We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh - tasty - & reasonble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Castle

Clam Castle
1324 Boston Post Rd, Madison, CT 06443-3454
203-245-4911
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 41 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fresh - tasty - & reasonble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'm new to the area and I'm not sure of the seasonal open/closing but it is a great place you would expect to find near the ocean. nice selection of fried and broiled sea food with burger, dogs and a children's menu - not the fastest but there is no doubt your food is being made to order. I had fried clam strips and the portion was huge. not a fan of next day fried foods but these were better the next day than some places serve as fresh
highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new england
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good quality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped here for dinner and had the New England Clam Chowder, a shrimp roll, fried cod and fried zucchini. Everything was very good. No oily taste and the fish tasted fresh. My spouse and I left full, for a little over $30.

This place is a "clam shack" and the building is a bit on the rough side. Don't expect atmosphere. If you are hungry for seafood you should leave here satisfied.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After a trip to the outlet malls, we we're looking for a local seafood place for a quick dinner. I had the broiled cod, which was excellent. The others had the fried clams (also great) and the scallops were good as well. Birch Beer from the fountain was a nice surprise!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good sea food wanting more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Food is OK but missing something. Seems like everything is fried and it tastes like it. Portions were small but priced accordingly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Clam Castle is No. 1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very, very good, fresh fried seafood. We shared the Fisherman's Platter (2 of us) and it was more than enough. The platter had a wonderful combo of fish and shellfish served with french fries and onion rings. We sat at an outdoor picnic table under shelter. It was the perfect meal after a day at Hammonassett Beach. I would most definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Castle also viewed

 

Been to Clam Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.