We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and got a great deal. We had an amazing view of the Capitol building from our room which was great. The room wasn't huge but it was comfy and all we needed. The front desk staff were nice. The breakfast was included and had lots of choices! Only bad comment was there was a lot of hair in and around the shower which was gross but not a huge deal. If you can get a good price this is a great location!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    39
    14
    13
See reviews for
16
32
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for a concert at the Meadows (Xfinity Center). While it was a long walk to the show, it was manageable at about 1/2 hour each way. The rooms were rather small and the parking garage was tiny, but the room was clean and comfortable. It was pretty crowded at breakfast and this caused the selection to be pretty limited. We certainly would not have chosen this hotel had there been any available rooms closer to the venue. That being said, there was a beautiful view of the CT statehouse and surrounding park..

Then there was the scary side of this hotel... The people in front of us at check in were handing back a key to the front desk. I overheard - "The room you gave us was a king, we needed a double." The employee banged away at the computer and gave them a new key card. As soon as they boarded the elevator I heard... "On-no, I think I made a mistake!"

Sure enough, a minute later the couple returned to report that the room they were given was actually occupied. "Good thing they weren't doing anything when we barged in." the woman stated.

We found this level of mistake a bit shocking, so as we opened our room I told my wife I would hang the do not disturb sign right away. The people across the hall were leaving their room and must have heard me and stopped. "Did they give you a key to an occupied room too? The first room they gave us had open suitcases on the bed!" they told us. These were not the same people in front of us at check-in!

I'm not sure how many keys they handed out to occupied rooms that night, but we were far from impressed and made sure to hide our valuables when we went out and use the chain when we went to bed. I would have to assume this was a new...flustered employee losing their mind on a very busy night, but that's still unacceptable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that isn't already occupied !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEHDWTN, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to comment on your past stay with us. Your review shows us what we're doing wrong and how we can do better. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced while staying with us.

I am the new Front Office Manager for this property and is working vigorously with my team to eliminate such errors as you mention. I quickly realized that the clerk in question did not receive proper training and was a bit flustered in dealing with a big group. I have taken him off the 2nd shift where it is more fast pace and have placed him on the 1st shift where I can better monitor him and give him the necessary training needed. I have stronger team members working the busiest shifts to make sure such errors are not made again.

Please note that the incident occurred once. There were 2 couples staying in that room, you encountered one at the desk making the changes and another in the hallway after you checked it. Rest assure that it is not a common practice for our guests to be checked in an occupied room.

I reached out to the guest in question upon check out, apologized for the mishap made sure they were taken cared of.

Again I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with excellent service the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I chose this hotel because it was located next to the Amtrak's Hartford train station. Don't misinterpret the word train thinking noise. There is no noise from the railroad, rooms do not face the tracks directly anyway. The line is only used by Amtrak every couple of hours, but nothing overnight! The hotel is a fair sized building, older in construction, but well kept. The parking lot is kind of tight, but parking didn't seem to be an issue for our friends that drove. The hotel is centered in an area with several restaurants & clubs. My arrival was a Friday night and the club goers were partying it up. The nearby sidewalks were populated by a younger crowd who looked like they were enjoying their time in the clubs a bit too much. Police were keeping an eye on things which made me wonder if something bad was going on, or is this a normal Friday night in Hartford. Anyway, everything went well during my stay. The room was very quiet and I had a wonderful view of the CT State Capitol. The room was kind of small for a Holiday Inn brand property, the bathroom was very small. But the room was nice, well kept and furnished in current HIE decor. The hotel offers breakfast which I passed on (didn't even check it out).

Would I stay here again? Yes, You bet! Anytime I can avoid New York City rush hour traffic by taking a train, walking across the street to the hotel, count me in!

Room Tip: Take the train to Hartford, station is across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

From the moment we stepped into the lobby my daughter and I felt welcomed and comfortable. Lisa at the front desk was so friendly and fun, and willing to do anything to make our stay a pleasant experience. The bed linens are great, and the room was very comfortable, The complimentary breakfast in the morning was just right, with more friendly staffers ready to help us! The view of the park across the street was very pretty. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks, Lisa!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This HI Express is centrally located in downtown Hartford, just across the street from the park grounds in front of the state capitol. Rooms on the park side of the hotel have a nice view of the building and the park. Other than location, this is a fairly average place, though basically functional. My room was pretty small with a few things lacking - bathroom fixtures cracked, tub drain that was disconnected, no bedside lamp on one side of the bed, no chair to sit in other than the desk chair, etc. The $180 price tag is on the high side for a hotel like this, but I suppose you're paying for location. On the "plus" side, it did have a fridge and a microwave, though I never found a store close by where you could buy anything to refrigerate or heat up. Breakfast was the standard HI Express fare - prefabricated eggs, sausage, pastries, cereal - but they hadn't run out of anything so it was better than many.
One other thing... it's a $45 taxi ride (plus tip) from Bradley Airport. On two occasions (both when I called the hotel before my trip and when I checked in), I asked about alternative transportation. They said taxi was the only way to go. After my stay, I learned that the city bus runs hourly from the airport to/from Union Station, which is right across the street from this hotel. You have to deal with your own luggage on/off the bus, but you can't beat the cost... $1.50. Somebody at this hotel should be telling potential guests about that; it's an advantage for them and it's not even listed on their website!

Room Tip: If they offer you "park side," take it... much nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear FlyGuy47,

Thank you for writing a candid review following your recent stay. We are very glad that you liked the location of the hotel and the complimentary breakfast. On the other hand, it seems that the bathroom quality and room amenities did not live up to your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience these aspects may have caused. As for the transportation to and from the airport, we have taken note of your feedback and will discuss this with the respective departments. We appreciate all the comments we receive as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stopped here for two nights on our way up to Boston. It is a typical City Centre Hotel but parking is available on the premises at a charge. Free WiFi was good. My rason for choosing this hotel was the view of the Capitol building from the upper rooms. (ask for a room at the front facing the Park) The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was as usual for a Holiday Inn and coffee was available in the breakfast area most of the day. All in all I was satisfied with everything and the Capitol was a bonus. Get a tour if you can, it is a magnificent building.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Park and on fifth floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here for one night this past weekend and was very impressed. I was greeted by Lisa at the front desk and she was welcoming and very informative. My room was spacious and very clean with many amenities. It was so quiet and what a treat it was to have a view of the beautiful park surrounding the state capital building. I was in Hartford for a concert with the symphony orchestra and Gerard at the front desk tried his best to get me a cab. After a thirty minute wait, he suggested I walk a block and try for one in front of Union Station. Thanks to him, I made it to the concert on time. I will definitely stay here the next time I'm in Hartford!

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the State Capital Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Address: 440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Hartford . Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hartford, the Insurance Capital of the World, and is easily accessed from I-91 and I-84. We are steps from the Union Station for visitors traveling via bus or train. The hotel is located directly across from Bushnell Park and features views of the Capitol Building. We are also just 14 miles from Bradley International Airport. At the Holiday Inn Express Hartford Downtown, you will find newly renovated guest rooms with all the comforts of home. You can stay connected in our modern business center or with our complimentary easy access, high-speed Internet. For the health conscious, stay in shape in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests on the go can start their day right with our complimentary Smart Start Breakfast featuring our world-famous cinnamon rolls. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel while visiting the 'Insurance Capital.' We are in walking distance to many area businesses. Guests here for leisure will be happy to know we are walking distance to the XL Center, the Bushnell Theater, Connecticut Convention Center and many award winning restaurants. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Hartford Downtown where our staff will be sure to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hartford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.