We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our very first B&B experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast

The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
139 Hartford Rd., Manchester, CT 06040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Manchester B&B and Inns
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our very first B&B experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stopped by the Mansion Inn on our way to Vermont for a brief overnight stay. This was our FIRST B&B stay ever so we had no expectations. We arrived around 4:00 in the afternoon and were met at the door by Bruce, the owner. He showed us around the house and to our room. Our accommodations were exceptional. We stayed in the Ivy Room which was a large room on the back of the house. It had a fireplace, a sitting area, and a large closet and bathroom. The house has a lot of history and character and comes with the squeaks and irritations that come along with any old house. The house was peaceful and quiet throughout the night. The next morning we were met by Bruce again who was preparing breakfast. He served fruit with yogurt and then a ham and cheese omelet with potatoes. What's more, he sat down at the table with us and gave us the history of the house. We thoroughly enjoyed hearing about the many years of history and the company he provided at our breakfast.

While this probably wouldn't fit everyone's style, this impressed us for our first B&B visit and was the perfect start to our wedding weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

This was absolutely the worst experience I've ever had at a B&B. The owner is an ill-tempered creepy man and it felt more like a prison stay than a relaxing night away. Signs all over the room telling you what you can do and what you can't. Not clean and breakfast...well, we just left to go to a local place Sunnyside Up.
Honestly...with so many nice B&Bs in Connecticut stay away from this place. We felt very uncomfortable here...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbandjb1, Owner at The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
When a guests arrive at our B and B, they are given a brief tour of the common areas of the inn and then a tour of their room so that we can point out the various features of the room. One of these is the working fireplace and, since guest safety is our primary concern as innkeepers and owners, we ask them to read the sign on the working fireplace screen that indicates they should tell us if they want a fire by the time they go out for the evening or 7 p.m., whichever is earliest, so we can lay it for them. The sign also highlights the fact that guests are NOT allowed to bring in wood or logs to start their own fire, given our concern about safety. This was done with this guest. Nothing was mentioned by this guest about wanting a fire for the evening during this orientation or by the time they left for to go out for evening at about 7:30 p.m.

When they returned to the inn at about 9:30 p.m., we heard the fireplace flue being opened and went down to their room after about five minutes. We knocked gently on the door and, when it was opened, saw that they had brought in a Duraflame log to start their own fire. When asked about this and their having read the sign on the fireplace screen before leaving for the evening, the response from "Robert" was twofold. First, he indicated that he had started fires before and didn't feel the sign applied to him. Second, he arrogantly said that he was sure we wouldn't mind starting the fire themselves and just went ahead and did it. When he was asked about the sign and the implications for guest safety and protection of our property, he dismissed those concerns as not being relevant to him. At this point, it was clear that he had no interest in following this simple guideline for staying at our inn, so he was told he and his guest had to leave. After expressing his anger about this, they did, indeed, leave and did not stay at our inn that night.

Bottom line re this review, "Robert" violated one of the most important principles of good guest behavior at a B and B, i.e., he was a guest in our home and had been asked to follow a few simple guidelines while he was there. He chose not to do this and, therefore, was asked to leave. In point of fact, he placed us and all our guests in danger because of his actions.

By the way, his reference to the breakfast is another inaccuracy, since they never had the opportunity to enjoy the wonderful breakfasts we serve due to their leaving the night before.

We hope readers of his review and our response understand why we did what we did in this situation. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

The bed and breakfast was very nice,loved the history of the home.We stayed in the Rose Suite which was very spacious..The breakfast was great and the owner Bruce made sure our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

This B & B was terrible, outdated and not charming at all! The shower/tub did have lots of mold, so there was no bath for me that night. The mattress was very tired out and we sank to the center of the bed. Also there were lots of notes around the room stating what to use and what not to use and how to use it. The room was dark and cluttered, this place was way over priced for the terrible room and the breakfast was beyond words...horrible...frozen pancakes that were cooked in a microwave, I could not get out of there fast enouph!!!!!! for $110. They should pay us to stay there!

A note to the owners, it takes money to make money...buy new towels and some new mattresses, nice people but you are in the wrong business

J & J from NJ we stayed there summer 2007

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

The weekend we spent here was certainly an experience. Of slight concern was the early breakfast time. More disturbing was the mold in the bathroom - my husband and I almost bought a new shower curtain while we were out! (see photo)
And then there were the notes! Everywhere there were pretty little notes insulting the intelligence/manners of the average B&B guest. For example "please remember to take precautions before going to bed if you are incontinent or have female problems" or "rust stains can irreversibly damage a white washcloth - please do not plug the drain with the washcloths." (first of all - should there be rust? and second of all if the drain plug doesn't work.....) The place was nicely furnished, Bruce was surely a knowledgeable host, and breakfast was delicious. For the price, I would expect a professional cleaning staff for the bathrooms, and a budget for new washcloths every once in a while if they get ruined.....

  • Liked — nice location, interesting history
  • Disliked — lack of clean bathroom
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

I stayed at the Mansion Inn on March 14, 2007. It was my first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and I would definitely try one again.

Bruce is a nice host and knows a lot about the history of the town and the history of the house itself. The house is decorated quite nicely and is very spacious. The room I stayed in, The Lilac Suite, was very nice, with a queen size bed, a couch, fireplace, a small study and a private bath. The water pressure in the shower was great. The tub/shower itself seemed pretty narrow. IOverall, the suite was very comfortable and plenty big enough.

Somewhere I had read about a reviewer complaining about the little notes all over the mansion, and there are many framed notes throughout the room and the house with "rules" about what to do and not to do. I actually found them entertaining to read, and wondered what previous guests had done to make it necessary to frame these rules!

There is a tea/coffee machine on the 2nd floor, which I didn't use but it was a nice touch. Breakfast was lovely...served on a nice tray in the beautiful dining room. Since I was the only guest, other than the owner's sister, Bruce asked me what I wanted and made me oatmeal and fruit, and some coffee.

I was on a business trip to speak about virtual assisting to Manchester Community College, and the Mansion Inn was very convenient to the town. I also felt safer there than when I stay in hotels. I would definitely stay there if I ever needed to stay overnight in Manchester again.

Excellent value for your dollar and more relaxing than a hotel.

  • Liked — Safety, security, home-type atmosphere
  • Disliked — no luggage assistance
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 139 Hartford Rd., Manchester, CT 06040
Location: United States > Connecticut > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.