We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast

The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
139 Hartford Rd., Manchester, CT 06040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Manchester B&B and Inns
South Orange, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I enjoyed an overnight trip at The Mansion Inn a few weeks ago and have a very nice stay. The inn itself was very cozy and the rooms were spacious and well kept. I stayed in the Lilac Suite which included its own full bathroom, sofa and study alcove. The breakfast the next morning, prepared by Bruce the proprietor, consisted of berry pancakes, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. The other guests were very nice and social at breakfast and Bruce told us the history of the Inn and the area. I would return again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
7
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The innkeeper, Bruce, Is a great guy and a good host. Although my sister and I were two hours later than we promised, he was there at the door and got us settled in right away since it was six-thirty in the evening and he was ready to call it a day. We stayed for two nights and had a great time. The breakfasts we were served were very nice and Bruce provided great entertainment with many good stories. Our room was quite spacious, larger than we expected, though the pictures on his website are very true to form and the inn is just as nice as it looks online. It was a super value for the money and I am so glad we chose the Mansion Inn in Manchester, CT. Manchester is a nice town, in a very beautiful part of Connecticut that offers many different types of things to see and do. We recommend this inn if you are looking for a good bed and breakfast in the Hartford area.

Room Tip: Call Bruce and ask him to describe the rooms in detail. They each have something to offer so he migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I recently stayed two nights at the Mansion Inn. It is a charming old house. (If you are looking for sleek and new, this place is not for you.) Unfortunately, I had to leave early in the mornings and wasn't able to partake in breakfast at the inn. There was, however, a Keurig-type coffee machine in the hallway. I helped myself to a cup of coffee each morning. Bruce is a kind gentleman, and a very hospitable innkeeper. He went out of his way to assist me when a problem arose with my business travel. Some of the reviews mention the little notes instructing guests. They are not at all offensive, just little reminders. Staying at the Mansion Inn is like stepping back to a kinder, gentler time... except with awesome air-conditioning! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

While this maybe an overused phrase, for me and The Mansion Inn its absolutely true!
I'm lucky enough to stay there on business trips but it would be perfect for couples wanting to explore New England. Bruce, the owner, is so warm and welcoming and is a really good cook - breakfasts that make you want to skip lunch.

Room Tip: All the rooms have flower themes and I've liked all that I've stayed in but the Rose Room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Cannot say enough great things about this wonderful establishment! Immaculate property! Delicious breakfast-very knowledgable host/chef! Great alternative when flying into Hartford! The innkeeper is great with directions!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Mansion Inn provides a great base from which to explore the sights of Greater Hartford. Bruce is a very informative, helpful host, and guided us to interesting places and good restaurants that we would not have found on our own. He is also a fount of information about the history of Manchester and the Cheney family. The Mansion itself is chock a block with interesting artifacts relevant to the history of the area. The Inn is very comfortable and clean. The pictures found on the Inn's website are fair representations of what the rooms really look like; they are uniformly nice, clean, and have comfortable beds. We stayed in the Rose Room, which is spacious and sunny and has a lovely fireplace. (All the rooms have fireplaces.) We spent a couple of romantic hours watching the flames dance in the fireplace. In the morning, Bruce's pumpkin pancakes make you want to get down to breakfast as early as possible! A great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiumefreddo di Sicilia, Sicilia, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I planned a last minute trip here--4th July weekend with my husband and son. I chose this B and B partly because the reviews intrigued me and I wanted to meet the man and see the house that inspired them. The House is lovely and so is Bruce. The house is well-kept, pretty and charmingly comfortable.The rules which annoyed some travelers are just common sense and I liked the fact Bruce ran a tight ship. The entry with Bruce's desk there was just fine...it is his home. And my desk is far more cluttered; it is a sign of intelligence by the wat. The meals were yummy. Bruce was helpful and kind. (THERE WAS NO MOLD. How absurd!). It was a lovely time.

Room Tip: all the rooms are pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 139 Hartford Rd., Manchester, CT 06040
Location: United States > Connecticut > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.