We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devpur Homestay Kutch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kutch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devpur Homestay Kutch
Save
You added Devpur Homestay Kutch to your Saves list
Darbargadh | Devpur Jakhwali, Kutch 370675, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Kutch B&B and Inns
Vadodara, India
1 review
“Home away from home....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I with my wife and daughter recently had a great trip to Kutch and i must tell Devpur was the top reason for making it the best. We wanted to travel around entire kuch region having a base which could be very convenient. So we chose this place and had excursions around the entire Kutch region, Everything was so convenient from this hub. Krutharth sinh was an amazing support, his knowledge of the region and zest was completely unmatched. Our entire trip was suggested on his guidelines and it turned out be the best experience for us in Kutch. The food cooked by them was making us feel very home and healthy. (it can get nasty otherwise). I stayed in SOLA KHAMBA room and i recommend all of the travelers to try and stay there and get lost in past!! The property is kept very clean and it has amazing vibes around it, I made sure to wake early every morning to get on terrace to experience sun rise and wonderful setup of the small village around...100% for experience,,, totally recommended!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Friends,
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Much appreciate your review and many thanks for all these lovely pictures. Best regards to the family.
Krutarth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
19
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KOLKATA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN" kutch" THEN YOU HAVE NOT SEEN ANYTHING---
Its really if you have not seen kutch you have missed a lot in your life---- kutchhi style food, home & the rich heritage & culture ---where you will get ???
Its this devpar home stay where your another home awaits to welcome you in traditional way---simply superb.
It is the great Jadeja family, who will welcome you to taste the rich culture,heritage & food for the ultimate feelings& experience of pure KUTCH--- Thereby you will be able to tell others --yes i have seen kutch
I remember an invitation to their family prayer made us to feel as if we are another family member who has just joined for a vacation & on an extended holiday.
Good luck to them..................
A school which they are running at the same compound shows their dedication for the society & the responsibility for the growth & prosperity of their neighborhood ------------
i pray to god for their well being & god bless the jadeja family.
--------- a trip to the devpar home stay is definitely a life time experience---
I strongly recommend this to the reader of my review.----thnx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir and members of the lovely Family,
It was indeed a great pleasure meeting you and sharing our place with you. Thank you so much for the kind words in this review and we look forward to your visit again in Kutch.
Happy Holi from your family at Devpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Krutarth and his family at his homestay in Devpur recently on our trip to Kutch. Krutarth was an excellent host, going out of his way to help us plan our few days there efficiently. I remember reaching their place late in the afternoon, famished and tired, and asking his wife for something snacky. And she sent a huge tray, along with steaming cups of chai. The food was superlative and the family hovered around the table, as if serving guests at their own home. And the cheerful, cheeky kids studying and playing at the school that the family runs inside the property made the stay all the more special for us.

My only grouse was that the room we stayed in was very small - but to be fair, we booked late during the peak Rann Utsav season and this was the only accommodation available (we did not want to stay in Bhuj).

In all, a wonderful homestay. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Kutch. Thank you for a lovely time, Krutarth!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Friends,
Thank you for the review and for the high ranking. This coming from a travel writer, means a lot to us. Many thanks indeed and sorry about the small room. Do come again and the whole house is at your disposal!
Krutarth and Yashodhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Devpur homestay is one place that one can't miss on experiencing when in or around Bhuj. You can be sure to be warmly treated by the host family here. Each room here is beautiful and unique and one would really enjoy the home cooked food served with warmth by the hosts. Enjoy a nice meal and talk with the family here.

