We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Place to Stay!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   338 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now, save 15%
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Connecticut
1 review
“Awful Place to Stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I would not ever recommend this hotel!! The staff is extremely unhelpful and it was horribly loud at night!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    53
    33
    11
    14
See reviews for
36
29
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

I'm writing this review from my fifth floor room at the Homewood Suites Downtown Hartford...and all I can hear right now is loud bar music and people yelling. My room's not facing the street...but it is facing the bar next door.

The neighborhood is pretty creepy, too--which is surprising considering how small and vacant Hartford originally was when I arrived around 3pm--as I was hit up for cash by two different street creepers on the 2 block walk back from the XL Center. (And I think the second man--who claimed in a perfect American accent that he had just moved here from Jamaica--was possibly hitting on me...?! Uh, yeah--and I'm a guy too. Good times...)

All that to say, the room was huge and very clean and new--they include free coffee, tea, AND popcorn. Two TVs, two bathrooms--one person. And randomly--there was a toaster...but where to buy bread??? I tried searching online (via their free hotel wifi) for a 24 hour grocery store, but came up empty handed.

So great hotel--but ONLY if you could move it somewhere else. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beantown, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed at the Homewood Suites in Hartford last night (8/2). The front desk staff was outstanding and very helpful. The room was big and very clean. The breakfast food was good. The location can't be beat -- 2 blocks from the XL Center and a number of restaurants. Two complaints: The parking was $16 and it got extremely loud outside our room overlooking the street between midnight and 2am (bar crowd). I did not get to sleep until 2:30a. My kids were already asleep in a quieter part of the suite, or I would have requested a move. I don't know if this occurs on nights other than Saturdays.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

Front desk staff was great. Room was clean, spacious and obviously very new. Nice view and was quiet even though we seemed to be in the middle of it all downtown. Forgot items in room and housekeeping promptly called back and shipped back to us. Great music and BBQ right next door too. Just wish breakfast ran a little later but staff recommended a great breakfast place right down the street. Yes parking was $16 but was right next to the back door and steps from the elevator.

  • Liked — Large suite with plenty of space
  • Disliked — Lots of keycard doors but guess that also made it very safe
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Its very expensive to stay in Downtown Hartford on business, so this is a welcomed alternative to the Holiday Inn Express just down the street. This is a recently renovated Hotel and still seems fresh and clean. The breakfast was much better than your usual breakfast and the lady that staffed the breakfast during my stay was extremely friendly and welcoming. The desk staff were all VERY friendly and greeted me by name on occasion! The room is large and even has a kitchenette. I was on a third floor room with a direct view of a bar full full of neon beer lights. The music/band was loud from 10:30 til 1-2am, but I slept through it. a co-worker of mine in the room next door did not sleep as well. I am confident that we could have asked to be moved, but honestly I did not find it too much of an issue to warrant repacking. I stayed for 3 nights and the entire stay was above average. I am a member of Hilton Honors and only received a newspaper one out of the three mornings, so they could tighten up in this area. I will be back!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

It was ok. Clean, nice, and spacious room layout but hotel was a little quiet and somewhat understaffed at night. 2 blocks down the road from the Hilton. Several restaurants within walking distance and a 5 minute drive to many companies. If I were travelling alone, I would prefer to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Homewood Suites took the old Bond Hotel building and completely renovated it. It has the signature style of a Homewood Suites, and the staff was great. We stayed for First Night Hartford on Dec 31, 2007. Rooms have views of Bushnell Park, and the hotel is steps away from great restaurants and bars. The outdoor parking is adajacent to the hotel, easy in and out. Check-in before you park to get your hotel parking pass. The 1 bedroom (king bed) suite is a bit smaller than some other Homewood Suites we've stayed in, but nicely decorated. The pull-out coach was actually better than most we've slept on. So much better than a hotel room when you are traveling with kids. The free breakfast buffet is always a hit with my family.

  • Liked — Close proximity to Bushnell Park, Nice public spaces and the rooms were great
  • Disliked — Can't comment
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Address: 338 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our close proximity to the action of downtown Hartford, as well as the ease of traveling to Bradley International Airport, which is only 15 minutes away. We have all the comforts of home for your stay in Hartford, and our property is within walking distance to museums, nightlife and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Homewood Hartford
Hartford Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.