We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undiscovered Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Interlaken Inn/ Morgan's Restaurant

Interlaken Inn/ Morgan's Restaurant
74 Interlaken Rd, Lakeville, CT 06039
+1 800-222-2909
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Interlaken Inn/ Morgan's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Lakeville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Poughkeepsie, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Original fine dining in the Litchfield Hills. This restaurant is housed at the Interlaken Inn.
Most, including myself, assume that these hotel restaurants are generic. Not so in this case.
Each dish is personally prepared by the gifted chef, Brandon and have always exceeded our high expectations. The atmosphere is quiet, relaxed with a fireplace to boot. The service is attentive and well trained. The wine list is reasonable.

All in all, if you are looking for a special evening, this is your place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JC, NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend getaway at the Interlaken and dined at Morgan's Restaurant. The moment we arrived we were greeted and brought to a lovely corner table by a window and overlooking the piano player My husband chose the Strip steak which was cooked to perfection. I I had a delicious sautéed Turbot served over roasted Brussels sprouts and an amazing pureed butter nut squash. When I commented on the butter nut squash the waiter invited the chef to my table to share his recipe ...I plan to make this for my Thanksgiving Celebration. The Chef was very attentive coming by to check on our meals without being intrusive.. Oh..and we ended the meal with a delightful desert of hot apple fritters with home made sour cream ice cream and a pretzel sundae Both were delicious and fun treats We had a wonderful dining experience that was accompanied by lovely music by the piano player ..I highly recommend.. you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I have dined at Morgan's during our annual fall getaways for the past few years and are always delighted with our meals. The waitstaff is professional and friendly offering suggestions and answering questions. However, on a very quiet evening in the dining room, the waitstaff began to break down the tables at 8:00 PM, clearing off the shakers, candles, settings, etc. which made me feel a bit like it was 4AM and closing time. Also, the chef was walking around the room with some of the staff, looked right at us and offered no welcoming smile or acknowledgment of any kind. Since we were only one of two tables occupied, it would have been a nice gesture. The kitchen did send out two cookies with our check which was lovely, but a warm smile or even a nod goes a long way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Morgan's restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have dinned at this restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunches are probably the best choice. Breakfast is hard to not do well but when the person making the omelets over cooks, or under cooks as what happened to me, it makes you wonder. Dinner was not very good, as the steak I ordered was full of gristle, tuff and over cooked. My associates fish was under cooked. Most of the staff was foreign, slightly difficult to understand but were attentive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

See my Interlaken Inn review and you'll see my thoughts on Morgans Restaurant. We loved the detail in the food preparation, the efficiency of the waitstaff, and the length of the wine list.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Interlaken Inn/ Morgan's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Interlaken Inn/ Morgan's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Interlaken Inn/ Morgan's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.