We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, crazy busy, slow and a yummy, albeit pricey, pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana

Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana
221 Buckland Hills Drive, Manchester, CT
860-644-7333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 176 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Pizza
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Noisy, crazy busy, slow and a yummy, albeit pricey, pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We visit Manchester quite often and used a Groupon to try this pizzeria...on a Friday night. 20+ minutes with line out of the door. Many people were in and out with take-out pizzas - smart move. Pizzas are good sized, thin crust with burnt edges. Only 3 specialty pizzas, otherwise you pay for each topping, which adds up. Napoletana = no cheese so in order to start with cheese, you pay more ($12.99). We ordered a medium with spinach, mushrooms and bacon for 2 adults and a 2.5 year old. Waitress was kind enough to tell us that bacon is placed on pizza raw and cooked with pizza but never gets crispy. By the time the pizza was finally brought to table, our precious grand daughter had had enough and we had it boxed up to take back to hotel - which she reassured us was a good idea (and it was - the place is noisy!). Bacon was 'giggly' and toppings were not evenly spread over pizza, otherwise it was delicious and we ate the whole medium.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    14
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's ok.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The pizza is certainly thin crust, but I'm not a fan of the burnt flavor. The service is good, but it's just a personal taste.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My family and I decided to listen to all the hype surrounding Frank Pepe's Pizzeria and judge it for ourselves. To summarize, this was the best pizza we have ever had. My daughter who is a finicky eater may only eat a slice or two normally, this time she slugged down 5 pieces before calling it quits!

The location is a little tough to find, based on GPS mapping and it is tucked into a small strip plaza. The wait was very tolerable, honor system of waiting in line. The waitress we had was extremely pleasant and always attentive to out table. Ordering is really easy, a menu that is not inundated with unnecessary items making it really easy and quick to order. The pizza was absolutely phenomenal, I personally love a patch or two of burnt edge crust.

Absolutely worth the 20+ mile drive. Problem now is having to be satisfied with local pizza whenever we cannot make it to Manchester, CT.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expecting better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had heard about their Pizza, and was expecting to enjoy it. It was OK, but not especially to my taste.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Connecticut Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

14 foot Coal Fired Oven. The best pizza I have had in a long time. The crust is crispy on the outside a still chewy – with flavor. The pizza are all hand-made and not factory looking. The staff will show you the burning coals with a flash. The staff is great and the waitress is really down home. Being from California, if I lived in Manchester, I would pick one day of the week to have pizza at this place. Lot of old pictures on the wall.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.