Mandvi Beach, Narayan Sarover, Koteshwar temple, Lakhpat, Bhuj etc. are some places that are easily accessible from here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for this review and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Many thanks for the high points and hope to see you again for longer period of stay. Many thanks and Happy Holi in advance.
Krutarthsinh and Yashodhara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The homestay, as I had expected was absolutely beautiful. Each room here is different from the other and each has its own beauty. It was great to meet other travellers here and share the travel stories. Krutarth and his family will treat you with great hospitality and you'd love the home cooked food here. The entire ambience here has a special feeling to it. The place is quiet and you'd find it great to take a stroll in the premises. For any advice needed on exploring Bhuj-Kutch, you can be sure that Krutarth will help you with the best way he can. You just need to ask. I would highly recommend this homestay whenever you're around them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Friends,
Many thanks for leading your group in Kutch and thank you very much for the high recommendation. Truly appreciate the same. Do visit again and suggest to your friends, too.
Krutarth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were on a 4 night / 5 day hop about trip through Kutch & stayed here at the Verisalji Suite for 2 nights. I'm out of words to explain this place but still I would like to put it as charming, grand, warm, hospitable, with delectable hot Kutchi meals. Even the toiletries were more than just your regular bar of Medimix soap that most places offer. This was definitely better than 'feel at home'.
Located in Devpar, 40km west of Bhuj, Devpur Homestay is the perfect base for travelling to Mandvi (& Lakhpat though we didn't go that side.)
Also, the Jadejas have the White Eagles school running alongside. Its a wonderful project dedicated to shaping the future of children.
This place is every bit worth experiencing.
While we missed meeting you, Mr Jadeja, thank you Mrs. Jadeja for your lovely company & the unexpected warm gesture of replacing our empty water bottles with mineral water. Warm Regards.

Room Tip: The Verisalji suite is located close to the school premise. Its a reminiscent delight to hear school...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Friends,
Greetings and we feel humbled with your kind words of appreciation. Indeed, i am short of luck for not having met you, as my wife tells me that you are a delightful couple. May God bless you both and we must also thank Smartstay for recommending you to Devpur and Shaam e Sharad. Look forward to welcoming you to Kutch again.
Very warmly.
Yashodhara and krutarth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had learned about this home-stay in Kutch on tripadvisor. I liked the photographs and the concept and also read various reviews which were impressive. I therefore, booked it and it turned out to be a pleasant and memorable experience.

Devpur is situated in the middle of Kutch Region and all the tourists attractions are at convenient distance from there.

Devpur was a small state in Kutch and its rulers have been Jadejas. The present decedent of the ruling family is Mr. Krutarthsingh Jadeja and his home is obviously a big one with a historical look. It is over 100 years old and we liked it for that.

The suites are really good, extremely clean as expected. The rooms are nicely decorated with various interesting antiques. In my room, the old guns with beautifully polished wood were hanging on the wall. In the other room, the articles used in stable by horse riders were used for decoration. The rooms were having beds, antique writing table with few good books in English and periodicals like National Geographic. My room was equipped with tea and coffee maker also.

But the most important thing was the people in the home. Mr. Jadeja himself is extremely modest and down to earth person. So are his mother, wife and uncle. He has two sweet children who have made the picture of happy home complete. Mr. Jadeja is a well qualified, well read and well travelled person, with refined tastes in life. So speaking to him was a great pleasure. We received a good guidance from him in sightseeing Kutch.

He is associated with many projects for the benefit and welfare of the people from Kutch as well as with cultural organisations and is very reluctant to speak about himself.

The food they served was very good and with lots of affection and it has a unique homely touch which is the major advantage in homestay when compared to a hotel.
We just felt that we have come to stay with our cousin who had not met us till date.
He did not charge us anything extra for the stay and food of our driver. Our driver was from Bhuj and had visited the place for the first time like us and he also was very happy to be there.
We loved staying there and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Select Jhalawar Suite. Since it was occupied we could not stay there. But when we saw it while leavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Friends,
It was our pleasure to have you two couples at Devpur and thank you for review on TripAdvisor where you continue to contribute for responsible tourism. Please, come again and we will hold a workshop in the School. Your family at Devpur wishes the very best to our family at Mumbai.
Yashodhara and Krutarthsinh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devpur Homestay Kutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devpur Homestay Kutch

Address: Darbargadh | Devpur Jakhwali, Kutch 370675, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Kutch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kutch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devpur Homestay is located in a century old heritage Darbargadh (small Fort) in Devpur, locally known as Devpar (Yaksh), in Kutch Gujarat. Devpur is located 40 kms west of Bhuj on State Highway No.42 towards Lakhpat. The Homestay has the Jhalawar Suite, the Sorthambha Suite and the Verisalji Suite. There is also the Lal Bungalow Annexe Room. Devpur Homestay offers home cooked, healthy and hygienic Indian and Continental cuisine. Hosts Krutarthsinh and Yashodhara Kumari will personally take care of the Guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devpur Homestay Kutch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.