlight leaving you wonder how long, huge is the desert. Stay at the Shordo village overnight and enjoy the local stay and food in the desert camps!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“The King of "WHITE DESSERT"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Amazing eye catching site of Rann, Sunset View Beyond imagination, Pure smell of Rann just Awesome !! Wish to visit Again !!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Rann of Kutch also viewed

 

Been to Great Rann of Kutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Rann of Kutch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.