We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Lost My Business” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Grayson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“They Lost My Business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I walked into the lobby of this hotel to make a reservation. It was about 7:00 pm. The entrance was not very bright and there was no one at the front desk. I looked around and sitting in the corner were two people (a man and woman) talking and having a good time together. When I said hello the woman came over to me and asked what I wanted. She was so unprofessional and frankly seemed to be annoyed that I had bothered her. I asked her about the rooms and she provided quick, curt answers to my questions. I told her I would think things over, and then I left.

I was shocked at such a lack of good customer service. They obviously don't care about their clients. The first impression a customer has about a hotel is the front desk, and this hotel blew it big time!! Will never recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Bev N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. It is unfortunate your interaction with the staff prevented you from completing a stay at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    39
    15
    13
See reviews for
16
32
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Putnam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

having stayed in many hotels of a wide range of qualities, this falls on the high side of poor but i gave it an average rating out of fairness. front desk staff was friendly and obviously making an effort to do a good job which is appreciated. after that there is nothing good to write about. the hotel is old, dank and outdated, much like the rest of the city of hartford. my room was "non-smoking" but smelled like there were 100 wet ashtrays in the closet. there were no issues with cleanliness, just that the room was so old and used and stinky it was not a happy experience. our room phone worked but our friend's phone didn't ring at all. not a big deal but still, the phones should probably work? however, we used it only to crash after a show at the XL center and for that purpose and price it is acceptable.

Room Tip: view of the State capitol building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear beachbum393,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your kind comments about our hotel staff. I want to assure you that hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we failed to meet the quality you expect from our property. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance for us to monitor and improve our guests experience.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new brunswick canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here on a saturday night while attending a concert at the nearby xl center. Staff was very good in assisting me. Hotel building is very dated and room was tiny. Location is a 3 minute walk to xl center. Breakfast was not ready the next morning and we left after just having some eggs. Room was clean but in my opinion the hotel is not of holiday inn express quality. Would probably look else where next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Richard M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the building being dated and the poor breakfast experience. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Honestly the worst hotel of the past 50 I have stayed in. The front desk staff spend more time talking to the other employees than taking care of the customers. They have no decision making authority, a problem magnified by a manager and assistant manager both away for a week of training (God knows they need it). When I reported on Saturday that my phone was out of order nothing was done until, finally Tuesday when I had a tantrum. When no one bothered to clean my room one day the front desk clerk said she was sorry, but did not offer to do anything to make up for it. When there was no orange juice in the breakfast room on Sunday or Monday I asked if they might replenish it. They said "No sorry". There is no parking so you pay the parking lot close by $16 per night. I was quoted a rate of $109 per night but was charged $139. Apparently no one can do anything about that either. I could go on, but trust me when I say do not stop here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Melanie B,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Man, I have stayed in cleaner rooms, and stood in cleaner showers. Room phones seemed to be props. Still, I've seen a lot worse too. Front desk was really busy but seemed nice. I'll look elsewhere next time but won't be upset of its where I end up.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear FamousShoes,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with with the condition of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Very nice, good parking. A bit of a walk but reasonable pricing. We went on business, so it was a perfect stopover. On other hand, lots to see nearby and restaurants withing walking distance. Would use again. If wanting a quick stopover in downtown take a look.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We needed a bed for just one night to see Bruce Springsteen & this was the perfect location as it is a short, easy walk right along the street. We were with friends after the show & didn't walk back till 01.30am, which I would be wary of in a large UK city (& to be fair I was half expecting to book a taxi here) but no-one was around & it felt perfectly safe & was well lit for our 10 minute walk. We had a room on the 8th floor with a beautiful view of the Capitol building across the park.
The check in girl was lovely & offered us goodies & free parking as we are Platinum members. A bonus I hadn't expected.
We did not encounter a parking attendant but were given a docket to put in the car when we checked in. The only down side was that there weren't many spaces at 3pm on arrival & the one we did find was smelly but that's not HIE's fault if ignorant people use carparks as toilets!!
We would stay again despite that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Address: 440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Hartford . Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hartford, the Insurance Capital of the World, and is easily accessed from I-91 and I-84. We are steps from the Union Station for visitors traveling via bus or train. The hotel is located directly across from Bushnell Park and features views of the Capitol Building. We are also just 14 miles from Bradley International Airport. At the Holiday Inn Express Hartford Downtown, you will find newly renovated guest rooms with all the comforts of home. You can stay connected in our modern business center or with our complimentary easy access, high-speed Internet. For the health conscious, stay in shape in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests on the go can start their day right with our complimentary Smart Start Breakfast featuring our world-famous cinnamon rolls. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel while visiting the 'Insurance Capital.' We are in walking distance to many area businesses. Guests here for leisure will be happy to know we are walking distance to the XL Center, the Bushnell Theater, Connecticut Convention Center and many award winning restaurants. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Hartford Downtown where our staff will be sure to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hartford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.