We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful country Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonecroft Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Stonecroft Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonecroft Country Inn
515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
“Beautiful country Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My son took my husband and I for my husband's birthday. It was a lovely inn with beautiful rooms and fabulous bathrooms. The gardens are quite lovely. The breakfast was wonderful. The Inn is under new ownership and the couple who are the owners were so friendly. I would highly recommend this Inn for a get away. Nice location, close to Mystic CT. I'd go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Beds were very comfortable. We stayed in the Orlando room and my son, his wife and their 4 yr. old s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Fountain Valley, CA,
Thank you for your encouraging review of our inn. As new owners we are always glad to hear from guests who have had such a wonderful experience here as you did. We were honored to have a part in celebrating your husband's birthday! Your Innkeepers, Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    21
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
104
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our second visit to this Inn in 6 months. We love the location of this inn, as well as all of its comforts. The Inn is well appointed, but maintains the feel of the original 1800;s building and property. The Yellow Barn accommodations are modern and luxurious, while coupled with restored, wide planked wood flooring. The new innkeepers are very nice people, who make you feel welcomed and comfortable without invading your privacy. The breakfasts remain absolutely scrumptious, with signature blueberry muffins each day, and a special dish. The area is quant and quiet but close to Mystic, Mohegan Sun, Stonington, etc. The inn does not offer dinner at this time, but there isn't any problem finding great restaurants only a few minutes from the parking lot.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed our stays in Orlando and in the Lily, both in the back of the Yellow Barn, overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Smithtown, NY,
Thank you for your terrific review and for mentioning all the wonderful aspects of your visit. Thank you also for pointing out that we are one inn with two distinct styles of accommodation. We have the traditional B&B accommodations in the 1807 House as well as the 6 luxury suites in the Yellow Barn. We are glad to be your "new favorite place." Your Innkeepers, Jim and Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The bed and breakfast was just the lovely escape we were looking for. The inn setting was very lovely, the inn owner's were so nice and pleasant to be around and to do business with. The room was luxurious and comfortable with a nice patio for us to enjoy our morning coffee and enjoy the vista. The breakfast was very good and the seating area over looking the outdoor patio and garden area just made the breakfast that much more pleasure. A definite on the list of places to revisit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Cheshire, CT,
Thank you for your positive review and for "highly recommending" our inn to others. Thank you as well for mentioning our breakfasts overlooking the gardens. We are glad you had such a pleasant stay at our inn and look forward to seeing you again when you revisit us. Your Innkeepers, Jim and Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Like Heather, my partner and I stayed in the Sarah Suite, and it was a perfect, romantic weekend getaway. The room was a perfect size, and the fireplace a must-have. Bed was extremely comfortable. There was a balcony on which we could sit, although because it was overcast and chilly when we were there, we couldn't take advantage of it. The bathroom was a religious experience, with a whirlpool tub from which we could look at the fireplace and a huge, shareable shower. Loved that there were two sinks as well.

The Inn is a B and B, and breakfast was outstanding both mornings. Do be sure to let them know in advance if you're a vegetarian, because both meals had meat in them and were brought to us; there's no menu from which to choose. (As a baconatarian, this was a huge plus for me -- just thinking of my vegetarian brothers and sisters out there!).

The inn is a quick drive to Mystic and Stonington, both lovely towns where you can spend your day just strolling around. Or, if you're a gambler, you can hit the casino, which is maybe 20 minutes' drive from the inn. We also enjoyed just being cozy and reading in the room. Lots of options!

The Innkeepers, Jim and Marcie, were absolutely delightful and beyond accommodating. Of great important to us was the fact that, as a female couple, we were treated exactly the same as all of the other different-sex couples who were there. That's not always the case when traveling, and we were particularly grateful for the equally warm treatment.

I highly recommend the inn and hope to return again in the not-too-distant future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Montclair, NJ
Thank you for this superlative review and especially for mentioning our suites and all their wonderful amenities. We are also grateful when guests mention the warm welcome they receive at our inn. We look forward to greeting you warmly again in the not-too-distant future. Your Innkeepers, Jim and Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Sarah suite and it was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. I loved the touches such as the towel warmers, bidet, water bottles in the room, and coffee maker in room. Would definitely stay again. Breakfast was also delicious, we enjoyed every moment of our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Stay was a gift and could not have been better.We were there during the January snow storm and what a majestic scene.Not only did they keep the drive and parking area well cleaned but i went out to get my snow brush and the car was as though it had not snowed.Very much appreciated.The entire staff was the best and what a wonderful Breakfast with the cardinals outside the dining room windows.Hope to come back soon. .ED-DS

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We first stayed at Stonecroft in October 2011. We loved it so much that we held our wedding there in the next summer! The outside area was a perfect setting for a cocktail hour and ceremony with dinner served inside. They did a fantastic job with the setup, food and service. Our most recent stay was in December 2012. The Grange Building is great. The downstairs rooms and upstairs suites are beautiful. They offer some great deals mid week and offseason - so it doesn't cost much more to try one of the suites! Besides the casinos, there are great vineyards nearby. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonecroft Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Inn

Address: 515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country elegance for the discriminating traveler. Located less than 5 miles from Mystic and the Casinos, Stonecroft Country Inn, an 1807 sea captain's country estate, consists of a sunny Georgian colonial and newly renovated Grange. The 1807 House has four common rooms, six fireplaces, and four historic guest rooms with private baths, three with fireplaces. The Grange contains six luxury guest rooms with gas fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Voted Best of New England 2012 by the Editors of Yankee Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stonecroft Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Hotel Ledyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonecroft Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.