We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Fairfield in the system!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Pavilions Drive, Manchester, CT 06040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Manchester
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worst Fairfield in the system!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

As an elite Marriott member, I stay between 100 to 140 nights a year at various locations around USA and Canada. There are many choices, and I would not be a elite member if I wasn't satisfied with Marriott. This particular Fairfield is the exception. Last time I came here, the staff was incompetent. This time, staff a little better, but if you stay here, you'll rarely see an employee at the front desk. That's because they are hiding. On the rare occasion someone is at the desk, they never make eye contact as you walk by. Too afraid you might ask for something. Coffee is never hot, even during breakfast. It's always cold after breakfast is over. Not complicated to make sure coffee or hot water is at least hot for your quests, but again, this hotel is very challenged. This week, there is no internet. 2 days with limited or no access. Called during these 2 days, and they were "working on it". One of the tread mill machines had the same broken plug in volume as it did 3 months ago. I'm not surprised about some comments by regular Marriott customers were also negative. Its unfortunate. The location is great, and this hotel had a great staff a few a years ago.
Fairfield manager, spare me the "Thank you for your comments crap" you'll no doubt post after you read these comments. Instead, focus and manage your staff and property. Make sure you provide the same great services as other Marriott locations. Stay at the Courtyard or Residence not far away. Worth the extra bucks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I deeply regret the experience you had with our team and you can be assured the feedback was shared with the appropriate departments and managers. We value all of our guests' feedback and use it to evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel as well as what we are doing right. I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. Bringing a level of care and attention to detail is our main priority. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of areas we can improve on. We appreciate your business and hope you will give the Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford another try next time you stay in the area.

Sincerely,
TMI Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    49
    22
    4
    12
See reviews for
56
34
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raritan, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is the modern-day version of a motor-lodge. It's a place to stop for the night if you are traveling along route 84, or to stay for an overnight if you are doing business in the area. There is no spa; there is no bar.

It's *very* clean - I was impressed. Our double queen room had white walls, mostly white curtains, etc. LCD TV. fiberglass tub/shower, with curtain. The lighting was mostly fluorescent, but it wasn't bad. Plenty of plugs for charging things. We arrived at midnight and were gone by 7:00AM, so we didn't check to see if there was a room-fridge.

Fantastic on/off access to Route 84. The hotel shares the parking lot with a very large and somewhat upscale mall. Plenty of places there to get a nice meal, have a few beers, watch the game, shop, etc. - and unless the weather were really poor you could walk there and back.

Lots of pillows on the beds, but I didn't see a very thin one - and I like very thin pillows. Fortunately I had brought my own (it was a car trip, so that made it easy), so I was fine.

It seemed like a nice enough area. Mostly SUV's and vans in the parking lot on a Saturday night.

I'd stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

No issues finding hotel & was checked-in early without any issues.

Room was a double queen, decent sized bedroom & bathroom.

Was very cold outside but the heating in room worked well, ended up being too cosy :-)

Popped out and got some food to bring back to room, plenty of options nearby. Also lots of choice to call-out for from hotel.

No issues with internet connection, quick and steady. Good quality TV with plenty of channel choices.

Really good nights sleep, never heard any noise either inside or outside hotel during stay.

Breakfast was fine, couple of hot items and loads of cold items to choose from. Coffee was fine for me.

Used the lobby computer to print out boarding cards, was easy & quick.

Passed the swimming pool (indoor), looked a fair size & lots of towels available.

Check-out was fine, all staff encountered were pleasant.

I usually stay elsewhere in this area but fancied a change, reckon I may have found a new favourite.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is across from the Bucknell mall (might have the name wrong), it is so close you can walk across the parking lot in 3 minutes. There is a theater and many places to eat within walking distance. Even though the hotel shows some signs of age it is clean and well kept. The pool was heated, clean and available longer hours than most other places we've stayed. The hot tub temp was good and the only problem was the jets weren't working, but this was not a major issue. There is a small gym with updated equipment and a TV for those on the treadmill or elipitical. The room was a double bed and wifi in was good in the room, but I've read elsewhere that this may be a problem in some rooms. The only other problem is that the bath (ROOM 301) had a slow drain which I reported and has hopefully been fixed. The staff was polite and helpful, they were able to give us some local insider information on where to eat and go for drinks. They serve morning breakfast that was tasty and filling. We will come back here on our next trip eastward. I gave an excellent for both "kids activities and Restaurants" because there were many things to do within a 1/2 mile radius.

Room Tip: Let the staff know what kind of room you are looking for when you make reservations and rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford, ct
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed one night to attend a function in the area. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We booked using Marriott reward points. Our room looked new and was very clean as was the rest of the property. The staff was all extremely friendly. Never heard any noise from the hallway or other guests. The breakfast was what you would expect -the coffee was awful.

The air conditioner/heater unit in the room was a little loud but worked well.

Very convenient location.

This is what economy lodging should be. If we need to stay in the Manchester area again, we will stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppersburg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here a few times over the last few years, very nice hotel. Usually stay for a night at a time while traveling through the area. Friendly front desk staff. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and pillows. Great breakfast in the morning and conveniently located, will return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night while in town for a funeral. The location is a bit hard to get to if you're paying attention, but the hotel itself is nice and it maintained. We arrived Friday around 9PM and were quickly checked into our standard 2 queen room. The bed was nice and the room clean. Breakfast the next morning was standard continental fare and had selections for everyone in our party. We managed to leave a pair of pants in the closet and when we called the hotel several hours later they had already found them and placed them in the lost and found, which was locked until Monday. When we called them on Monday they offered to ship us back the pants free of charge, which was very nice! Overall good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterFFS_GM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We have a remarkable staff at our property, and kinds words are always appreciate. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and our Operations Managers does a wonderful job with the lost and found procedures. I am glad you enjoyed your stay; we welcome all customer feedback and use it to our advantage, as we always are looking to improve. We hope that with our continued efforts to improve, you will try the Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford/Manchester next time you stay in the area. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester

Address: 121 Pavilions Drive, Manchester, CT 06040
Location: United States > Connecticut > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester Hotel Manchester
Fairfield Inn And Suites Hartford Manchester
Fairfield Inn Manchester
Fairfield Manchester
Manchester Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.