We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for conferences!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hartford Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hartford Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location for conferences!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Quick and easy parking. Right near the highway for easy access no matter where you are coming from in ct. Food was very good for buffet foods. The hotel was very clean and seemly run very well. All in all a very good experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    105
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
41
22
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baiting Hollow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I travel about a half dozen times a year for work, but this time I was in Hartford with a friend for 2 nights of Concerts, June 7-9.

The hotel is nicely located, right next to the Convention Center and the Science Center. A short distance from the XL Center and Comcast Theater as well.

Check in was very quick, Kristen has a lovely smile and is very warm and welcoming!!! My request for a high floor was nicely accommodated, with a room on the 18th which had a very nice view of the River.

Lobby was very big and clean, comfortable areas to sit and relax, Starbucks right in the lobby as well as a bar, though I did not have a chance to visit that. The elevators were quite dark, and the key card access, though understandable, didn't once work smoothly.

Guest hallways are nicely appointed and very clean, typical Marriott fashion. Room was very fresh and clean, my only complaint was that the bathroom was VERY small. You had to shuffle around to get the door closed after you went in. Not a deal breaker, just a minor inconvenience.

A refrigerator is not standard in the rooms, but when i called they had one to my room less than 15 minutes later!! And it was already cold to boot, very nice touch. A request for a roll away on the second night was fulfilled just as quickly as well.

On Saturday night there was a Wedding and a Gala Ball complete with a Red Carpet in the Lobby and Cookie Monster taking pictures!!!! Thankfully the lobby was plenty big to accommodate everyone and I didn't experience any noise problems.

Overall a great experience and this Marriott did not dis-appoint.

P.S. If Management is reading this, please pass on some respect to the night Security Guard on Sat June 8th. He was presented with a very unique situation when a band member showed up un-announced for a gathering with fans outside the parking garage and i must say he handled it very well!!!!!

Room Tip: High floors on the East side offer excellent views of the river and the CT landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here in November for 3 nights. It was a nice stay, our room was comfortable and clean. However, the website for this hotel is in need of an update, The spa listed on the website is different from the spa currently at the Marriott, and thus has different packages and prices. Something we did not discover until arrival. Also the "Crush" bar has the same food as Vivo, the restaurant .Upon recent inspection, it looks as though some of these changes have finally been made to the website, however, I would call to double check spa prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for sending in a review to TripAdvisor. It appears your posting is several months past the date of your last stay, and we have made many changes to our websites since then. Our spa, Glo by Prossage, had been in transition of creating a new website. We welcome the feedback and are happy to know that the websites are being utilized and serving our guests. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a typical Marriott, the property is nice, modern and well kept and the rooms are a good size and decorated like most other Marriotts.
Like all Marriotts the bed is the best asset - it ensures a good night rest. The only thing I find extremely annoying is that they pretty much bully you into Valet parking, which I absolutely hate. Granted there is a self-park option but they don't make it easy on you to use it.

The location is downtown and is within walking distance of a movie theatre and many insurance companies - but then again I imagine that in Hartford anywhere would be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for sending in a review to TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoy our Marriott beds. Although we don’t have management rights of the parking garage, we do work together with the garage to provide services to our customers. We appreciate your comments and welcome any additional feedback or suggestions you may have to make these services easier for our guests. We would be more than happy to share these comments with the managers of the garage. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We won an overnight stay at this hotel and lucky us. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location if traveling to Hartford. We wouldn't be vacationing here but if someone has to be here on business then this is the place to be. It is connected to the Convention Center, has a fantastic restaurant named Vivo and a beautiful lounge/breakfast area with a Starbucks. The bed was very comfortable and has nice Bath and Body Works amenities. The bathroom is small but super clean with soft fluffy towels and a nice hand held mirror too. Thank you so much Marriott. Your front desk staff was fantastic too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us and the TripAdvisor community. I am very happy to hear you of the specifics you enjoyed during your stay. I am glad you made time to have a meal at our award-winning Vivo Seasonal Trattoria. We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Hartford. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

So much to say, that I need to summarize or I will go on for ever. Ali, Lourdes, Mary and everyone on staff made my year feel like I was with family. The restaurant food was superb, night after night. Each room I stayed in was immaculate and comfortable. The staff is what made this probably the best hotel I have stayed at in the last 5 years; every person from the bellman to the desk staff to room service to the restaurant were the nicest, most professional and happiest group of individuals I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: Register for Marriott Rewards. You get even extra special treatment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! I will certainly share your comments with the entire team. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for sharing your comments about the Hartford Marriott Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Only stayed for a quick overnight trip to UConn, but I loved the hotel. It was clean and decorated nicely, the room and shower were clean too. There's a starbucks downstairs, and a movie theater across the street (the sign said you can get a bar drink and bring it into the movies). It's also close to the convention center and science center. One drawback, the beds were kinda hard.

Room Tip: On Saturday nights, there is music in the bar/club, it was a little loud in the lobby but couldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review with the Tripadvisor community. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed our prime location in downtown Hartford. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Hartford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartford Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.