We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A high end hotel that skimps on the PILLOWS??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hartford Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hartford Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Hartford Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indiana
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A high end hotel that skimps on the PILLOWS??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for a conference. On plus side, attentive and professional staff, coffee maker in room, and plenty of hangers. On negative side, expensive parking and three half-sized and very hard pillows on my king bed. This is a high-end hotel and they skimp on the PILLOWS? They gave me a neck ache and I didn't sleep well.

Room Tip: Do ask for a quiet room if that matters to you, as the hotel overlooks I-91.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our staff and service levels as well as the in-room amenities. As for the parking rates, our parking garage is owned by the state of Connecticut and operated by a third-party vendor, which unfortunately does not give us any flexibility with the rate charged. We will also be replacing our entire inventory of pillows in January, due to a change in our Marriott brand standards, and we hope that you will give us your feedback should you have the occasion to be back in our area. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences, as this information is invaluable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    138
    42
    11
    7
See reviews for
45
53
22
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Hartford Marriott Downtown is my preferred hotel to stay in Hartford. Convenient location with all major businesses in downtown at 5 min driving distance. Great amenities, easily the best hotel in Hartford.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel Good. The staff was excellent. The front desk, bell concierge all went out of their way when I had request though my stay. Very convenient for attending a convention at the City Convention Center next door. Several historic locations as well as bars and restaurants within walking distance as well.

Room Tip: Do not accept 4th floor Handicapped Accessible room unless you need the accessibility and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erving
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I had a delightful stay to attend a conference at the adjacent convention center. Sparkling clean, comfortable room, very quiet. So easy off of I-91,and easy walk to restaurants and downtown. A busy Starbucks for morning coffee, a delicious meal at Vito. Friendly, helpful staff. The only negative was the expensive parking, otherwise a perfect stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel was what you’d expect from a typical Marriott. It was in a good, safe location in downtown Hartford right off I-91 and was within walking distance to the XL Center. I believe they also had a shuttle that went to various downtown locations. The parking was outrageous at $19.95/night, but that’s what you get with downtown hotels. The garage was basically attached to the hotel and was run by a third party, but never felt unsafe.

Our room was on the back side of the hotel, so the view was of the roof with smoke coming out of pipes. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. There was a desk with smaller desk underneath it that pulled out, which was perfect for Beirut/Beer Pong. The alarm clock had an Aux line-in to plug in mp3 players, which was convenient. A refrigerator would have been nice, but the ice machine worked just fine. The bathroom was a decent size with some basic amenities and a big, clean shower. I didn't spend enough time at the hotel to experience everything it had to offer, but I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I recently stayed here as part of a convention I was working. I have to say it was a wonderful time. I actually didn't leave the hotel or the convention center for nearly four days but didn't feel cramped. The room was great. Decent sized, but with a good view. Plus it was adjacent to the convention which made things very easy.
the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Spent a lot of time eating at their restaurant Vivo. They have a night club as well, but it was too loud for me. The bar at Vivo was more my speed and the bartender John really made me feel welcome. He was there every day and remembered my name and my order. The food was great. Took a little time because it was so full, but worth the wait.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is right off the highway. It is also conveniently located near shops and restaurants downtown. There's a promenade walkway next to it and a movie theater across the street. There are views of the river from the upper floors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hartford
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartford Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.