We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot For Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vito's By the Park

Vito's By the Park
26 Trumbull St, Hartford, CT 06103-2404
(860) 244-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vito's By the Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 363 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Dessert, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wells St.
East Coast
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice Spot For Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is a plus and a minus! If seated by the windows, or on the small exterior seating area, great. Otherwise, the lack of parking makes it less desirable. Food is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    24
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford CT
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great new look, updated, good food, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had not been to Vito's in a while, and had lunch recently. I noticed immediately some re-furbishing that has been done. Definitely an improvement! It's now cleaner, brighter, has some booths, a re-designed area for casual dining without waitstaff. Service was outstanding, was in and out for lunch in less than 40 minutes. Sat inside, but outdoor seating is also available. Decent menu, nothing out of the ordinary, they do a nice job. Nice location, nice view of the park across the street. I had a salad, they did a nice job. I'd recommend for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've eaten there plenty of times, and always a great experience. The raw bar is one of the better ones you'll find in the area, the patio is great in the summer, and even when "shooting from the hip" on the wine selection, I've never been disappointed. Only downside is it can get kind of hectic on a nice day when the patio is open, or when there is an event at the Bushnell or certain events at the XL Center (or whatever its going by these days). If you want a nice dining experience, I'd suggest just avoid those times.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, CT
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“On the edge of the park with nice views with a decent Happy Hour !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Came to Vito's by the park with a friend to enjoy some apps at the bar. My friend ordered the Girl Scout Thin Mint martini which was good but also very sweet, I had a glass of wine Sav. Blanc. We were excited to see that since we were there on a Tuesday for half price raw bar, we order a dozen raw oysters to share and they had 3 different types, served with lemon and cocktail sauce, they were so good that we ordered a dozen more. After the Oysters we had the mussels that were also half price, part of happy hour, they came in a bowl with a spicy red sauce and were delish. Then we shared there calamari app which comes sauteed with capers, onions, tomatoes and white wine with lemon this was good but needed salt and something else....Then we ordered an app off the dinner menu called :FIOCCHI Four Cheese & Pears. Spicy Cream Sauce, this was a very rich but very spicy and tasty choice. The last app. we ordered was the Tuna lollipops, wasn't really a lollipop more of a fish on a stick. The teriyaki flavoring was overpowering and the salad underneath was also too spicy. Overall it was a good experience. I would probably try an entree next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Would try other places”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We were there for a party and they seemed overwhelmed. It took for the food to come out and when it did it was just average. The pizza was bland. It was extremely loud in there and there was lines for the bathroom (1 mens 1 women's for a large place). When you pull up it looks like they have valet but they don't. Hartford must have better places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vito's By the Park also viewed

 

Been to Vito's By the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vito's By the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.