We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Interlaken Inn

Save Saved
You added Interlaken Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Interlaken Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   74 Interlaken Road, Route 112, Lakeville, CT 06039   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lakeville
Noank, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and i spent our anniversary at the Interlaken Inn and could not have been more pleased. We booked the Romantic Escape package, which was a great value with 25% off dinner and a bottle of champagne. The Inn upgraded us to the Paul Newman room, a second-floor room at the end of the main building. We enjoyed the balcony overlooking the pool (which was quiet in April), and found the accommodations comfortable. The bathroom does lack a tub, and the exhaust fan that goes on automatically with the light is loud, but those are small quibbles. The staff, from front desk to workers in the hallways, were uniformly friendly and welcoming. We had a delightful dinner in the restaurant, which is upscale without being stuffy. Breakfast the next morning exceeded our expectations. They advertise a continental breakfast included with the room on weekdays, but this "continental" also featured omelets made to order. The Inn has a wealth of activities during the season, but most were not yet ready for guests. No problem--the area is filled with great hiking and biking trails and villages to wander through, and just strolling through the grounds on a sunny day is a pleasure. We definitely plan to return to the Interlaken Inn for a longer visit.

Room Tip: The Paul Newman room is a second-floor room at the quiet end of the building near the stairs where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am so pleased you had such a wonderful anniversary celebration with us. Thank you for choosing to spend it here at Interlaken and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. You are right, there is alot to do in the area and as the warmer weather approaches it only gets better. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    47
    28
    16
    12
See reviews for
60
107
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Home
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Interlaken Inn in Lakeville, CT while touring area boarding schools. While it does not have much "curb appeal", the rooms and public areas are comfortable and spacious. We stayed in a two bedroom villa and had a fireplace, 2 1/2 baths and plenty of space in the kitchen and living room. A hot breakfast is included in the price and was an easy way to start the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Lakeville. I am glad to hear the Suite unit was comfortable for your family. Perhaps this will be the first of many visits to the area, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect Ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I wanted to find a nice Inn where we could stay overnight that wasn't too far to drive to and we found the perfect location at the Interlaken Inn!! We stayed in the Sunnyside and the room was just so cozy and comfortable. Dinner at the Morgan Restaurant was really superb, and the service was outstanding! We enjoyed the trip to the vineyard which was included in our package, as well as a delicious breakfast on Sunday morning. I would definitely recommend this Inn and plan to return there in the near future. Trudy H.

Room Tip: We really liked the Sunnyside building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you so much, Trudy, for taking the time to tell others about your stay at Interlaken. I am so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and plan to return for another getaway. We have many packages to choose from, although the Millbrook Vineyard package is quite a popular one amongst our Guests. We look forward to your return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Interlaken Inn was a wonderful and clean environment, complete with a game room and fitness center which were open late and worked perfectly for the quiet weekend getaway for my college friends and I who were looking for a more mellow spring break trip. When we arrived at the inn there had been a slight miscommunication about the rooming since there were five of us, and the people at the inn were more than accommodating. They fixed the issue immediately and called to check up on us several times throughout our visit. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Even with the winter chill in what I imagine is a wonderful and bustling summer go to place, the atmosphere of the clean, spacious rooms with great facilities and outdoor hot tub combined with the incredible staff made our stay one of the best weekend trips. If you're looking for a quiet winter New England getaway, this is it.

Room Tip: If you're a couple, ask for the room with the hot tub. With friends, a suite with upstairs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor and for your compliments about the property and staff. I apologize again for the room confusion but am glad everything worked out comfortably. I realize you could have chosen anywhere to spend your spring break and am honored you chose to spend it at Interlaken. I hope it becomes an annual tradition! Thank you again and I hope you all can return to the property very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

For several years I have organized a scrapbooking retreat for about 50 women. Our last visit was the weekend of March 1st. We continue to return to the Interlaken Inn each year, due to their outstanding customer service. Kristy, Kevin, and Maura are great to work with. The entire staff is very accommodating and pleasant. You’ll love being welcomed by Winston. Brandon and his staff prepare delicious meals. The guest rooms are clean and comfortable. We appreciate the conference space that allows us to spread out. The staff does everything they can to set up the space appropriately and to make our stay enjoyable. A special thank you to Vanessa who took care of us all weekend!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much, Kim, for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experiences at Interlaken. The entire staff has truly enjoyed welcoming your group over the years, and we look forward to servicing all of you again for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

There was a time when the property had all cotton high thread count sheets which we enjoyed. Not anymore. We were surprised by 50/50 180T sheets. The reason I know is because I actually checked the labels after being surprised at how horrible those sheets felt to the touch. They were not even white but an off white dirty color. We were given heavy duvets filled with polyester that were not covered by a top sheet and looked like they definitely were not washed after each use. We had our euw moment. Walls are paper thin; if your neighbors get up earlier than you, well, so will you. Heaters/AC units are noisy. The building is dated. They don't have complementary coffee with cookies anymore. The administration was ambivalent with a "not our problem" and "take it or leave it" attitude. We will be staying elsewhere next time if we are in the area.

Room Tip: perhaps rooms other than in the main building are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
It is so disturbing to learn of this Guest's experience nearly three months after their stay. I work so hard to make sure we communicate with our Guests at several points throuhout their stay, from the time our Guests check in to the hotel we reach out to them within 15 minutes, at every check out we ask if there is anything we could have done better, and then we follow up with an email asking for feedback. I feel terrible this Guest has lived with this bad experience and now I feel even worse because I am unable to reach out to them. Had we known of their discomfort we would have done our best to make them happy before they left the property. As a hotelier, it becomes increasingly difficult to find out just what our Guests are looking for, so we reach out as much as possible looking for feedback.
The family accommodations continue to have lower thread count items because that is not one of the top considerations when families book their rooms with us. Should a family prefer higher end amenities we are certainly able to accommodate that request. Most of our Guestrooms have been infused with 300 thread count sheets, with the intent of 400 thread count sheets in some of the deluxe accommodations. Many seasons ago we were offering coffee and cookies in the lobby, but that was replaced two years ago with our complimentary full hot and cold breakfast every midweek morning.
We truly hope to be able to communicate with this Guest directly, and will work diligently to find out who the Guest was and where they stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Annual Quilt weekend for past 7 years. Food fabulous. Rooms clean and the beds, slept like a baby. Lots of hot shower water. Staff bend over backwards to help wherever needed. Soft plush towels. Looking
forward to next year.
deemaxcon

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you, Dee, for taking part in the quilt retreat for so many years. I am so glad you find our property to be comfortable and the staff accommodating. The Chefs appreciate your compliments as well. We certainly enjoy taking care of your entire group, and look forward to doing so again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Interlaken Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Inn

Address: 74 Interlaken Road, Route 112, Lakeville, CT 06039
Location: United States > Connecticut > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Interlaken Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming country resort in the heart of New England with 78 gorgeous guestrooms on 30 manicured acres, nestled between shimmering lakes. All rooms have A/C, cable TV, DVD, phone and private bath. Complete with recreational facilities including tennis, outdoor heated swimming pool, health & fitness center, massages & spa services, gameroom, golf, canoes & kayaks, more... An abundance of cultural attractions and antiquing is nearby.  Pet friendly accommodations and top-rated dining in Morgan's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Interlaken Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Hotel Lakeville
Interlaken Resort Lakeville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Interlaken Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.