We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiban Japanese & Korean

Ichiban Japanese & Korean
530 Farmington Ave, Hartford, CT 06105-3108
(860) 236-5599
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 402 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

When we want great fusion we go to Iciban. They have great sushi and great Korean food. Scallion pancake is great and the beef negamaki is to die for. We have been going here for almost 20 years and have never been disappointed. Ask for Grace she's the best!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good sushi for Korean restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I am Japanese and think this place if pretty good for sushi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Korean Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Awesome Korean Food. The main dishes are served with salad or miso soup and come with 5 side dishes (spinach, potatoes, kimchi, cod fish, and radishes. If you're looking for suggestions - a fabulous appetizer is beef wrapped scallions. And they're bibimbap is amazing!! They also have Japanese food and a sushi bar. The service is great and the decor is beautiful. Definitely worth a trip!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good Korean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

The Korean is pretty good;sushi is good. Nice atmosphere. Worth a try.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wow! Would definitely eat here again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Ate here two nights ago after wandering around a few other restaurants to find something good. I'd never had Korean food before this experience, but would definitely eat it again after this experience! The food was incredibly good. I had the jam pong and highly recommend it. Come hungry, though--the serving was huge. After sharing with my husband and father, I still had enough leftovers for two more big lunches. Their dishes (can't remember what they were called) were also excellent, though not quite as big.

The appetizer we tried (fried cod) was great, and we enjoyed sampling side dishes such as fried eggplant, dried fish, kim chee, and more. After the meal, our server brought us sliced oranges and cantaloupe, I assume as a dessert.

The service was excellent. Very attentive, patient, knowledgeable staff. We had a lot of questions and our server was willing to stick around and answer all of them and give recommendations. The chefs were also willing to take a moment from their work so we could get a picture with them.

The restaurant itself is nice, though the atmosphere isn't anything out of the ordinary. But who cares about atmosphere when you're busy eating food this good?

I highly recommend this restaurant. My only regret is that we were only visiting the city that afternoon and won't be back in the foreseeable future. Otherwise we'd be regular customers. Hartford area residents, I envy you!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese & Korean also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban Japanese & Korean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiban Japanese & Korean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.