We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to the Casino's!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ledyard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn
Save
You added Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn to your Saves list
780 Lantern Hill Road, Ledyard, CT 06339   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Made-to-order breakfasts!
Ranked #1 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamburg, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location to the Casino's!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Found this B&B on the B&B.COM website and decided to give it a shot. We truly enjoyed our room (Mystic) as it had a hot tub which we really enjoyed. The breakfast meals we had prepared were great (Blueberry pancakes & French Toast) and Erica (Inn keeper) made us feel very much at home. We had a beautiful snow fall while we there and made the Inn look absolutely beautiful.

The only issue we had was our room was under a very loud family with kids who ran across the room each morning at 7:00a.m. thus giving us an early wake up call. You would think parents would be more considerate and tell them not to run...but we survived, however, it was very annoying. Also we wished our room had a closet or a dress of drawers as we had to live out of our suitcase both days...no biggie, but it would be nice.

Overall we really enjoyed our trip the location was great and we truly enjoyed our stay. We will be going back when we get an opportunity to get away again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeysinn, Manager at Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi Ray,

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed the Mystic Room and our home-cooked breakfasts and hospitality. The winter’s first blanketing of snow for the season really was a beautiful treat indeed.

I wish you had let me know about the noise. I could have quickly discussed the issue with the parents and two daughters. We don’t permit children under 13. These girls were 13 & 17. The parents stayed in the Downeast Room. An easy solution would have been for the parents and girls to swap rooms. If you are a potential future guest reading this, please note that if you notify us of an issue, we will do all we can to arrange a fast fix. We can’t fix what we don’t know about. And there’s no sense in a guest sitting around irritated needlessly.

I will have a clothes armoire in the room for your next stay. Thank you for mentioning it. And thanks again for your business! I so glad that you truly enjoyed your stay and plan on returning again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
150
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem Depot, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Although many will have the "intention" of seeing a show at Foxwoods or visitng Mystic seaport, the true gem in Ledyard CT is this little B&B. Only a minute or two away from all the activity, nestled in the woods is this very quiet,and comfortable highlight to my weekend. Oh yeah, the show was good, Mystic was beautiful as always, but to be able to relax, sit with friends, and have a breakfast prepared by this terrific innkeeper was truly the best way to start each day. Rooms were immaculate, beds were comfy, and we could not have enjoyed ourselves more. Put it on your list if you are heading in this direction you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make reservations early and try the room at the top of the stairs... the innkeeper knows which one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at other wonderful B & B's in the area and decided to try a new one. This weekend we were treating a family member to a stay as a 60th birthday present and going to see a show at the nearby MGM Grand Theater (Seinfeld). I found Abbey's on-line and it looked lovely. The reality of the Inn was even better than the pictures on the website. Our hostess Erica was incredibly helpful, sweet and wanted to make sure we enjoyed ourselves and felt comfortable. Our room, the Southwest Room, was spacious, with a fun and eclectic decor. The bed was very comfortable and the fireplace at the foot of the bed was a nice addition. Our guests had the Cadillac room, which had a huge bathroom with a 2 person jacuzzi, they loved it. Breakfasts were simple, but good and Erica is very conscious about having good and healthy foods for her guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The wife and I were looking for a place to get away for our 25th wedding anniversary. We did a search of the web and there it was!!! A hidden treasure tucked into the woods that provided a very quiet, relaxing evening for the two of us!!! We stayed in the southwest room and was very impressed how clean, cozy and comfortable this inn was!!! After a great night’s sleep we had the opportunity to spend some time with Erika the Inn Keeper, for some refreshing conversation!!!! The hospitality offered by our host Erika was second to none!! We are looking forward to our return trip!!! My wife and I thank you Erika for a great stay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay during our visit to Mystic that would be compatible with our typical way of life - casual and nature loving, and we felt Abbey's was the right fit. We have discovered that staying in a B&B (vs. a Hotel) gives us a more authentic cultural experience when we visit different towns, and Abbey's was no exception. The grounds are well kept and inviting like a home should be, and the decor inside is true coastal New England. We stayed in the Downeast Room because a fireplace was going to be the icing on the cake for us, which was prepared and ready for us to light up and enjoy each night. I wouldn't choose a B&B if I weren't willing to interact with others, as it is typically a more social setting than that of a segregated hotel. However, the proximity of this particular room is immediately off the entrance/foyer and also shares a door with the kitchen, which left me feeling like our privacy was at a minimum. We worried we would be overheard, or that we would be disturbed by others, or by any breakfast-making activities in the morning. It didn't end up being an issue since it was a quiet weekday stay, which we soon learned also meant limited breakfast offerings, so no clanking pots and pans. It was the first time we had stayed at a B&B that didn't provide a daily cooked breakfast, so when we showed up to eat and the table wasn't set, we didn't know what to say. There was plenty of other offerings on the counter like awesome coffee and teas, fresh baked cookies, hard boiled eggs, organic cereals, etc. but that is how we eat at home, not on vacation... so we had some coffee and cookies and went out to eat. The inn keeper, Erika, is our kind of people (so to speak) so I didn't dare critique her operation. She is smart with a great sense of humor, and she engaged us in some really good conversations. Our number one goal on any vacation is to eat and drink at the best places a given town has to offer. Erika gave us her list of favorites, and we ate at all of them with rave reviews - B.F. Clyde's Cider Mill, S&P Oyster, Daniel Packer, and Oyster Club (for the happy hour specials :-). Each night we would waddle in from the cold with our full bellies and collapse in bed in front of the fire. We felt so cozy and at home that I imagined myself moving right in and becoming a permanent fixture. I hope to be back during the summer to stay in this lovely, communal, natural, environment. Thanks Erika! a/k/a (not)Abbey

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is such a nice place to stay. We stayed at the cottage and it was like having our own little house. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Most important was the hospitality offered by our host Erika. She was readily available for all of our needs and cooked a fresh delicious breakfast for us. This is really the place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just stayed in the Southwest room, loved it. The decor of the room is great and I love the whirlpool tub and fireplace. Soft comforter, nice towels. Erika is very nice and helpful. It is nice to see an owner show such an interest in their business and really wanting everyone to be happy there. I love the eco friendly vibe here with the food and even the shampoo. The location is good, just out of the way to be quiet but very close to Mystic and the casinos. This would be a nice place to be in the summer with the seating area outside and the deck. I've stayed at many B&B's and this is one of the better ones. I look forward to coming back sometime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn

Address: 780 Lantern Hill Road, Ledyard, CT 06339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace & serenity await at this 6 acre property, which happens to be an unbeatable location for exploring Mystic, Foxwoods, Mohegan Sun, Stonington Borough & Rhode Island beaches. "Certificate of Excellence" from Tripadvisor. You won't find lace doilies or breakable antiques, but you'll love our wood-burning fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, complimentary organic breakfasts 7 days a week, fresh-ground gourmet coffee, free WiFi, large flatscreen TVs with streaming Netflix, 24 hour snacks & beverages, miles of onsite hiking trails to scenic Lantern Hill. We have a pet-friendly cottage & are Connecticut Green Lodging certified. We also can host outdoor weddings, private parties, & fundraisers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey`s Lantern Hill Hotel Ledyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.