We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scranton Seahorse Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scranton Seahorse Inn to your Saves list
Scranton Seahorse Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   818 Boston Post Road, Madison, CT 06443   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Madison B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed just one night for a wedding we recently attended. But, as soon as we arrived, we regretted not having stayed longer! As soon as we walked in the smell of fresh baked cookies filled the Inn. Mike was a fabulous host and most helpful and friendly in every way. Our room was spacious and clean, clean, clean! It was also very nicely decorated. I was very pleased that light refreshments such as soda was provided free of charge for guests and the baked goods were to die for! And to top it all off, the breakfast that Mike prepared was better than you could get at any local restaurant. I will definitely return and try to book the dog friendly room! Thanks again Mike!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
118
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holderness
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Mike is the most accommodating & genial host & takes obvious pride in his B&B adding special touches.....right down to a seashell-shaped china "coaster" for your used teabag. His selections of gourmet tea suited my tea-loving husband & coffee was delicious. Special breakfasts offered a hot entree - scrambled eggs with feta & baby spinach, pepper-coated specially smoked CT bacon, moist & dark banana bread....yum! Next AM was pancakes with added orange zest & real maple syrup! Queen bed very comfortable with lovely linens as well as thick towels, complementary window & bedding sets giving comfortable ambience. And perfect location right after charming downtown New England town of Madison & easy exit off I-95. You'll love it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for noticing the little extras that help make the Scranton Seahorse Inn special. I hope to see you here on the CT. shoreline again soon. Even if you're just passing through please stop in for a cup of tea, we'd love to say hi. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This lovely inn is the perfect place to stay when visiting Madison or neighboring Shoreline towns. The location makes it an easy stroll to wonderful restaurants, theatre, shopping and the beach. The inn keepers are very thoughtful and welcoming from the moment you arrive. This was my second stay and I hope to return very soon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and your repeat business! We really look forward to seeing our guests over and over again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

been here twice and will come back from Germany hopefully soon. Gives me a charming homefeeling in this really awesome Hotel just located in The Center of this nice town.
Mike is doing brilliant breakfast specially for each guest and he understands it is a service business.
So 5 stars from Germany - which is equivalent to triple awesome 10 stars in the US :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Danke! We loved seeing you again and look forward to your next visit to Madison. We love our German guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My partner and our dog had a wonderful visit to celebrate my 50th birthday. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, breakfasts were a delight, and Michael made us feel very welcome with great recommendations for dinner and things to do, including an amazing Eagle Watch that was organized by the local Audubon Society. He also took care of our dog while we were out eagle watching and was very gracious. Madison is also a beautiful town with a great independent bookstore and wonderful parks and beaches nearby. A keeper!

Room Tip: The Madison Getaway has a big fireplace, a two person soaking tub, and a private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We so enjoyed being a part of your big birthday celebration. Babysitting the dog was a highlight to my weekend. See you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dighton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just stayed one night to attend a party in Madison. Very comfortable stay in a cozy room. The amenities are nice and breakfast was very good. I will definitely stay there again. The location is nice with downtown just a few steps away. I liked the ease of which we arrived and left.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed here many times and it is always a pleasent experience. Comfortable Beds and great breakfast. And always cookies in the cookie jar. Within walking distance to the shops in town or a stroll along the beach. And dogs are welcome also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scranton Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scranton Seahorse Inn

Address: 818 Boston Post Road, Madison, CT 06443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scranton Seahorse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Greek Revival built in 1833 is perfectly located in the center of Madison. Park your car and walk to the beaches, restaurants, movie theater and boutiques. Our inn is available for small parties, weddings, business meetings and luncheons. Call the inn to discuss plans for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scranton Seahorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Seahorse Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scranton Seahorse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.