We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A country inn, par excelence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak Room

The Oak Room
46 Main St, Copper Beech Inn, Ivoryton, CT 06442-1004
860-767-0330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 restaurants in Ivoryton
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Johnny Cake Road
Description: The highly acclaimed restaurant at the Copper Beech Inn is one of Connecticut's preeminent dining destinations, consistently appearing among the top-rated restaurants in the state and the region. Selected as one of the "Top 100 Hotel Restaurants in America" by USA Today and Zagat, the Inn is one of only two restaurants in the state to hold both the coveted AAA Four-Diamond Award for 2010 and Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence." Our noted Chef, Noel Jones, prepares exciting dishes featuring a seasonal selection of the finest local ingredients and brings a wealth of culinary expertise to the restaurant. Selections from our 2,000-bottle wine cellar always creates a memorable dining experience for our guests.
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A country inn, par excelence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If a colorful country inn, nestled in the captivating woods of New England, is your desire, here's a place for you. The service is exemplary and the continental cuisine is well above average. It's an experience that should be reserved for aficionados of that part of our country and special occasions. We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    17
    7
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Little Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed and dined this past weekend. We stayed at the Copper Beech a few times before and always loved the experience. This time, instead of the main house, we were in the Carriage House. It makes a big difference in ambience and convenience, especially in the winter. Always book the main house if you can. The Carriage House room we stayed in was nothing more than a standard hotel room. Not what you would expect from a Bed-And-Breakfast of this caliber.

But the real reason for our disappointment was dinner. We have had superb dinners here in the past. This time, the swordfish was overcooked and was left half eaten. The scallops (all three of them) were rubbery. I know American restaurants are sometimes criticized for portion sizes, and I applaud restaurants that go against the grain, but the chocolate cake served looked like it had been cut for an anorexic 17-year-old. We joked after the meal that we would have to go out for a late night snack.

The meal really suffered in comparison to one we had had two nights before at Dalton's in North Branford, Connecticut. Three people in our party that night had the swordfish special, including the one who had the swordfish at Copper Beech. All proclaimed the best restaurant meal they'd ever had. And by the way, the total bill for that meal for four was only $14 more than the Copper Beech meal for two (no alcohol in either meal).

I'm sorry to have left this review, I usually enjoy leaving sterling reviews.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went here to celebrate a birthday two days after Valentine's Day. However when we got there, a pre-fixe four couse dinner which was offered which I usually do not like. We decided to stay and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent even though there were only three entrees to choose from. I will definitely go back to choose from their regular menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place hasn't been the same since Chris left around five years ago. To be honest, Tyler Anderson did not impress me one bit. I frequented this restaurant about twice a month and was very disappointed when Chris left as well as the husband and wife team in the kitchen. That was when they served some of the best French cuisine ever. Their pastry chef was amazing and I do believe that Ian Phillips lost the best front of the house staff as well as kitchen staff when Chris left. The last two times I went the food was bland and way overpriced while Tyler was in the kitchen. I wont be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Anniversary Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have enjoyed a number of meals at the Copper Beech, so it was the logical choice for our 10th anniversary get-away. We made the right choice.
Dinner at the hands of executive chef Noel Jones and his gifted team was superb. First a demitasse of creamed chestnut soup was the kind of amuse bouche that left us wanting more.
The crab cake was a wonder. We couldn't figure our how it held together, because it appeared to be a tall cylinder of nothing but select crab meat. The mango-avacado topping was a delicious complement. But the show-stopper was the bay scallop in saffron cream sauce appetizer. Thank heaven the wait staff kept bringing plenty of house-made, crusty french bread to sop that amazing sauce.
Niether of us could resist the short rib entree with its potato puree and roasted winter vegetables. The beef was fork-tender and perfectly braised and seasoned. The kitchen was very accommodating allowing a side of the local, wild mushroom risotto (with parmesan foam) even though it was only listed as an entree.
The servings were so plentiful that the thought of dessert was too much to consider. Maybe next time.
As for the Inn, our room was beautiful and full of old world charm. The staff was gracious and accommodating.
Websites that say the room includes a continental breakfast are mistaken. The next morning we sat down to a lovely, up-scale breakfast menu offering a selection of juices, tea and excellent coffee, then a choice of country breakfast, pumpkin waffles, lemon ricotta pancakes, even eggs benedict or a rich, individual frittata of leeks, bacon and cheddar cheese.
This is a weekend we will enjoy remembering for years.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Room also viewed

 

Been to The Oak Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.