We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb anniversary meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Litchfield Saltwater Grille

Litchfield Saltwater Grille
26 Commons Drive, Route 202 at the Litchfield Bancorp Light, Litchfield, CT 06759
+1 860-567-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Litchfield
Price range: $12 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Saltwater Grille offers upscale seafood and NW Connecticut's best raw bar with steak house concepts. From delicious Oysters Alaska and our famous New England Clam Chowder to our signature Crab Cake and mouthwatering entrees, there are options for everyone. With five dining rooms, a sophisticated bar and lounge with fireplace, and a covered patio, there is a dining experience to suit most desires. Located just off Route 202 below the Litchfield Green, the Saltwater Grille provides an inviting, friendly dining experience. Named in Yankee Magazine's Best of New England 2014 and NY Times reviewed, Saltwater Grille is Litchfield Hills' premier seafood destination.
Litchfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Superb anniversary meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Our three sons and daughter-in-law took us to dinner for our 33rd anniversary on November 28th. We found ourselves at Litchfield Saltwater Grille and could not have been more pleased. Each of our meals was perfect: the mussels appetizer, the lobster tails, grilled shrimp, steak and potatoes and lobster ravioli were delectable. The server, atmosphere, music and visit by Andy were all perfect. Thank you for a wonderful anniversary!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, 4 days ago
That was a fun night, wasn't it? Thanks for the great review! Brook, I and the Saltwater team work hard to try to make those special occasions, special. We have room for parties of all sizes from 6 to 60. We hope to be lucky enough to see you on your next special day! Best, Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naugatuck, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of those rare times....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Ever have a great eating experience where everything (from the seating, to the atmosphere, to the water, to the drinks, to the salad, to the bread, to the appetizers, to the entree, to the portions, to the dessert and to the service) was GREAT? Saltwater Grille was just that.

The Oyster Alaska are still on my mind...days later. The Tuna entree and the seafood with puff pastry were both DEE-licious entrees. The Chocolate Mousse was decadent and LOTS of it.

We can't wait to go back here again...and again.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to review us! Brook and I are glad you enjoyed yourselves at Saltwater Grille. Our signature Oysters Alaska are one of our most popular dishes and a great way for people to try something unique with raw bar. Next time you come in, try the Signature Oysters Saltafellar, our spin on Rockefellar style! Best, Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We were three couples dining, and we were all very happy with the experience. Some ordered the Special of Carrot Ginger and Shrimp soup, and loved it! The men split one of the raw bar towers, and were very pleased with the selection. All of the dinners were done to perfection, with some sharing their dishes. The only problem was the wine I ordered was a little sour, but the staff changed it for me, no questions asked, and no charge. We will definitely go again!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We are so glad that we were able to make your night out a success! We are also glad that you said something about the wine. We have a very broad wine list with some great vintage selections. Once in a while, a bottle goes bad and we always make every effort to find another. Never hesitate to give us feedback, we don't take it personally! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“A Great Location to Hold Your Next Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I recently held a surprise 50th Birthday Party for my wife at the Saltwater Grille. The party was held in the Wine Loft and was the perfect venue for 35 people. The food, service and atmosphere were fabulous.No detail was overlooked.

Food & Drink: Our party consisted of appetizers and drinks. The selection and quantity of both the wine and food were outstanding and very affordable.

If you are looking for an upscale location with out the upscale prices, you should consider the Saltwater Grille in Litchfield. We are very happy we did!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We were a little nervous making sure that we pulled the vent off to your liking as your party was gathering from far and wide! Brook and I are so happy we were able to make this special day one to remember! All our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Went on Halloween. Had the restaurant to ourselves. The food was good service good. New owner has done well with the chief that they bought in. Bar is nice and roomy. Bartenders friendly. They just opened upstairs bar area hopefully for Monday night football

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Hey Mitch -

Thanks for taking the time to share your dinner experience at the Saltwater Grille! We have the 65" flat screen upstairs for Monday night football! Plus the special menu runs all night long with sausage grinders, wings and Hot Italian Beer Mussels. Erik, our bartender, can read your future through his Tarot Card readings as well! Saltwater is the place to be on Monday nights. Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Litchfield Saltwater Grille also viewed

 

Been to Litchfield Saltwater Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Litchfield Saltwater Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.