We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic, when in town you must visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shady Glen Dairy Stores

Shady Glen Dairy Stores
360 Middle Tpke W, Manchester, CT 06040-3824
(860) 643-0511
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 181 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Californian, Dessert
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A classic, when in town you must visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Been going since I was a child (39). Go for the cheeseburger and ice cream. Old fashion counter service.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I crave the Bernice Original Burger!!! This is the best place for a really great burger in the greater Hartford area!!! Once you are in the resturant (the one in Bolton,CT is the best), it feels like you're back in the 50's!!!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best little restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My home town has the best cheesebugers at Shady Glen!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The best diner in CT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My son-in-law says this is his favorite restaurant in the world. When he visits from Australia he eats there several times a week. The Beef Minestrone soup is the best I have ever had and the curly cheese cheeseburgers are fantastic. It is a place were there are booths and seats at the counter. You need to pick which side of the restaurant you want to eat in, and wait for a booth on that side (or split up your party and wait on both sides like we do). They make their own ice cream so this is also great.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cheeseburger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Although all of the food is adequate, their cheeseburgers are superb. They do something with the cheese which makes it crispy and truly marvelous. I've never had a better cheeseburger, ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Glen Dairy Stores also viewed

 

Been to Shady Glen Dairy Stores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shady Glen Dairy Stores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.