We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay for the night before graduation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast

The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
139 Hartford Rd., Manchester, CT 06040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Manchester B&B and Inns
Cornwall, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay for the night before graduation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here since we live a little too far from the UConn campus in Storrs to be there as early as required for my morning graduation. The Ivy Room was furnished with antique photos, lots of books, a comfortable love seat and recliner as well as queen bed. Breakfast by Bruce was delicious sweet potato pancakes in a lovely dining room. We enjoyed our short stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We arrived late and as instructed earlier, found a note on the front door telling us how to enter. We did so, and checked into our room. At around 9pm, the innkeeper knocked on our door, and when we asked who was there - we were told; you are staying in my house. My husband answered the door - we apparently didn't finish reading the note that asked us to write on a board downstairs if we had a "dietary restrictions" for breakfast. While I found the innkeepers manners to be abrupt; I can understand the intention.
We arrived for breakfast and met Bruce. He seems like a fairly educated, well intentioned innkeeper who has too much on his plate running this facility.
The breakfast was fine and flavorful each of the two days that we stayed. He introduced us to the other visitors at the table and sat down and participated in the conversation.
The room we stayed in "The Tulip Room" was clean and the mattresses were fairly new. The room could have benefitted from a better cleaning job - particularly behind the headboards, and some of the items that are displayed around the room. The Tulip Room has a private bathroom across the hall from it. The bathroom is in dire need of some sprucing up. The wall paper is peeling off at the seams, the floral decorations on the bathroom mirror were falling off and fairly dusty, as is the basket on the floor that is holding the toilet paper and magazines. The magazines are incredibly outdated, and the length of time they are there makes me wonder about how "clean" they are sitting next to the toilet paper. The floor was in need of a good scrubbing. The bath mat in the tub needs to be replaced.
Another thing I thought odd was the entrance to the facility. The entrance leads right into the innkeepers office - that is fairly over run with paperwork. We felt like we were intruding in someone's home - which Bruce made clear to us when he knocked on our door the first evening.
While we had a lovely time staying at this inn, I would re-think coming here again. I just feel that there are better run bed and breakfasts out there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stopped by the Mansion Inn on our way to Vermont for a brief overnight stay. This was our FIRST B&B stay ever so we had no expectations. We arrived around 4:00 in the afternoon and were met at the door by Bruce, the owner. He showed us around the house and to our room. Our accommodations were exceptional. We stayed in the Ivy Room which was a large room on the back of the house. It had a fireplace, a sitting area, and a large closet and bathroom. The house has a lot of history and character and comes with the squeaks and irritations that come along with any old house. The house was peaceful and quiet throughout the night. The next morning we were met by Bruce again who was preparing breakfast. He served fruit with yogurt and then a ham and cheese omelet with potatoes. What's more, he sat down at the table with us and gave us the history of the house. We thoroughly enjoyed hearing about the many years of history and the company he provided at our breakfast.

While this probably wouldn't fit everyone's style, this impressed us for our first B&B visit and was the perfect start to our wedding weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

This was absolutely the worst experience I've ever had at a B&B. The owner is an ill-tempered creepy man and it felt more like a prison stay than a relaxing night away. Signs all over the room telling you what you can do and what you can't. Not clean and breakfast...well, we just left to go to a local place Sunnyside Up.
Honestly...with so many nice B&Bs in Connecticut stay away from this place. We felt very uncomfortable here...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbandjb1, Owner at The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
When a guests arrive at our B and B, they are given a brief tour of the common areas of the inn and then a tour of their room so that we can point out the various features of the room. One of these is the working fireplace and, since guest safety is our primary concern as innkeepers and owners, we ask them to read the sign on the working fireplace screen that indicates they should tell us if they want a fire by the time they go out for the evening or 7 p.m., whichever is earliest, so we can lay it for them. The sign also highlights the fact that guests are NOT allowed to bring in wood or logs to start their own fire, given our concern about safety. This was done with this guest. Nothing was mentioned by this guest about wanting a fire for the evening during this orientation or by the time they left for to go out for evening at about 7:30 p.m.

When they returned to the inn at about 9:30 p.m., we heard the fireplace flue being opened and went down to their room after about five minutes. We knocked gently on the door and, when it was opened, saw that they had brought in a Duraflame log to start their own fire. When asked about this and their having read the sign on the fireplace screen before leaving for the evening, the response from "Robert" was twofold. First, he indicated that he had started fires before and didn't feel the sign applied to him. Second, he arrogantly said that he was sure we wouldn't mind starting the fire themselves and just went ahead and did it. When he was asked about the sign and the implications for guest safety and protection of our property, he dismissed those concerns as not being relevant to him. At this point, it was clear that he had no interest in following this simple guideline for staying at our inn, so he was told he and his guest had to leave. After expressing his anger about this, they did, indeed, leave and did not stay at our inn that night.

Bottom line re this review, "Robert" violated one of the most important principles of good guest behavior at a B and B, i.e., he was a guest in our home and had been asked to follow a few simple guidelines while he was there. He chose not to do this and, therefore, was asked to leave. In point of fact, he placed us and all our guests in danger because of his actions.

By the way, his reference to the breakfast is another inaccuracy, since they never had the opportunity to enjoy the wonderful breakfasts we serve due to their leaving the night before.

We hope readers of his review and our response understand why we did what we did in this situation. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

The bed and breakfast was very nice,loved the history of the home.We stayed in the Rose Suite which was very spacious..The breakfast was great and the owner Bruce made sure our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2007

This B & B was terrible, outdated and not charming at all! The shower/tub did have lots of mold, so there was no bath for me that night. The mattress was very tired out and we sank to the center of the bed. Also there were lots of notes around the room stating what to use and what not to use and how to use it. The room was dark and cluttered, this place was way over priced for the terrible room and the breakfast was beyond words...horrible...frozen pancakes that were cooked in a microwave, I could not get out of there fast enouph!!!!!! for $110. They should pay us to stay there!

A note to the owners, it takes money to make money...buy new towels and some new mattresses, nice people but you are in the wrong business

J & J from NJ we stayed there summer 2007

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

The weekend we spent here was certainly an experience. Of slight concern was the early breakfast time. More disturbing was the mold in the bathroom - my husband and I almost bought a new shower curtain while we were out! (see photo)
And then there were the notes! Everywhere there were pretty little notes insulting the intelligence/manners of the average B&B guest. For example "please remember to take precautions before going to bed if you are incontinent or have female problems" or "rust stains can irreversibly damage a white washcloth - please do not plug the drain with the washcloths." (first of all - should there be rust? and second of all if the drain plug doesn't work.....) The place was nicely furnished, Bruce was surely a knowledgeable host, and breakfast was delicious. For the price, I would expect a professional cleaning staff for the bathrooms, and a budget for new washcloths every once in a while if they get ruined.....

  • Liked — nice location, interesting history
  • Disliked — lack of clean bathroom
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 139 Hartford Rd., Manchester, CT 06040
Location: United States > Connecticut > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.