We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, a bit of a walk downtown.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice, a bit of a walk downtown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Very nice, good parking. A bit of a walk but reasonable pricing. We went on business, so it was a perfect stopover. On other hand, lots to see nearby and restaurants withing walking distance. Would use again. If wanting a quick stopover in downtown take a look.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
15
31
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We needed a bed for just one night to see Bruce Springsteen & this was the perfect location as it is a short, easy walk right along the street. We were with friends after the show & didn't walk back till 01.30am, which I would be wary of in a large UK city (& to be fair I was half expecting to book a taxi here) but no-one was around & it felt perfectly safe & was well lit for our 10 minute walk. We had a room on the 8th floor with a beautiful view of the Capitol building across the park.
The check in girl was lovely & offered us goodies & free parking as we are Platinum members. A bonus I hadn't expected.
We did not encounter a parking attendant but were given a docket to put in the car when we checked in. The only down side was that there weren't many spaces at 3pm on arrival & the one we did find was smelly but that's not HIE's fault if ignorant people use carparks as toilets!!
We would stay again despite that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alphen aan den Rijn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with a group, the location is on walking distance of a lot of restaurants, the hotel has a great view on the Capitol Building. Breakfast is included. They also have decent sized meetingrooms. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently stayed here for a wedding that was downtown and it was acceptable. The rooms were very typical of a Holiday Inn, although a bit cramped with the two double beds. Our bathroom light was a strobe light essentially and the bathroom was not very clean. The breakfast was pretty good for a continental breakfast - bagels, cereal, hot items, yogurt and a dining room overlooking the capitol building. The breakfast staff were extremely friendly. Parking at the hotel was $16, which was a bit steep, and in my opinion should just be included in the room price instead of being asked to pay in addition.

Overall it was an okay value for an okay price.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor so you have a view of the capitol building! we were on floor 4 and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Would definitely stay there again. We had a hotel overlooking Bushmill park and it was beautiful. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was full as HIExp breakfasts are. Parking is in the back and requires a pass that must be paid for as part of the room. But that is not out of line for Hartford. Take time to walk the park and take in the art. It is a beautiful city and a great hotel. The only reason it is a 4 and not a 5 is the small bathroom which is probably because it is an older hotel building that has been updated so there was just not room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

To make this a balanced review I will start with the positives. I booked this with reward points and being a platinum member I got free parking, and a top level room with a view of the state Capitol building. This was a great view. There is also complimentary breakfast in the morning. The location is also central. Word of warning if you have complimentary parking - ignore the parking attendant. This is not owned by the holiday and even though we said we were with hotel he tried to charge us $10. He did have no teeth so maybe he is saving up. Now for the reason why I rate it as poor. I was told there would be a holding charge of $25 on my card. To cut a long story short they actually charged my card for this amount. I contacted the hotel at least twice with absolutely no reply. After a couple of weeks of lack of response I had to log a complaint with Priority Club. They ensured me that the hotel would contact me directly with 48 hours. Needless to say they didn't. This went on for several weeks even to the point where customer service couldn't get response from them. Clearly customer service is non existent. I eventually got it sorted after several weeks.
Overall recommendation: find another hotel which cares about customer service

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear ASarge77,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and for being a Platinum Member. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Hartford.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I spent one night in Downtown Hartford. Location is good as you can walk to plenty of bars and restaurants. There is also a great view of the Capitol Building. The rooms are typical Holiday Inn rooms but the beds are comfortable enough. An included breakfast is great but then neutralized by the $16 a night to park in the hotel lot. Based on my needs for a place to rest my head for the night at a reasonable rate and located downtown, this fit the bill but by no means impressed me beyond that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Address: 440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Hartford . Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hartford, the Insurance Capital of the World, and is easily accessed from I-91 and I-84. We are steps from the Union Station for visitors traveling via bus or train. The hotel is located directly across from Bushnell Park and features views of the Capitol Building. We are also just 14 miles from Bradley International Airport. At the Holiday Inn Express Hartford Downtown, you will find newly renovated guest rooms with all the comforts of home. You can stay connected in our modern business center or with our complimentary easy access, high-speed Internet. For the health conscious, stay in shape in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests on the go can start their day right with our complimentary Smart Start Breakfast featuring our world-famous cinnamon rolls. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel while visiting the 'Insurance Capital.' We are in walking distance to many area businesses. Guests here for leisure will be happy to know we are walking distance to the XL Center, the Bushnell Theater, Connecticut Convention Center and many award winning restaurants. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Hartford Downtown where our staff will be sure to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hartford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.