We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm to Table at it's best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firebox Restaurant

Firebox Restaurant
539 Broad St, Hartford, CT 06106-1402
860-246-1222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Firebox Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 402 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Capitol Avenue
Transit: Adjacent to city transportation routes, and within blocks of the train station.
Troy, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Farm to Table at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Any time that I travel to CT for work or visiting friends, I must eat at the Firebox Restaurant. Wether it's drinks and appetizers at the bar or a three course meal - your taste buds will be blown away. Due to it being a farm to table restaurant, the menu changes to whatever foods are in season. If you a person that likes to eat the same boring meals at the chain restaurant, then Firebox is not the restaurant for you.

If I had to pick a favorite dish to review, it would have to be the pan seared scallops. The scallops are by far the most delicious and perfectly cooked!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    44
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“great menu and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

An excellent find in Hartford. The atmosphere captures the old firehouse,and the menu selections are wonderful. This is a place to go with friends so you can sample around on the dishes. Also, a reasonable wine selection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth Trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food,a little pricey for the portion. I ordered the short ribs, they were very good but could've been offered more for the $35 price tag. The only other complaint is the $6 valet parking. You can park on the street if there's a space. Overall worth trying especially in a city that lacks great food establishments.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Farm to table - and so much more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have eaten at Firebox a few times, and have yet to have a bad meal there. As much as possible, ingredients are sourced from local farmers, which they then build the menu around. With this week being the annual Taste of Hartford week, there was a prix fixe (fixed price) three course menu for $28.13 (usually at other restaurants, it is $20.13). I took the prix fixe and was not disappointed.

First course was a corn bisque with aoli oil and jalapeno. The jalapeno heat was barely discernible (a good thing, even though I love spicy hot foods) and the body of the bisque was perfectly balanced.

Main course consisted of duck ravioli in a mild cream sauce and bitter greens The greens balanced out the richness of the duck perfectly, while the cream sauce was neutral. The duck's flavors did not come out as much as I would have liked; it was also a bit salty. I woiuld have liked to have had something to bring out the dish better, be it (spicy) heat, cilantro or fresh basil.

Dessert was a thin sponge cake topped with blueberries and a strawberry drizzle over it; a little too sweet, but very delectable.

One of my companions had the grilled salmon, and it was perfectly done - well chargrilled with the smoky, firm flavor shining through. Overcooking salmon is extremely easy to do, but that was definitely not the case here.

Service was excellent and prompt, however we never felt rushed or had to wait for wait staff to take care of us.

Drinks were excellent; the bill (three prix fixes and drinks) came up to just about $150. As much as I needled the dishes served, this was well worth the money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Thought we'd give Firebox a try before a show at the Bushnell. It was an amazing meal. The sea scallops with quinoa were perfectly done. I had chickpea gnochhi (what?!) which were amazing! Most everything on the menu is local so it's fresh, and they have good wine selections. This could easily be a restaurant you would find in New York City. Well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebox Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Firebox Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firebox Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.