We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends worthy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friends & Company Inc.

Friends & Company Inc.
11 Boston Post Road, Madison, CT 06443
(203) 245-0462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Madison
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Westbrook, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friends worthy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I frequently have lunch at Friends, thoroughly enjoy the food as well as the owners & waitstaff.
Their early bird special are a great, delicious value, but don't worry if you are unable to arrive early, the regular menu is larger and just as good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very good experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We went with a group of 8 people and all enjoyed a variety of entrees. The service was good and the specials were both interesting and delicious. I had a stuffed salmon which was a little dry but very tasty. The presentation was very good. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My wife and I have had dinner at Friends many times. They have a wide choice of delicious food and often have specials. They make their own bread and salad is included with the meals.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“" Inviting ~ comfortable ~ healthy wholesome food "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The best time to visit FRIENDS & COMPANY is in the Fall/Winter. They make their own bread everyday and each entree has a choice of four different salads ( without a extra charge ) The dressings are home made. The food is exceptional & fresh.
As a vegetarian, I love the fresh vegetables of each season, a choice of three served with a salad and all the bread you can eat.
Winter is a great time to eat here because there is a stone fireplace that gives it ambience.
There's also flowers on every table. If it's a romantic evening out, ask for a booth. There are six of them. The wait staff are trained well. This is a family/friendly restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Wow have the prices gone up!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I took my parents here for dinner recently. They each had a burger on an english muffin which was really impossible to eat since the burger was think and the EM flimsy. Not a good combination so had to eat it with a knife and fork which is no way to eat a burger! The fries were hot and tasted average, nothing special. I had the crab cakes-2 good size cakes. They negelected to bring the sauce so had to ask and wait for that to come out. The rice it came with was bland and lukewarm. My husband had the pork chop special. It was more of a lunch portion. For the price and the mediocre food, I will not go back. The bread, as always was stellar since they make it there and it is delicious! The salad toppings they bring to the table is a nice touch with raisins and nuts. It was an older crowd. I struggled with the menu a little. I think they changed it from what it used to be. They are priced like it is fine dining. It used to be more of a family restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends & Company Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Friends & Company Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends & Company Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.