We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Korean food in Hartford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiban Japanese & Korean

Ichiban Japanese & Korean
530 Farmington Ave, Hartford, CT 06105-3108
(860) 236-5599
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 402 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Killingworth, CT
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Korean food in Hartford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised to find such good Korean food in the middle of Connecticut, and in a place that bills itself as Japanese as well. The kimchi pancake (not on the menu, but they will make it if you ask) was maybe the most delicious I've ever eaten--not too greasy, incredibly flavorful. The stone bowl bibimbap was delicious and the beef bulgogi was marinated beautifully. The ban chan selection was not huge (six dishes) but excellent. All in all this was a terrific Korean meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Suppose your wife doesn't like sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I don't have to suppose because my wife doesn't. At Ichiban she can have a hot Korean dinner while I have sushi. Marital conflict averted. Both Japan and Korean are creditably represented here by well-prepared dishes. Good service. Pleasant decor. (Both of my locally based sons like sushi and we regularly chose Ichiban when we meet for lunch.)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really good sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I loved the service and the best sushi, the drinks were really delish, but i had a hard time using the chopsticks

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Korean food in Hartford!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Was in Hartford helping a friend settle into college. Looked for some good Asian food and found Ichiban. The name threw me off a bit as it sounds like some cheesy Chinese takeout that serves sushi. Most of the dinner guests were Asian, which tld me this place is pretty authentic. The plave turns out to be a fairly decent Korean restaurant with traditional fare as well as a sushi bar. No, I wouldn't come here just for the sushi -- it's there more for Korean raw fish dishes like Hwe Dup Bap. We ordered a regular sushi dinner as appetizer -- not bad but nothing special. Also got the Yook Gae Jang (beef and scallion soup) and it was delicious. The bulgogi was good, but not mind-blowing. They did make a pretty delicious Gop Dol Bibimbap (beef, veggies and rice and in heated stone pot.) Good balance of ingredients. The banchan was okay. Service was okay. Polite wait staff. Not the best Korean I've eaten, but not bad at all. I had a very satisfying meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is clean and the wait staff is super friendly. The yakiitori was yummy but the sukiyaki was good not great. Sorry, nothing beats my mom's sukiyaki! Overall a very nice experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese & Korean also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban Japanese & Korean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiban Japanese & Korean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.