We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abby's Lantern Hill Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ledyard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn
Save
You added Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn to your Saves list
780 Lantern Hill Road, Ledyard, CT 06339   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Made-to-order breakfasts!
Ranked #1 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rhode Island
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Abby's Lantern Hill Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

This little bed and breakfast is great.

LOCATION: Not only is this place within walking distance of Foxwoods and within about a 10 minute drive to Mystic, but the landscap is pristine. There is a huge and beautiful lawn with woods surrounding the Inn. You really get the feeling that you've escape civilization.

PRIVACY: This ties into the location aspect. When they say private balcony, they sure do mean it. We took a look around at the rooms with the semi-private decks and whatnot, and they were also pretty secluded.

ROOMS: Fantastic. We stayed in the Cadillace Suite. It was both bigger and nicer than we had imagined it would be. The bathroom was easily as big as the bedroom, and the private balcony was also roughly the same size. The rooms were all beautiful.

OWNERSHIP: Tom (the owner? manager?) is the man. Staying with him was essentially like being a guest in a very laid back person's home. He was pleasant and glad to help us find things in the area, but he wasn't pushy or overbearing like I've heard about other B&Bs.

This place is the perfect romantic getaway. You won't want to leave.

Phil and Ashley.

Tom if you see this, thanks for the wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
150
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

it was a great experience. It was aslo very quiet and pleasent. I would def go back again. thanks mark

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

The setting for this B & B is absolutly perfect you are so close to everyhting, only a stones throw from foxwoods yet you feel like you are in the middle of Vermont in some serene pristine country setting. You are a relaxing drive from Mystic and the Mohegan Sun. They are very helpful with places to eat. Stay away from casino restaurants, found much tastier, quieter and more romantic ones in Mystic and surrounding areas. My advice, venture out to Westerly and New London. The innkeepers are very helpful and aren't over bearing and in your face like other inns. They give you your space which is very needed when you are trying to get away. My advice stay here. You could not find a place more comfortable and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2005

Very reasonably priced. Loved the fireplace. Everything was very clean.

My only negative was that - being our first time staying at a bed and breakfast - I didn't know "what to do". When you are use to being at a large chain hotel and walking down the hall in the middle of the night for a soda and candy bar - you don't realize how much you miss that....

Overall - we had a very nice time and will definitely return (prepared with drinks and snacks for late at night!)

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2005

We stayed over New Years... loved the complimentary champagne and breakfast of huevos rancheros and banana pancakes! We're coming back soon!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2004

Very close to Foxwoods, but nice, quiet, and relaxing. The room was great and very reasonable compared with most other nearby places to stay. Mystic is just down the road, so it was a convenient location. Lots of nice woodwork and details. The innkeepers were interesting and have a lot of information on the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2004

Best blueberry pancakes I've ever had. Hostess respected guest's privacy, but was very accommodating. Great location. Guided hike and history lesson on Lantern Hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn

Address: 780 Lantern Hill Road, Ledyard, CT 06339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace & serenity await at this 6 acre property, which happens to be an unbeatable location for exploring Mystic, Foxwoods, Mohegan Sun, Stonington Borough & Rhode Island beaches. "Certificate of Excellence" from Tripadvisor. You won't find lace doilies or breakable antiques, but you'll love our wood-burning fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, complimentary organic breakfasts 7 days a week, fresh-ground gourmet coffee, free WiFi, large flatscreen TVs with streaming Netflix, 24 hour snacks & beverages, miles of onsite hiking trails to scenic Lantern Hill. We have a pet-friendly cottage & are Connecticut Green Lodging certified. We also can host outdoor weddings, private parties, & fundraisers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey`s Lantern Hill Hotel Ledyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.