We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, a little lonely on weekends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hartford Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hartford Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Hartford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, a little lonely on weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We really liked this hotel. Pool is chilly but magnificent on top floor, nice hot tub/whirlpool if pool is too cold for you. They gave us an extra bed without a fuss, and a nice room upgrade to corner. The views were cool too. We got a great AAA rate, dont forget to use that and save. My kids feel like they are in luxury! Very quiet too. Overall nice weekend getaway, and very proper business type setting (adjacent to convention center). Wish they had free parking though.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor - We enjoy hearing from our guests as the reviews help us to continuously improve. We really appreciate the kind words and we’re glad we were able to make your weekend getaway more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    111
    40
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
44
22
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very conveniently located next the convention center and science center. also easy to access highways, with entrance to 84W and 91N (? i think) right outside parking garage.
The property was very clean and sparkling; the rooms are of reasonable size, but the bathroom door was very big for the bathroom, hence, you can't clear the door if you are standing in front of the toilet - just have to step around it. The beds were very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast next morning was very nice with many fresh cut fruits, hot and cold cereal, selection of hot foods and can request made to order omelets. the service was very good. we really like the high table we had. the decor in the restaurant was very nice and comfortable. The hotel front desk has staff coming into the restaurant that morning to manage the large crowds in the restaurant - nice to see that the staff was on top of things and prompt in resolving the long wait issue at the restaurant (due to a fully booked night from weddings). highly recommend this property and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We heard dinner at the Vivo was excellent too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review with the Trip Advisor community. We strive very hard to ensure that all of guests will leave having had a great experience and recommend us to others and we are so pleased that we met your expectations. Thank you for recommending us and please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Marriott is an attractive and clean hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean. I thought that the service was very good and any issues I had were quickly resolved. The access to the convention center next door, the riverfront park and the overhead walkway system was excellent.

The wireless internet was not acceptable but the internet was fine when you plugged in (the hotel provided me with a cable for my laptop to plug in). The key card system in the elevators could be improved as it was very unpredictable. But I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you found the hotel clean, comfortable and convenient. We are in the process of upgrading our wireless internet service, so that this should not be a problem in the future. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Downtown Hartford for a wedding from April 5-7th. There does not appear to be much to do in Hartford but the Marriott was within walking distance of the City Steam Brewery and a few other fun dining and drinking establishments.

Overall: Like many hotels attached to convention centers, it doesn't appear that it tries to hard to be anything but ordinary since it will always have a steady stream of customers regardless of its accommodations or service.

Parking: The parking garage is a nightmare. An absolute nightmare. During convention center hours and business hours (the garage rents spaces on a monthly basis) it was very difficult to find parking. The garage in not easily labeled and difficult to navigate. However, $19 a night does not seem unreasonable to me. It is less than other major cities.

Food: There is a Starbucks with a nice lounge area but it is too small. There is a restaurant Vino with a very small bar. The food is edible and okay - nothing spectacular. There is another bar called Crush that opens in the evening with a loud DJ and club-like atmosphere. I understand it is common to have these type of goofy hotel clubs in hotels but I wish the Marriott offered another less cheesy option for people who just wanted to enjoy a nightcap with friends. It was nice that there was late night option for wedding guests to catch up after the rehearsal dinner and wedding but I am sure a sports pub would do fine as well.

Rooms: The rooms are an appropriate size for a city hotel but they don't properly utilize the space. I think it is because the rooms are so outdated - The furniture, carpeting, drapes and fixtures are very old. The lighting is bad - You have to light each lamp in the room individually to get a bit of light. There is no plug on the base of the nightstand lamps which is annoying when you want to plug in your phone near your bed. There is no mini-fridge. There are no robes. Water pressure is so-so. Bedding is average/acceptable but nothing I would call nice. The walls are very thin - you can hear everything.

There is a safe and coffee maker in the armoire. Ample closet space.

Service: Again, the fact that they have a steady stream of business allows them to pretty much cut corners on the service aspects. The hotel is terrible with organizing wedding blocks. I heard so many of the guests complaining (saying block was full when it was not, refusing to allow people to reserve double or king rooms specifically, etc...). The women upon check in was nice but they forgot to give us our out of town boxes. The bartender at Vino was nice but easily overwhelmed. Housekeeping was subpar.

Overall, the hotel is a reasonably priced option in Hartford. Just don't expect anything exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for providing comments on your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that you felt we were mediocre in our service levels.As we are currently the only AAA 4-Diamond hotel in the city, we work hard to retain that status and want our guests to think of us as the only place they want to stay while they are in the city. We apologize that we failed to leave you with that impression. We also are disappointed that you only found the restaurant food ‘okay’. We strive to make every dining experience extraordinary. We hope to see you again to not only meet your expectations but exceed them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I am here for a convention for three nights and the staff has been stellar! My king room is clean, spacious, and everything in the bathroom works. The accompanying toiletries are wonderful and plentiful. There is a coffee maker, safe, luggage rack spacious closet and many many pillows! It is a very secure hotel. Although one might think it is an inconvenience, the key card to access the elevator is a very good security measure. Having stayed at a NON Marriott hotel up the road where the desk couldn't be bothered to have security nor check on me when some men were trying to break into my room, this is a hotel where the desk staff is ultra-knowledgeable. They are definitely "the smartest guy in the room" regarding their hotel and will solve any concerns promptly. Everything has exceeded my expectations and I would never stay anywhere else when visiting Hartford.

Room Tip: I was on the non-river side, and enjoyed the afternoon sun rather than the sun streaming in my windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for providing comments on your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and that we exceeded your expectations. Nothing could make us happier to hear! We hope to see you again soon and thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was very impressed with our exceptionally clean room. The rooms are normal size. The first night was very quiet; however, our second night we had noise from the hallway and room next to us. The hotel is located adjacent to the CT Convention Center in downtown. Check in was very easy - we were able to pull into a small drop off area to unload our luggage onto a cart, take the cart to our room and then move our car to the parking garage. Parking fees are a bit high - $19.00/day. There is a Star Shuttle bus service that loads in the rear of the hotel that will take you all around downtown Hartford. The front desk staff was somewhat inconsistent in their ability to provide information - some knew more about the area than others. There is a nice indoor pool and work out area on the 22nd floor with a great view of the city. My biggest complaints would be there are no mini refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms and there are minimal services in the hotel. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and a few sundry items in a small area off the lobby. Room service rates are very high and the on site restaurant is upscale. We like to just eat cereal in the room for breakfast and finding a store nearby to buy milk was a bit of a challenge but we did locate a CVS drugstore that sold milk. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Hartford.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your review on Trip Advisor. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do have mini fridges available upon request so please don’t hesitate to ask for one the next time you’re staying with us. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It has the best restaurant of a hotel chain I have ever been to and the Crush bar is excellent.

Being in the downtown area of Hartford, there is not much to see around the hotel.

Great service and rooms as you would expect from Marriott. I have been twice and just as good both times.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences with other travelers on TripAdvisor! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, our restaurant-Vivo Seasonal Trattoria, and Crush Lounge. We are very proud of the awards that Vivo has won for its outstanding food and I’m very happy to hear you got to experience several great meals first-hand. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartford Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.