We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scranton Seahorse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scranton Seahorse Inn to your Saves list
Scranton Seahorse Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   818 Boston Post Road, Madison, CT 06443   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
May is EMT Month
Ranked #1 of 5 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Scranton Seahorse Inn over Memorial Day weekend. What a lovely, comfortable bed and breakfast. This was our first experience staying at a B&B, so we didn't really know what to expect. It was extremely comfortable and clean. The morning breakfasts were a delight: eating delicious food while chatting with the other guests . Michael's breakfasts were wonderful - the pancakes with the strawberry topping were scrumptious. There were complimentary cold beverages as well as a Keurig for coffee or tea 24 hours a day. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
122
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to the Scranton Seahorse Inn this past weekend and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. We spent some time sitting in the outdoor gazebo and also sat at the table and chairs behind a lush row of Iris. The inn is ideally places within easy walking distance of both the downtown area and other restaurants and shops, and yet is quiet and tucked away. The grounds are a pleasure to stroll around.

We had our (quiet) dog along and were made welcome by the innkeeper, who loves dogs and also understands that not every guest does. We had no trouble getting in and out of the inn with our dog without encountering the other guests, since there are a few doors one can use.

The breakfast was very good. We had fresh cut fruit and waffles with berries. The waffles were fluffy and had almost a creamy taste, just delicious. Chicken sausage was also served for those who wanted a meat serving. Homemade cookies are out 24/7 and happened to be a scrumptious ginger cookie when we were there. Hot drinks and cold soft drinks are always available.

The linens are high quality and a black makeup wash cloth is provided for women who wear makeup, which is helpful. The coverlet on the bed was luxurious and the mattress very comfortable.

We will look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was traveling on a book tour, and my publisher arranged for me to stay here. The previous night, I'd been at a generic Hilton---I arrived in Madison with no expectations.The inn was a lovely surprise! Very homey, very welcoming, very clean. I particularly liked that my room had wooden floors-- no carpeting, which always, to my sensitive nose, retains odors.

Michael was very gracious, and he's a wonderful cook! I don't normally eat breakfast but could not resist the homemade yogurt and granola, and his incredible egg/spinach/feta dish. As a matter of fact, I just recreated the dish this morning for my husband.

Perfect location--close to town, and the wonderful bookstore, RJ Julia!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Scranton Seahorse is comfortable, conveniently located, and charming. I'm very familiar with Madison, been going there for years. This was our first time not staying with family and instead making it a weekend getaway, of sorts. And it was great to have a clean, comfortable & quiet room with nice, sheets (high thread count).

Madison's a great town to spend a weekend. This is the best place in town to make your home.

And the breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I have recently switched to a vegan diet. Michael, proprietor and Inn Keeper gave us an awesome vegan breakfast. Just make sure to let them know ahead of time or during your reservation in the comments section. We stayed last weekend for our wedding anniversary. I would agree with the other reviewers in that the Inn is an awesome place to stay and Michael, proprietor and Inn Keeper is a fantastic guy. We couldn't have asked for a better stay!!

Michael - Thanks again for a great stay at your beautiful inn & and awesome breakfast! It was a great getaway and we will surely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed just one night for a wedding we recently attended. But, as soon as we arrived, we regretted not having stayed longer! As soon as we walked in the smell of fresh baked cookies filled the Inn. Mike was a fabulous host and most helpful and friendly in every way. Our room was spacious and clean, clean, clean! It was also very nicely decorated. I was very pleased that light refreshments such as soda was provided free of charge for guests and the baked goods were to die for! And to top it all off, the breakfast that Mike prepared was better than you could get at any local restaurant. I will definitely return and try to book the dog friendly room! Thanks again Mike!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Mike is the most accommodating & genial host & takes obvious pride in his B&B adding special touches.....right down to a seashell-shaped china "coaster" for your used teabag. His selections of gourmet tea suited my tea-loving husband & coffee was delicious. Special breakfasts offered a hot entree - scrambled eggs with feta & baby spinach, pepper-coated specially smoked CT bacon, moist & dark banana bread....yum! Next AM was pancakes with added orange zest & real maple syrup! Queen bed very comfortable with lovely linens as well as thick towels, complementary window & bedding sets giving comfortable ambience. And perfect location right after charming downtown New England town of Madison & easy exit off I-95. You'll love it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for noticing the little extras that help make the Scranton Seahorse Inn special. I hope to see you here on the CT. shoreline again soon. Even if you're just passing through please stop in for a cup of tea, we'd love to say hi. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scranton Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scranton Seahorse Inn

Address: 818 Boston Post Road, Madison, CT 06443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scranton Seahorse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Greek Revival built in 1833 is perfectly located in the center of Madison. Park your car and walk to the beaches, restaurants, movie theater and boutiques. Our inn is available for small parties, weddings, business meetings and luncheons. Call the inn to discuss plans for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Scranton Seahorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Seahorse Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scranton Seahorse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.