We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Late Lunch before a concert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Half Door

The Half Door
270 Sisson Ave, Hartford, CT 06105-3136
860-232-7827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 408 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Shelton, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Late Lunch before a concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a place for a late meal before the Chicago/Doobie Bros. concert at the Comcast and did not want to hassle with downtown Hartford. We choose the Half Door because it sounded appealing and offered the kind of meal we wanted. We arrived just after 3 or so on sunday and were pleased with the comfortable surroundings. It must have been a change of shift for the servers, so it was a short time before we were approached so we chose our table. The server (Amy) was very pleasant. My wife had the burger with mushrooms and I had the meatloaf on the rustic bread. Yes... the meatloaf was as great as other reviewers stated. Food was served quickly and was hot and fresh. By the time we left, the place was filling up with early diners. Great place for good food. Also the beer selection is huge.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We really enjoyed the restaurant, both its food and pub atmosphere. The menu is extensive, good for meat eaters and vegetarians. The prices were good, as was the service. If you are visiting the Mark Twain House, make this your lunch stop (parking is limited on the street).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

one of my fave irish pubs outside of Ireland in the Hartford area. The beer selections are great, and there are many opportunities to experience live music through the year. parking is limited.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great bar scene but not for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Made mistake of getting off highway for this place---would suggest it for its extensive beer list, but for a place to take hungry kids, not appropriate.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, RI
1 review
“Nice value, good beer, great food and a Stellar Waitress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We were in town for a collegiate Acapella competition nearby and hit the web to find a nearby dinner location. We were very lucky. Waitress Kathleen was fantastic and took very good care of us. On-line reviews suggested the fish n' chips and she suggested the Mac n' Cheese special. We split both meals and both loved everything. Will be a mandatory stop when we are in the Hartford area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Half Door also viewed

 

Been to The Half Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Half Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.