We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great and restful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonecroft Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Stonecroft Country Inn to your Saves list
Stonecroft Country Inn
515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Eastport New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great and restful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Stonecroft Inn in Ledyard Conn this past weekend . It was great . So restful , quiet and so near to so many major attractions . Our room was comfortable and inviting and our Innkeepers were kind and welcoming . We wish them the very best on this new adventure! we will definitely be back !!!! The restaurants they recommended in the area were all great !!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the 1870 house . very nice !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Charles,
Thank you for your kind review. We were glad to read that you discovered how quiet and peaceful it is here at Stonecroft, but at the same time how close it is to all the major attractions. Thank you for wishing us well on this new adventure. We look for to greeting you again on a future visit.
Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    22
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
109
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our recent visit to the Sonecroft Inn was very relaxing. We stayed in the original house and found the character and history of the home to be quite charming.
We stayed in the Orchard room. The king bed was super comfy and there was plenty of room.
The breakfast was delicious. We especially enjoyed the french toast.
Jim and Marcie were excellents hosts. Jim was very knowledgeable about the house and gave great suggestions for sight seeing in the area. It was a lovely week-end get away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Diana,
Thank you for such a positive review. We are glad to hear that you found our 6+ acre property to be a place of relaxation. Thanks too for mentioning the spacious Orchard room in the 1807 House with its "super comfy" king bed.
Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was amazed from the moment we turned on the driveway! The place is beautiful! Jim and Marcie greeted us at the door and welcomed us to their Inn! I knew right away this place was special! The owners are such sweet people and I could tell they cared very much about their place and the people who stayed there. We stayed in the Schubel Suite (spelling?) and WOW! It was breathtaking! I was forewarned about the bed though - Jim mentioned that the bed was "the most comfortable bed in the world" - boy was he right! :) Even though the bed was so comfortable, we decided we better get up to go to breakfast. After working our way downstairs, Jim greeted us with all smiles and we enjoyed some fruit during the short wait for our breakfast. The atmosphere was pleasant and calming while we looked over the gardens and enjoyed our morning! The breakfast was excellent - even for my picky husband! The Inn is perfectly located in the middle of anywhere we wanted to go! I only wish we could've stayed longer to enjoy even more that the area has to offer! Thank you Jim and Marcie for such an entrancing night!

Room Tip: The Schubel Suite = awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Nikki M,
Thanks for the awesome review. We are so glad that you and your husband had such a "blissful" experience here at Stonecroft. The kingsize bed in the Shubel Suite really is "the most comfortable bed in the world!"
Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Husband and I really enjoyed our stay and couldn't have asked for better weather in Mystic Country that weekend either. The gardens are relaxing, the breakfast delicious, the innkeepers gracious. The rooms are lovely. The main house is great even lacking some of the luxuries of the newer barn. We appreciate the time spent sharing with us the history of the place and your work as innkeepers. We look forward to an occasion to return soon!

Room Tip: The rooms in the barn are excellent. We stayed in the Briar Rose and peeked in the Lily. Both are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Nuttynuttybunny,
Thank you for your terrific and very thorough review of our inn. We are grateful whenever we read reviews like yours that use words like "wonderful," "relaxing,'" "delicious," "gracious," "lovely," and "great." Those words let us know that we have succeeded. Thanks for the positive feedback. We look forward to greeting you again soon here at Stonecroft.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girlfriend and found this place a convenient and great place to stay in lieu of the typical Foxwood Casino big hotel experience..yet its centrally located to both the casino resorts and the mystic seaport area...We stayed in the Buttery room off the main floor, the room was very cozy and we had a delicious breakfast the next morning....I wish all the good fortune to the new owners Jim and Marcie from making this inn a truly special place...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear New York City, NY,
Thank you for your encouraging review of our inn and for mentioning our strategic location, midway between the casinos and Mystic. We are glad that you found the "Buttery" room to be so cozy. We plan to update that room in the near future. Look for new pics on our Facebook page. Thanks for the well wishes!
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved the location of the inn since it is out in the country and only a short drive to Mystic. We stayed in the Sarah Suite and found it to be quite comfortable. It was quite spacious and had a great bathroom. The new owners, Jim and Marcie, are very friendly and welcoming. There was a nice deck outside our room that we enjoyed while having a cup of coffee. It is always nice to have refreshments or a small snack available when you arrive and we did miss that here. Our neighbors have a B&B and always keep a small refrigerator filled with juices, sodas, and water along with a cookie jar filled with homemade cookies for newly-arriving guests. Perhaps that will be added in the future because eveyone seems to enjoy that aspect of a B&B. We did find the outside door downstairs to be quite noisy because it slams shut on its own. Some folks don't seem to care that other guests are staying in the rooms and aren't very considerate late at night. It was nice to have fresh fruit and hot homemade muffins before breakfast. The eggs benedict was delicious, too. Jim does a good job of trying to stay on top of things during the busy breakfast time. We had a pleasant stay and really enjoyed the town of Mystic.

Room Tip: It was pretty quiet in the Sarah Suite except for the downstairs door slamming late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear PA,
Thank you for your very thorough and encouraging review of our inn. As new innkeepers, we always appreciate it when guests make suggestions on how we can improve our inn. As you kindly suggested, we will be adding more in-room amenities in the near future. You will also be glad to know that the downstairs slamming door situation has been resolved. All it took was a slight adjustment to the closure mechanism. Now it closes without sound! Thanks for bringing that to our attention.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I visited for our anniversary last weekend and fell in love with this place all over again. The new owners are wonderful and accommodating and the Shubel room is the most relaxing bed on the planet....Stay there, enjoy the amazing blueberry muffins and whatever else is on the menu the next morning and you will love every second of it! Can't miss this place if you are anywhere near Ledyard, Ct.

Room Tip: Shubel is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Westbury, NY,
Thank you for your terrific review of our inn and for mentioning one of our premier suites; the "Shubel." We are glad that you found the king-size bed in that room to be "The most relaxing bed on the planet." Thanks too for mentioning our fresh-baked blueberry muffins. It won't be long before we can pick our own blueberries right here on the property to add to the morning muffins. We're sure that our gusts will be picking them as well just to eat. Yum!
Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonecroft Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Inn

Address: 515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country elegance for the discriminating traveler. Located less than 5 miles from Mystic and the Casinos, Stonecroft Country Inn, an 1807 sea captain's country estate, consists of a sunny Georgian colonial and newly renovated Grange. The 1807 House has four common rooms, six fireplaces, and four historic guest rooms with private baths, three with fireplaces. The Grange contains six luxury guest rooms with gas fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Voted Best of New England 2012 by the Editors of Yankee Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stonecroft Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Hotel Ledyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonecroft Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.