We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trumbull Kitchen

Trumbull Kitchen
150 Trumbull St, Hartford, CT 06103
(860) 493-7412
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trumbull Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 402 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pearl Street
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We all ate here for dinner prior to the Dave Matthews Band show on 6/8. We sat at the bar, and the cocktails and food were very good. Our favorite was the Grilled Filet Mignon, it was served on a skewer with a truffle tater tot. Small portions, but it was always served perfectly medium rare! we also tried the Roasted shallot and garlic fondue (OK) Chicken Asian lettuce cups (pretty good) and the spinach and artichoke dip (good)
For dinner, we had the mozzarella and pepperoni stone pie (quite good!) and the Grilled angus burger (excellent!)
The bartender, Megan, did an awesome job with the lemon drops, so I'd recommend them! The bar did seem to get super busy and a little overwhelmed, I don't know if they were short staffed, but the service was still good.
Next time we are in Hartford, we'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    78
    31
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went here on a Sunday night, made reservations, it was not too busy .The service was not the best, waited a while for our waitress to come over. The food was good, but due to the sub-par service, the experience was not as enjoyable as hoped.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg SA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced and slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have been there a few times now for lunch and service always seems to be slow, even when they not busy. Food is average and over priced compared to other competing restaurants. There is a outdoor seating area which is nice. Have not been there at night so not sure what the service is like during dinner service. NIce place for small business meetings/lunch/drinks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The food was interesting but a bit expensive and service was slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

At first glance, I would have given this place a higher rating but I have to say that at the end of the day, the food wasn't as good as it should have been for the price and the service was really slow. We ordered the lettuce leaf appetizer, two orders of vegetarian pad thai and the cobb salad. We waited and waited for the food. The lettuce appetizer was good. The pad thai was only ok and the cobb salad was a cobb salad, which wasn't surprising. The real issue that sent it over the edge was the service. It was really slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consistently awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend their shrimp fritters, which are superb! Simply unparalleled goodness! Their atmosphere is without equal in the capital region, and their service is quite good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trumbull Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Trumbull Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trumbull Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.