We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a 3.5” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   338 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
NYC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“More of a 3.5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nothing especially wrong with this hotel, but it's a bit odd and dated feeling.
PROS
- Our room was somehow a two bedroom suite. A good size and well appointed kitchen.
- Location: located downtown a block from the train and other venues.
- Clean and quiet (we had no bar issues) and generally a fine place to sleep.

CONS
- Kind of a strangely laid out hotel. Elevators are on the other side of the building from the front desk.
- Clean, but a bit dated. Carpets in some of the common areas are ragged looking.
- The room was clean, but also a bit dated looking.
- The area near the dining room is near the loading dock and kitchen area and is a bit stinky.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    63
    44
    16
    16
See reviews for
46
36
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room on the 3rd floor was very clean and very spacious!!!! However, the noise from the bar next door was too much to allow a good night's sleep. There was lots of yelling, music, lots of bar noise. At 12:45am I called the front desk for assistance and the noise did quiet.
We asked for a 6:30am wake up call that never came!!!
All though the room was clean and spacious, very overpriced!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the other side of the hotel if you choose their high prices you should be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for three nights for the Hartford Marathon. We found the staff very friendly and welcoming. We were pleased with the light dinner and drinks provided on Thursday night when we arrived and breakfasts in the morning. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The location was excellent; we were able to walk to a number of restaurants and we were very close to the race start and finish. As the other reviewers have noted, there was some noise in the evenings but it was not felt to be excessive on the nights that we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, mi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel sleeping suites clean and spacious. Price OK. Noise on certain nights (wed in particular) is a real problem. The hotel staff are very aware of the problem and just smile and tell you the hotel is sold out (every night). The noise is worst on the room numbers on each floor ending in 10. The bar next door has an outside deck on the 2nd floor with music and for patrons wanting to smoke.
Wed night is $1 beer night and the very loud noise didn't stop until after 2:30 am.
So even though the room was large and clean and the price ok (if it was not for the noise) I will never stay in this hotel again. In case you are wondering about the positive reviews, they are from folks that had the good fortune to have a room on "the other side" of the hotel away form the noise.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that does not face the street or the bar next door. Everyone makes the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us in Hartford. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and using your comments to improve our guest’s experience. I understand that the noise from neighboring businesses and nightlife was an issue during your time with us. We know how important a good night’s rest is while traveling and we are working on a solution to the outside disturbances. I do hope the next time you return to the area you will consider staying with us again so that we may show you the quality experience you expect and deserve.

Thank you,

Jeff Bierly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was perfect! We booked because we were going to a wedding at the bond ballroom (top floor of the hotel), and we were not disappointed! The room was HUGE (we booked a one bedroom suite), with every amenity one could possibly imagine. The rooms were exceptionally clean, and the bed was quite comfy. The breakfast in the morning was much more than I ever expected, with hot foods, cold foods, fresh waffles, bagels, you name it!! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Love the location, close to restaurants and great fall walking area around the State Capitol. Perfect to stay near the Bushnell when you want to relax and not have a late night home after a show. Good value. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The Suite was big, bedroom almost too big, the office/kitchen a bit cramped but overall fine. The room was clean. The biggest problem for me was the noise. There is a night club or something next door, very loud music late into the night, also my refrigerator seemed to squeel at times.

They do have a service where they will run to the store for you, very convenient but they did totall y mess up one item that I was very specific (needed an antacid received a expired allergy medicine instead. Staff is friendly. I would stay there again but ask to be put on the other end of the building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Address: 338 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our close proximity to the action of downtown Hartford, as well as the ease of traveling to Bradley International Airport, which is only 15 minutes away. We have all the comforts of home for your stay in Hartford, and our property is within walking distance to museums, nightlife and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Homewood Hartford
Hartford Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.