We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking Forward to Our Third Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Kent Falls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Kent Falls
Save
You added Inn at Kent Falls to your Saves list
107 Kent Cornwall Road, Kent, CT 06757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Kent B&B and Inns
Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looking Forward to Our Third Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I are looking forward to our third trip to the inn later this week. We fell in love with the inn last winter when we made our first visit there. We have made many trips to the lovely Litchfield Hills area, but had never stayed at the Inn at Kent Falls. The inn we generally stayed out was not going to open during the winter months and so we were looking for a new "home." After seeing the Inn at Kent Falls on the internet and reading the reviews, we called to talk to the innkeeper, Ira, with some basic questions. He was wonderful on the phone and by time we hung up, we had booked the inn for three nights and were looking forward to meeting Ira in person. Once we arrived, we were sure that we had made the right choice in finding a new place to stay. We were impressed with the beautiful design elements in the common areas. The decor, which was aesthetically pleasing, invited us to sit, relax and make ourselves feel at home. We stayed in the Lakes Suite on the first floor. Once again the decor was lovely. The bathroom was magnificent and there was an abundance of storage. Two fireplaces, beautiful linens, candles and magazines added to the experience. Breakfast the next morning was abundant and delicious with lots of healthy options if you are watching your weight. After breakfast, Ira, and his helpful and friendly staff, answered all our questions about the area. Since we love to hike, Ira gave us a great tip on an area to visit for a fabulous winter hike. At the end of the weekend, we were sad to leave, but promised we would return before too long. We returned at the end of September to enjoy the fall foliage and had an equally wonderful visit. This Thursday we are returning for another long winter weekend since we find it hard to stay away. I would also like to mention that, thanks to Ira and his attentive staff, we have never stayed in any hotel or inn that is as meticulously clean. We can't recommend the Inn at Kent Falls highly enough!!!

Room Tip: We love the Lakes Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
44
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton Landing, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012 via mobile

Great place for an escape.
Ambience, setting, beautifully prepared breakfast, great linens, huge assortment of current magazines, comfortable seating areas. A lovely old home that radiates charm and warmth.

I would love to make it an annual event

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for a romantic getaway with my BF and we really loved this Inn. Beautiful decor, warm and cozy and our room was especially unique (top floor suite). The inn keeper was so nice and welcoming and even helped us map out a good driving rt. We felt right at home and I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone who's planning a weekend getaway in this area.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We found the Inn condition a bit tired and definitely not with the charm that others report, Perhaps there are two different sections of the building but based on our experience we will not return. We were only there one night and there was some confusion about the room (which was straightened out later that night) and as we had to leave at eight in the morning found that we were not able to have breakfast (except still slightly frozen muffins) and no coffee (no paper cups) to take with us. The room was very very small.
It was nice to be in Kent and to go to Kent Falls.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask whether there is room to walk around the bed.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Kent Falls Inn is a gorgeous historic farm house that has been renovated with all the modern luxuries. No detail was spared. From someone with a career in interior design, I was completely impressed by the beauty of the inn. The rooms are warm and inviting, but not stuffy. They were able to keep the charm of the original structure, while giving it a modern, clean design. The bathrooms are charming and luxurious. The scenery is stunning! I would recommend it to everyone for your next weekend in the countryside!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Inn at Kent Falls is not only charming, it is comfortable and feels like being in a beautiful home. Ira, the host is welcoming and accomodating and sees to the needs of the guests attentively. Our stay during the October surprise blizzard really tested his skills. Even when we were snowed in, without power or phones, he kept his cool and made us feel comfortable and safe. He even managed to make us a tasty dinner.
This was a delight even in unexpected circumstances. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia suburb
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I resently spent a long weekend at the inn to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. When we made the reservation we mentioned that but nothing was said about it when we arrived or during our stay.

When we arrived we were greeted by a young girl. Although she was pleasant she did not tell us her name (we found that out the next day) nor did she ask us if we wanted a tour of the house (we asked her if we could have one). We felt a bit unattended to and on our own.

The house is charming and IMMACULATE. The common rooms are very comfortable with television, fireplace, and free internet. We stayed in the Meadows room with the queen bed. The furnishings were charming and the room was clean and well appointed. Although it was facing the main road (not a busy road - Rt 7), the room was quiet. We got to our room and started unpacking and I noticed the room was on a slant. I also noticed the slant when I kept unconsciously rolling into the middle of the bed during the night! I jokingly mentioned that to the innkeeper in the morning, asked if anyone ever told him that and he responded a bit defensively that the house is 270 years old "after all" and no one ever mentioned that. So...if you stay in the Meadows room you'll know that.

Breakfast was very nice. Full breakfast, something different every day, with juice, coffee, fruit, and a fresh baked item. Lots of interaction with Ira during breakfast but didn't see much of him after that.

Not sure what "concierge" service there was. Any directions Ira supplied were rushed through and we got lost. We are travelers and don't often get lost. We learned more about sights in the area and how to get there from the other guests.

This inn is in a good location, within a fair drive to Mass and NY, other quaint towns and wineries in Western Connecticut.

Our opinion was that this inn was an average bed and breakfast. The special part was the charm of the house itself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Kent Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Kent Falls

Address: 107 Kent Cornwall Road, Kent, CT 06757
Location: United States > Connecticut > Kent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Inn At Kent Falls Hotel Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Kent Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.