We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It was clean and safe. The gym is nice with wipes for the machines and spring water and the pool is year round and clean. My room was a good size, very clean and quiet the 1st nite. The a/c unit got loud the second nite but a bang quieted things down. Hot water was awesome with a clean shower, towels and washcloths. You do have to ask for a fridge and micro to be delivered to your room but they are free and quick to deliver them with a smile. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Brenda T,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    39
    15
    13
See reviews for
16
32
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

we had the pleasure of staying of this lovely hotel with amazing views in December 2012. The staff were amazing and our room was very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they went out of their way to help us and give us as much information as possible

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed there this past Friday night for marathon the next morning. Awesome location right across the street from Bushnell Park. Great view of the capital building. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was good the next morning. Workout room and business center were a plus. The only negative I could say was the $16 for parking.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here over the holiday weekend and we were very happy with the experience. Jerry at the front desk was absolute fantastic and put us in a great room with an amazing view of the state capital building across the park. He was also helpful in suggesting places for drinks and things to do. The room was very comfortable and we slept very well. The complimentary breakfast was great, including omelets, cinnamon buns and sausages. Nice change from the sugar, caffeine and dust most places offer as a "breakfast". One drawback to our stay, there was a mix up from Priceline; we were suppose to stay two nights but we were reported as staying only one. The staff fixed the issue in a second and there were no problems after wards. One additional note, parking costs 17$ a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel as we were ending a very long road trip and simply needed to rest. After an unfortunate mix-up with booking through Hotwire.com, the staff here were very sympathetic to our situation and were very kind and courteous to us. We were blocked into rm 410 which is a dbl/dbl room with an awesome view of Bushnell Park and the State Capitol building. Although not very large or anything extraordinary, the room itself was impeccably clean, as was the bathroom. The a/c unit in our room was whisper quiet. I was surprised to find that despite our room being located directly across from the elevator, and our stay being over the weekend with the exciting downtown Hartford nightlife in the very near vicinity, I expected it to be a lot noisier than it was. To the contrary, our stay was relatively quiet.
The only reason I can't rate this review at the highest rating is because there was virtually no "welcome info" with points of interest, area restaurants etc in our room, nor was there a channel guide for the tv. The fan vent in our bathroom didn't work, so the mirror was very foggy long after we took our showers which was kind of a slight bummer, but nothing major. (Awesome shower heads and water pressure though. Also loved the Bath & Bodyworks "White Citrus" bath products!) We also didn't have a "Do not disturb" sign to hang outside the door.. so housekeeping sorta barged into our room while we were trying to sleep.. which actually was kinda funny. lol. Free Internet was fast and reliable. Free "REAL" (ie: bacon, eggs, sausage.. protein..yay!!) breakfast was a huge plus.
If I had to, I'd say I'd stay here again because of the very friendly, courteous and attentive staff. I'd like to give a personal thank you to Jerry Storo, who kept us in stitches lol, and to Karen and Shellyanne at check-in. Thank you so much for your warm hospitality and making my friend and I feel welcome after a long and somewhat stressful day. Peace and blessings to you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently visited Hartford, CT for the first time, meeting-up with fellow fans for a John Mayer concert at Comcast Theater.

I stayed at the Holiday Inn - Downtown Hartford on Asylum Street as it was a great location for a short walk to the heart of downtown and a variety of historical sites, such as Union Station (a working train station location), Bushnell Park (a must see!) and a variety of shops, bars & pubs.

Downtown Hartford also has a great night life scene with many different types of live entertainment for everyone!

As to the hotel, the staff was very professional, friendly and efficient at getting you checked-in quickly. My room (a king on the Priority Club floor) as very clean and tidy with room temperature just perfect. I didn't have to call the front desk or housekeeping for any needs regarding my room.

Breakfast was included every morning, but is buffet style with pre-cooked items such as scrambled eggs, sausage patties & links, toast, yogurt, fruit and a few other items to choose from. I mainly drank the coffee and orange juice due to nutritional limitiations.

The only complaint I had was around 1 am in the morning on a Friday where a nightclub across the parking lot was so loud that everything in my room was vibrating. It didn't matter how high I turned the air conditioning or the tv.... it was still there. I was informed that by law, the music had to stop at 1:45 am.... and it did. The hotel was very apologetic for the issue, but I simply understood that it was out of their control, so no fault on their end.

I'd highly recommend this hotel, especially with it located within a short walk to see a variety of sites, and for their hospitality and professionalism.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

On a recent trip to Hartford, we spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown. I didn't expect much, but upon arrival we were greeted by the very friendly staff and were assigned a room with a stunning view of the State Capitol. The room itself was an average room nothing to rave about, but the view and customer service completely made up for it.

The room is right across the street from Bushnell Park and a few blocks away from a train station and downtown Hartford (shops, restaurants, bars and other hotels).

There is free breakfast at the hotel, but parking will cost you about $18, which was a bummer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Address: 440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Hartford . Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hartford, the Insurance Capital of the World, and is easily accessed from I-91 and I-84. We are steps from the Union Station for visitors traveling via bus or train. The hotel is located directly across from Bushnell Park and features views of the Capitol Building. We are also just 14 miles from Bradley International Airport. At the Holiday Inn Express Hartford Downtown, you will find newly renovated guest rooms with all the comforts of home. You can stay connected in our modern business center or with our complimentary easy access, high-speed Internet. For the health conscious, stay in shape in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests on the go can start their day right with our complimentary Smart Start Breakfast featuring our world-famous cinnamon rolls. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel while visiting the 'Insurance Capital.' We are in walking distance to many area businesses. Guests here for leisure will be happy to know we are walking distance to the XL Center, the Bushnell Theater, Connecticut Convention Center and many award winning restaurants. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Hartford Downtown where our staff will be sure to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hartford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.