We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family was treated like special guests since we arrived. Although the beds are not comfortable and there is no pool; the other amenities were substantial. Our view of the state capital was breathtaking...the Bushnell Park being just across the street. The free city shuttle service meets behind the parking lot.

Yolanda in the breakfast area made sure my kids had what they wanted but also extra plates for the microwave in our room and an extra milk for the baby. I felt like we were visiting family. When we needed a car seat to transfer to another hotel for a conference; their driver went to her car and got one for my little one to use. The receptionists gave snacks to the kids every day and made them feel welcome versus other places that look at kids as a nuisance. The staff really went above and beyond in their service!

Room Tip: The restaurant, Hot Tomatoes across the street is wonderful! Get room 808 or 908 for a phenomenal vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
29
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WAITSFIELD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Rooms are very nice. The view from rooms facing south is exceptional because it looks right at the state capitol and park in front of it. Typically the other hotels in downtown Hartford like the Marriott or Hilton are at least $50 higher per night plus the parking is higher. If you arrive by Amtrak you are right across the street from the hotel. The only negative is that some of the train traffic can wake you up if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors facing the capitol lawn. The view is excellent. Priority Gold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location of this hotel (right next to the train station) and the low price (compared to other Hartford hotels) were what attracted me. I also liked that it had a shuttle in to businesses in town in the morning. There is free internet that worked fine in my room. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. However, there was no hot water in the morning in the shower. The comforter smelled of cigarette smoke. There was no bathroom counter (instead a pedestal sink) so that made getting ready in the morning inconvenient. My bedroom faced the parking lot and there were loud dumpster sounds that woke me randomly throughout the night. I had to wait 30 minutes to check in because there was a long line and only one person handling check ins (although there was another computer and another staffer in the office.) Also my coworkers told me the hotel was in a sketchy part of town and advised against walking back there after dinner.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room facing the park, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Second time staying here and been pleased both times. Price is reasonable for a great downtown location and had a great view of the capitol building. I came early so no rooms so I hung out in the lobby area. The staff was very attentive and brought me over my keys as soon as the next room became available. They were all very friendly behind the desk. Was charged $16 bucks for parking and I don't think I did when I came a year ago, but in the scheme of things, very cheap for any overnight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and one side of the hotel has beautiful panoramic views of the Capital building. It's very pretty. Internet service in the room was always reliable which is a big plus. But that's where the good ends. The thing that probably annoyed me the most was the heater/air in the room. They are the old fashioned loud, powerful blowers which you only have the ability to turn it warmer and cooler, so actual temp can be set. So it was really LOUD all the time if it was running. I found that using this outdated contraption, my room was either really hot or really cold if I turned it down. The rooms themselves are tiny. I had a king bed room and I barely had room to move around at all. The furniture is pretty dated and the lamps are very cheap. The lampshade on the desk lap was stained with some enormous yellow stain. The light switch as you entered the room did not control any lights that I could figure out. So when it was dark, I had to feel my way through the door when I unlocked it after dark. The bathrooms are sooo little and only have a pedastal sink, so for a woman that has a makeup bag, blow dryer, straightening iron and another bag of toiletries...it was impossible to make getting ready convenient. Something really difficult to deal with was the fact that there was only one outlet in the bathroom and it was on the back wall (behind you if you were standing in front of the sink/mirror). So your blowdryer had to be pulled from behind you to use it and if you had anything else to plug in, you have to do it out in the room itself. The lighting in the bathroom was not conducive to putting on makeup and neither was the lighting in the room itself. The continental breakfast is such low class and bare bones. There are places where hot food was supposed to go and probably previously did (like the freshly baked cinnamon rolls). Instead these areas sat empty. There were 2 choices for bread, bagels (that were kinda stale) and white bread. No muffins, no english muffins. There wasn't even one of those do it yourself belgian waffle makers that a lot of hotel's breakfast includes. No fruit at all on the first day, and only whole apples on my second morning. the plastic forks/knives were horrible quality. It just seems as though everything that they could have cut corners on, they did. I am thoroughly disappointed in the rooms, the breakfast and just about everything else. Some of the things are just plain lazy to me. Dirty lampshades, low class breakfast, cheap plates/utensils. I realize this is not a Hilton or a Marriott, but it's also not a Super 8 or Motel 6 either. Not impressed in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the capital for a nice view. Stay away from the side with the restaurant Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Many of your concerns are related to the building itself. This hotel is different from most Holiday Inn Express hotels as it is located in a downtown historic district with parks and historic buildings and dining at our doorsteps. The room sizes are slightly smaller and the view of the Capital is wonderful. The heating and air conditioning are the standard units used in most HI Express hotels however we are concerned that the particular room you stayed in may have had a problem. We address equipment issues as quickly as possible and repair to the satisfaction of our guests. The breakfast area has been revamped and supply standards put in place to ensure experiences like yours are never repeated. We strive to provide great service and ameneities at an affordable price and all comments are taken seriously. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I walked into the lobby of this hotel to make a reservation. It was about 7:00 pm. The entrance was not very bright and there was no one at the front desk. I looked around and sitting in the corner were two people (a man and woman) talking and having a good time together. When I said hello the woman came over to me and asked what I wanted. She was so unprofessional and frankly seemed to be annoyed that I had bothered her. I asked her about the rooms and she provided quick, curt answers to my questions. I told her I would think things over, and then I left.

I was shocked at such a lack of good customer service. They obviously don't care about their clients. The first impression a customer has about a hotel is the front desk, and this hotel blew it big time!! Will never recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Bev N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. It is unfortunate your interaction with the staff prevented you from completing a stay at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

having stayed in many hotels of a wide range of qualities, this falls on the high side of poor but i gave it an average rating out of fairness. front desk staff was friendly and obviously making an effort to do a good job which is appreciated. after that there is nothing good to write about. the hotel is old, dank and outdated, much like the rest of the city of hartford. my room was "non-smoking" but smelled like there were 100 wet ashtrays in the closet. there were no issues with cleanliness, just that the room was so old and used and stinky it was not a happy experience. our room phone worked but our friend's phone didn't ring at all. not a big deal but still, the phones should probably work? however, we used it only to crash after a show at the XL center and for that purpose and price it is acceptable.

Room Tip: view of the State capitol building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear beachbum393,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your kind comments about our hotel staff. I want to assure you that hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we failed to meet the quality you expect from our property. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance for us to monitor and improve our guests experience.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Address: 440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Hartford . Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hartford, the Insurance Capital of the World, and is easily accessed from I-91 and I-84. We are steps from the Union Station for visitors traveling via bus or train. The hotel is located directly across from Bushnell Park and features views of the Capitol Building. We are also just 14 miles from Bradley International Airport. At the Holiday Inn Express Hartford Downtown, you will find newly renovated guest rooms with all the comforts of home. You can stay connected in our modern business center or with our complimentary easy access, high-speed Internet. For the health conscious, stay in shape in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests on the go can start their day right with our complimentary Smart Start Breakfast featuring our world-famous cinnamon rolls. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel while visiting the 'Insurance Capital.' We are in walking distance to many area businesses. Guests here for leisure will be happy to know we are walking distance to the XL Center, the Bushnell Theater, Connecticut Convention Center and many award winning restaurants. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Hartford Downtown where our staff will be sure to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hartford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.