We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there hungry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivoryton Tavern Cafe

Ivoryton Tavern Cafe
8 Summitt St, Ivoryton, CT 06442-1125
860-767-1449
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Ivoryton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Essex, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Go there hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The biggest burger I've ever had, gigantic nacho grande plate, big juicy Reuben sandwich. Service is good. Wait time for food can be incredibly fast or a little slow! A nice casual place

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“" The Best "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I have been eatting at the Ivoryton Tavern Cafe for the past five years. At each performance that we attend at The Playhouse, which is across the street, we have had a great meal before each show. My first encounter was with the Monster Burger, which starts out as a great softball size mound of burger and turns out as a Masterpiece. My faverite is their famous Rueben, out of this world. Everything is priced inexpensively. The service is great. This past Saturday afternoon, the Olympic gold medal game for women's basketball was on and the staff had NO problems of turnning off the baseball game to watch our girls bring Home THE GOLD. A GREAT family PUB.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Family Resteraunt! Great fun and great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I moved to Ivoryton almost 4yrs ago and the Tavern was one the first places we ate. We went in on a Friday and ordered the whole belly clams,, I have to say they are the best around. The batter was light clams were sweet and not greasy. We have been coming here for dinner every since. In regeards to the person that wrote that they have reduced the portions of the food. The portions are enormous no matter what you get, we have not seen anything change in 4 yrs. Maybe they were just having a bad day..Good food...good service..good time..dont miss out..

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ok... used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I work just down the road from this place, so we'll order lunch here every now and then. They have significantly reduced their portion sizes recently (but not their prices). It's a local hang-out for an older crowd, although they do get the theater crowd too. Due to the diminishing portions we probably won't be ordering here very soon. It's ok food though- general tavern fare.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pub with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a diamond in the rough. It is the only pub in Ivoryton and thankfully it has the best staff and cooks that know what they are doing. The food is reasonably priced and they beer on tap has a good selection. The inside is funky and they do have seating out back. We just moved to the area and everytime we have stopped by the food has been delicious and the staff is always welcoming and friendly. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivoryton Tavern Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ivoryton Tavern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivoryton Tavern Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.