We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable and Seems to Meet the Minimum - Nothing More” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Regent Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Regent Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Regent Inn
123 Storrs Road, PO Box 258, Mansfield Center, Mansfield, CT 06250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Dexter, MI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Serviceable and Seems to Meet the Minimum - Nothing More”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel was serviceable and seems to meet the minimum, but nothing more. The room and bathroom was clean, wi-fi was easily accessible, breakfast was just enough to keep from going to the McDonald's across the street, and the clerk at the counter got us checked in and out efficiently but nothing more. Our rooms were $120 a night - definitely not worth that amount for these rooms and this hotel.

The hotel appears to have been a motel at some point with the doors to the room now being enclosed in a hallway. When we checked in the desk clerk got us assigned to our rooms and told my companions where their rooms were located but did not give any idea how to get there, whether you had to go outside, etc. My room was immediately adjacent to the lobby and easily found. When asked about suggestions for local restaurants, we got an intial, "I don't know," followed by a suggestion that there was an Applebee's at the mall next to the hotel. We used Yelp to find the Willmantic Brewing Company downtown (about 3 miles away) which is VERY highly rated - I do not know how the clerk did not know about it. There were some brochures in the lobby that we also could have used.

The room has a window that opens on to the hallway, so the curtains are important! Without the curtains, the people in the hallway easily can see into your room. With the curtain is closed there is no natural light into the room. The TV was great with many channels and an excellent picture. The bathroom tile was dated but all fixtures were clean, updated, and in good shape. You could tell where toilet was replaced due to the tiles that were exposed and cut away and there were two paper roll dispensers on the cabinet. The bathtub had a curved shower curtain and water pressure was fine.

The heating unit for the room extended into the hall and heated the room, although the other people I travelled with mentioned their rooms were on the cold side. My heater was OK but the thermostat didn't work very well and the temperature was hot and cold.

The bed was comfortable and I got a pretty good night sleep, until wake up time... I called the automated system and set up a wake up for 5:30am. I got a confirmation for the wake up call and hung up. The wake up call came, but at 4:50am. This was pretty annoying. Not sure if the potential exists for the wake up to be late as well as early, but I wouldn't count on the call if I had a time I absolutely had to be up.

Breakfast was pretty mediocre. There was some bread, a few pre-packaged egg and sausage sandwich to be microwaved, some fruit looked like it was at MOST a day from being thrown away, a waffle maker, cereal, and average to poor coffee. The breakfast room is downstairs from lobby, down a flight of very steep and the stairs don't have a lot of space to step as they are rather narrow. There were a lot of tables set up and a TV available.

I did not utilize any areas such as a pool or fitness room.

Overall, not a place I would recommend staying for the cost and value for your dollar. In a pinch they are serviceable - there is something to be said for a clean room and meeting the minimum needed for a business traveler. Other than that, I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Not sure how to get a good room. They are serviceable and nothing more. My companions on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    19
    19
    10
See reviews for
31
10
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This is typical small town establishment that is reasonably-priced, clean and functional for the business traveller. The heater/air-conditioner was noisy and old. There is a large widescreen TV, coffee service, iron and ironing board. There is no room safe. The bed was very tall though not uncomfortable. The bathroom was very clean and the water flow in the shower was excellent.

Breakfast is complimentary and basic. In addition to the cereal and bread selection, coffee and tea, there was also a self-serve waffle maker. Inside a fridge there was fresh milk, yogurt and what looked like hard boiled eggs.

Room Tip: The hotel is across the street from a McDonald's. The East Brook Mall and Big Y supermarket are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This property's approach to decorating seems to be minimalist which is fine for me as all I want is a clean room, (got it) clean bathroom (got it) friendly CSR. (got it)

The matress was really comfortable, really got a good nights sleep. Well six hours. :(

I left early before breakfast, besides there is a Dunkin Donuts a few miles east!
I stayed on a Wednesday and they weren't busy, I asked to be moved to a quiet area of the property and that was fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Required payment for the room stay at check-in. No daily servicing of the room. Continental breakfast was very light and minimal.(Food was not fresh) The room was clean
The rating for this visit is poor unlike previous stays at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

The room was over priced but clean and genally nice. Nice flat screen TV with wide variety of channels. Our bathroom had a very loud fan that came on with the lights. The sink vanity was oddly shaped and inconvenient. We also received three phone calls that woke us up each time. There was no one on the other line.

At breakfast, I had to find someone to tell them they were out of various items. Breakfast was mediocre at best.

Has a nice indoor pool that is open late. McDonald's is across the street which is convient.

Would reluctantly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Bad job in dealing with alot of folks coming in from out of town. People were put in dirty rooms, rooms without bedspreads, rooms that were in the process of being renovated and if anyone got upset they were treated with little respect or regard for their feelings. How do you expect people to react when they walk in their room and it's filthy. Shame on you for not having any compassion sir. We reserved a block of rooms for people who were coming to our daughters wedding under her name and the clerks at the desk didn't know her name and were not putting people in the block of rooms when they requested it. We were at one end of the building and our daughter was at the other end. As I said I will not recommend this facility to anyone if they ask me about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I'm staying here off & on over the next couple of weeks & the front desk could not have been nicer ! Clean room & clean shower. Fridge & Microwave in room. Free Wi-Fi that actually works. Worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Regent Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Regent Inn

Address: 123 Storrs Road, PO Box 258, Mansfield Center, Mansfield, CT 06250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Mansfield Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Mansfield Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Regent Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Regent Hotel Mansfield Center
Best Western Mansfield Center
Mansfield Center Regent
Mansfield Center Best Western
BEST WESTERN Regent Inn Mansfield, CT

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Regent Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.