We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for an average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location for an average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location is convenient – at least for my purpose, it was. The hotel, however, is average. The small reception area looks modern and clean, as does the breakfast area on the second floor. The rest of the hotel is a bit dated and fairly basic.

At the rear of the hotel is a private parking lot and the hotel has arrangements with them – but will charge $16/night for it (they waived that for me on account of my platinum status with Priority Club).
The rooms are relatively small but decent. The one major gripe I had was that there were no electric sockets except one in the lamp on the desk. I looked everywhere – if there is one, it is quite well concealed! The airconditioner was fairly noisy for some reason - it didn't seem overly old, not sure what the problem was.

Bathroom was small – but functional. It had one of those shower curtains that has a type of cloth that smells of wet laundry left to dry in a bucket. It was a perpetually there and unpleasant.

Check-in was smooth and pleasant – but check-out a bit annoying. I’m standing at the reception with my bags and the key card (so it probably obvious what I’m there for) for 10 minutes – and the woman behind the counter is having a telephone conversation about some computer procedure that she didn’t understand, presumably with a colleague. I appreciate that it sounded important – but more important than even acknowledging a hotel guest with a nod or a “sorry to keep you waiting”?

Overall – it’s a decent, clean, inexpensive hotel. Works for what it is (and the location), but I’ve seen HI Express properties far exceed expectations. It’s about the effort management puts in little things that make a hotel great or ordinary. This one was decidedly ordinary.

Room Tip: Park facing - nothing different about the rooms, but the park is pleasant to look at (the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    39
    15
    13
See reviews for
16
32
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indian Head, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is good enough. It's clean, the beds are comfortable, the staff is nice. There is free breakfast although it is usually that preformed microwaveable egg stuff and some kind of very dry bisquit or French toast stick, but they also have juice, oatmeal, fruit, etc. this hotel is expensive for a holiday inn express, but it is in the middle of downtown, which is convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for work. I read the trip advisor reviews before going. I'm sad to say that they were correct. I tried to think positive and give it a good review, but it was not up to other HI express standards. The lobby was dirty, the carpet smelled and my bathroom was not very clean. I had a fabulous view of the state Capitol, but there are many ares that this hotel needs to improve including it's front desk service. The young woman working the front desk was multi-tasking while trying to fix my bill. All my colleagues were charged incorrectly for the room. While trying to fix it, the front desk clerk was very rude. I travel all the time for work and pleasure and stay in many hotels, including HI express, and this was the worst one I've ever stayed in. There was a lot of street noise, but that typically doesn't bother me, and you could hardly hear the train. There was also a lot of noise every night in the stairwell adjacent to my room. There also seemed to be a lot of people coming in and out that didn't appear to be guests at the hotel. The breakfast and housekeeping crews were friendly. was happy to leave.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear JennieHef,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations with the condition of our facilities as well as the service you received and for the issues you had with the noise. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Hartford you will give our hotel another try.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naarden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a great location to have a meeting! Awesome view of the Capitol building from the meeting room. The sales people were very nice to deal with and the location was really easy to find. Ideal to walk to a number of excellent Hartford restaurats including Vitos and Salute. I recommend both.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I arrived at this hotel in the evening and was met by very pleasant staffers. I booked thru Hotwire and got a rate of $72 tax/fees included. I'd previously been quoted a rate of $99 when I called earlier. I had no problem checking in with my hotwire reservation. The hotel did refuse to take cash for incidentals. They would only take a credit card for incidentals. I usually prefer to pay cash but gave them my credit card anyway.

I had a very uneventful evening. I awoke to a phone call from the front desk. I was asked if I was checking out or staying. I asked for an extension of 30 minutes passed the regular check out time. The staffer did not immediately agree to the extension. The first question she asked me was if I was a Priority Club Member - this is the name of their frequent rewards program. I said YES because I am a member. The staffer said my rewards number was not on the reservation. I offered to give her the number and withdrew my request for an additional 30 minutes. I left the room ON TIME. I was not late and did not check out late.

Upon arriving at the front desk, I recognized the staffers voice. I gave her my priority club membership number and I told her that I thought she was unfriendly on our phone call. She became irate and told me and I quote..."You booked through HOTWIRE so we don't have to do anything extra for you." End quote. She then turned and walked away and left me standing ALONE at the front desk. The staffer only returned when another customer approached and needed help. I stepped to the side, waited for the staffer to return to the front desk and took her photograph.

I then attached that photograph to a complaint to HOTWIRE, the owner of the hotel Intercontinental Hotel Group and sent a copy to the Asst. GM Mr. Pat Foley. Fortunately, Hotwire took the matter very seriously. Unfortunately, Mr. Foley did not. I sent him the complaint on August 30 after speaking to him by phone and giving him a heads up that the complaint was coming. He failed to acknowledge receipt of my complaint. I left two voicemails for him and I finally got a confirmation on September 6.

In the meantime, I will probably contact the GM and follow up with IHG since Mr. Foley failed to squash the issue. Hotwire went above and beyond. I would absolutely recommend reporting this "smack talking" hotel clerk to Hotwire if she allows those words to come out of her mouth again. I didn't call Hotwire to receive perks but they did impress me with their response. Now, let's see how IHG handles it. So far, so good. IHG responded to my tweet on Twitter. I think I"ve complained to over 15 of my closest friends by now.

Mr. Foley, you had a chance to bring this to a close - too bad you blew it. So the saga drags on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear 200NitesAYear,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Member and taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found our location commendable. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the staff may have caused during your stay. I will follow up with the staff to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband And I loved our one night stay. The view from our room on the 7th floor was spectacular. We were coming from an awful Econo Lodge the previous night, so we felt that we had died and gone to Heaven. Didn't like the extra charge for parking, but it wasn't a deal breaker. We would stay there again for sure. Great restaurant with Blues and Jazz music down the Street.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The staff was not friendly upon arrival they were more concerned with what they were going to wear later on that night. When I got to my room it had not been cleaned. There were empty beer bottles everywhere. I went back downstairs and they gave me a different room. Even the new room was not up to standard. I had a very busy schedule so I just kept it. The beds were old, the room smelled, the hallways and elevators did too, the bathroom was just wiped down apparently. Later on that day I spoke to others who said the same thing. The breakfast was not good and all the juice and water was gone and they did not offer more. The location is great which makes it soo sad for this hotel to be so terrible. I think with the right staff and owners this place could be amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear nallar,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review of our hotel. I am pleased to know that you liked our location. I'm sorry to see you received service from our staff that was less than satisfactory and for giving you rooms that were not cleaned. In addition, I am sorry that our breakfast was not up to your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Hartford you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown

Address: 440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Capitol Hill Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Hartford . Our hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Hartford, the Insurance Capital of the World, and is easily accessed from I-91 and I-84. We are steps from the Union Station for visitors traveling via bus or train. The hotel is located directly across from Bushnell Park and features views of the Capitol Building. We are also just 14 miles from Bradley International Airport. At the Holiday Inn Express Hartford Downtown, you will find newly renovated guest rooms with all the comforts of home. You can stay connected in our modern business center or with our complimentary easy access, high-speed Internet. For the health conscious, stay in shape in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Guests on the go can start their day right with our complimentary Smart Start Breakfast featuring our world-famous cinnamon rolls. Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel while visiting the 'Insurance Capital.' We are in walking distance to many area businesses. Guests here for leisure will be happy to know we are walking distance to the XL Center, the Bushnell Theater, Connecticut Convention Center and many award winning restaurants. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Hartford Downtown where our staff will be sure to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hartford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.