We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not normal HIE Standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not normal HIE Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I usually stay at Holiday Inn Express for business and personal travels because I like the consistency and although prices are constantly rising, still a good value.

Had business in downtown Hartford, CT, so opted for this hotel. Room was clean and acceptable, location was ideal for me.

But some issues led me to review this hotel and not give it my usually 5 star for HIE's across the country. First, this is a downtown hotel, so some issues can be expected, but that causes this hotel to not meet my usual expectations.

First, parking is $16/night. OK, downtown hotel, so parking not free like most HIE's, but $16/night is very high for hotel parking in a city other than NYC.

Room was fine but closet was so narrow (depth) that could not close the closet sliding doors with my clothes hanging up. Bathroom was tiny with virtually no place to put my toiletries conveniently. Finally, and ironically, completely unexpected, no USA Today in the morning. They simply don't provide a morning paper at this location.

For most hotels this would be very picky but I have become used to consistency at HIE and thus, my loyalty, so this was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Rooms are not very noise proof so recommend staying in room not right over the main street (Asylum S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, I would just like to apologize for the major issues you had during your stay. We here at the Holiday Inn Express-Hartford Downtown strive for excellent guest Service and especially consistencies. We have taken note off all you concerns and we are immediately working on them, and am elated to say our property will be going under renovation soon. We would love for you to come and stay with us again. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again to WOW you.

-Patrick Sampson; Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    39
    15
    13
See reviews for
16
32
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is right off I84 exit 48 and has great access. It is also has a great view from the breakfast room of the state house.
The rooms are in good condition, the fixtures a little old, the floors / ceilings a little 'thin' - you can hear guests walking in the rooms above you. Breakfast is included and OK, nothing special. The workout room is rather small. Parking is out the back and is extra (currently $16/night). No noise issue overnight despite being very close to the railroad.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear james2n,

Thank you for your candid review. I am delighted to hear you liked our location and found your room in good condition. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is in a great location... the view from the room (9th floor) was actually really nice... it faced the park - and, with the christmas lights, it had a different view... The front desk staff (the PM GSA & AM GSA the next morning - same person) was very friendly... so, was the night auditor. (12/20-12-21)

Housekeeping and Engineering left a lot to desire... the room had a funny smell (not fresh!), the beds were made - but, they looked like someone had just pulled the linen and never changed them... the pillows were just thrown on top of the bed - not neatly placed... the bathroom hadn't seen bleach in a very long time... Broken: all lamps, the tub stopper, etc... elevators were dirty and never vacuumed...

The location is great...

You do get complimentary breakfast at this hotel - I never used it... Internet (wifi or wired) was fast...

I would probably stay again... but, request to have someone re-make my bed with fresh linen and clean the bathroom in my presence... I guess I can manage to make it through with all the broken things... not a big deal!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just across the street from Union Station. If you take the Bradley Flyer bus for $1.30 from the airport, instead of a $45 cab ride, you are just steps away. The staff at the desk, especially Ilanya, were all friendly and very helpful. We asked for a view of the capitol and were given a great room on the 8th floor overlooking Bushnell Park and the capitol. Both are beautifully lit at night.

Location is good and we walked everywhere we needed to go, the theater, restaurants, and tourist sites like The Old State House. If it had not been so snowy, we could have walked to the Mark Twain House, about a mile away, but opted for the bus instead.

The room was nice. The breakfast is included and is typical Holiday Inn Express. Because we booked this on Priceline, we felt that we got huge value from this stay and would recommend it at twice the price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

* * This place is in a good location, but there was no wifi and there business center wasn't working either. Later on, there was only one person at the front desk and the lady was rude. When I checked in the younger african am woman was very nice and the older man was very nice too. But the older african american woman was rude and made me feel weird. This hotel just needs to get rid of that older lady and needs proper internet usage. I really needed to use the computer and this really ruined my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear marilyn a,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the internet connection. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Downtown Hartford hotels are quite expensive, and this hotel is a great balance of price and accomodation. I've stayed here on three occassions, each 3-4 days in length, and always found a clean and quiet room awaiting. Unlike other hotels, I've never had the shower hot water run out--much appreciated! The included breakfast is a nice touch and decent, and adds value to your stay. The front desk professionals are always "on it" and friendly. The view of the State Capitol building across Bushnell Park is exquisite.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It was clean and safe. The gym is nice with wipes for the machines and spring water and the pool is year round and clean. My room was a good size, very clean and quiet the 1st nite. The a/c unit got loud the second nite but a bang quieted things down. Hot water was awesome with a clean shower, towels and washcloths. You do have to ask for a fridge and micro to be delivered to your room but they are free and quick to deliver them with a smile. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Brenda T,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Address: 440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Hartford . Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hartford, the Insurance Capital of the World, and is easily accessed from I-91 and I-84. We are steps from the Union Station for visitors traveling via bus or train. The hotel is located directly across from Bushnell Park and features views of the Capitol Building. We are also just 14 miles from Bradley International Airport. At the Holiday Inn Express Hartford Downtown, you will find newly renovated guest rooms with all the comforts of home. You can stay connected in our modern business center or with our complimentary easy access, high-speed Internet. For the health conscious, stay in shape in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests on the go can start their day right with our complimentary Smart Start Breakfast featuring our world-famous cinnamon rolls. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel while visiting the 'Insurance Capital.' We are in walking distance to many area businesses. Guests here for leisure will be happy to know we are walking distance to the XL Center, the Bushnell Theater, Connecticut Convention Center and many award winning restaurants. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Hartford Downtown where our staff will be sure to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hartford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.