We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hartford Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hartford Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Hartford Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect for our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a volleyball tournament at the adjacent Convention Center. The hotel was much nicer than we expected, for a "shower curtain" hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and updated. We had to "host" a breakfast in our room for the team and it was nice that the desk pulled out to add extra surface space. The extra bed was waiting for us in the room and the staff was very accomodating, especially when the request for a refrigerator was not met - one was sent up immediately (we needed it for medication). I would recommend staying here, but know that the Starbuck's in the lobby is ALWAYS packed, so don't count on a quick cup of coffee there, especially during an event at the convention center (btw, they DO NOT let you up with your coffee or any food since they have concessions up there)...try finishing a hot cup of coffee while the rest of your group goes up the escalator- not easy. The room has a coffee maker, although we did not use it. During the cold weekend weather, it was nice to not have to step outside and drag coats, hats, scarves with us! The girls stayed across the hall in other rooms and my husband and i thought the room was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Wendy,
Thank you for responding on Trip Advisor. The winter months are an exciting time for us, as there are quite a few tournaments (cheerleading, volleyball, etc.) at the nearby Connecticut Convention Center. This provides great business for the hotel, Starbucks, Vivo restaurant and Crush lounge. We are so happy to hear that you found the rooms to your liking, the hotel accommodating and our staff attentive. We strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests and hope that you will continue to share these positive experiences with others and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    167
    51
    12
    8
See reviews for
54
67
23
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Compared to the rest of the locations in Hartford the Marriott is by far the nicest and classiest. Some of the others are decent (residence inn) while others are embarrassing (hilton) but the Marriott is really nice, great executive lounge, staff was nice and after a few stays remembered by preferences. Periodic room upgrades depending on how busy they were, but no matter which room i was put in it was nice and was never disappointed.
Walking distance to everything (not that that area of Hartford is that big).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so very much for your feedback! We LOVE our fans and are so happy that you choose us when staying in Hartford. We look forward to seeing you in Vivo again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfmoon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

As a retired corporate traveler who has visited many hotels around America, last weekend we had a wonderful two night stay at the Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel for our daughter's wedding. Both the rehearsal dinner and reception were at the hotel. The hotel experience was exceptional. I never thought we would find such great service in Hartford, CT. This newer multi-story hotel is kept immaculate. The event management team worked very hard to meet our needs for this large family wedding. Senior hotel management must be very active to maintain such a high standard of customer satisfaction. The valet service, front desk staff, sales dept., VIVO restaurant team, etc provided world class service. The food at the wedding reception for 260 was outstanding. Many attendees raved about about the food and great service. Overall for a large downtown hotel this hotel was excellent. Being next to the new convention center, this is certainly the place to stay if you need a downtown Hartford hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of the Connecticut River Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Jim,
I shared your comments with my team and everyone was thrilled to hear your comments. Thanks for letting us know that we met and exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on being a large hotel with a small Inn feel.
I know you were here for a wedding but if you are able to join us again this summer there are a host of great events happening on the CT River, which you can view form our guestrooms. Fireworks on the river over the Independence Day weekend is a sight to behold from our rooms!
Hope to be of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wish I could rate the Downtown Marriott with ten stars! Due to home renovations, we stayed at the hotel for over two months so this review is from a guest who experienced the hotel for an extended stay and not just a weekend or overnight visit.
This is a fine establishment that is very well run, the service is outstanding and the staff is professional, experienced and accommodating. The management was very involved in our stay and went above and beyond to guarantee we had the best experience. The staff delivers superior service consistently.
The hotel is new and in a safe area, amenities are updated compared to other choices in downtown Hartford, and the restaurant is fabulous offering many choices. The views from the room are outstanding overlooking the Connecticut River and downtown Hartford. There are also many great local restaurant offerings but you will be served well by dining at VIVO [Marriott’s restaurant] which offers an extensive menu with fabulous staff dedicated to your experience. They also have a bar/lounge that is very chic. Located next to the hotel are the CT Convention Center and CT Science Center which is a bonus as there are many interesting events to attend. There is a new movie theatre across the street that offers dining; the location is ideal.
The hotel offers many luxury amenities; however, the crown jewel of the hotel is the people who provide the service. Upon entering the hotel you are greeted by the friendly valets, the bellman are extremely helpful and courteous and I cannot say enough great things about the assistance provided by the Front desk, Housekeeping, Room Service and Concierge employees – truly outstanding. Starbucks was a blessing but once again, the staff made the difference by taking an interest in my day and remembering my daily coffee order – sweet, sweet ladies! Each morning I would arrive to have my coffee waiting – can’t beat that! Any hotel can have the most up to date and gorgeous amenities [which are desired] but what makes the downtown Marriott a preferred destination is not only the luxury offerings but the people who provide the service and the management who ensure their guests have the best experience.
This hotel caters to your every need, seeks your preferences and responds accordingly. The service is seamless and consistent from the moment you enter the hotel to dining and housekeeping needs. The staff members enjoy working here and it shows. You will not be disappointed in choosing the downtown Marriott!

Room Tip: The VP suite has many amenities offerings such as a large sitting area, dining for six and all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night when we attended a function in Hartford. The check-in was quick, and the young man at the desk was friendly and knowledgeable. The bathroom was sparkling--right down to the grout between the tiles. I really appreciated the little touches such as cotton balls and q-tips in the bathroom. We had to leave early Sunday morning, and we were the very first customers in the Starbucks in the lobby. The two women behind the counter were friendly and helpful. We were able to take our breakfast food into the small lounge area, and we had a quick, comfortable breakfast before hitting the road again. The hotel is very simple to access--right off I84. The parking is discounted for hotel guests, but be ready to add $19/day to the cost of your room. One small quibble: seems like almost all the newer Marriotts have eliminated towel bars in the bathroom. So, if you use the towels before going to sleep, there is nowhere to hang them. And there is only 1 towel per person, so you are not going to throw them on the floor. There must be some corporate logic behind this decision, but I can't figure it out. Overall, a very pleasant stay, and we will stay here the next time we are in Hartford.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialK55
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I want to open this review with an explanation. We stayed here as part of our corporate group holiday party, and were responsible for only a small part of the rate. My primary complaint is that the floor where they placed us (the 9th) was a huge party floor. Our floor mates were up all night, walking in and out of rooms, up and down the hallway, and talking as it if was 1:00 in the afternoon. We kept thinking it would end and we would be able to sleep, which is why we didn't complain. We decided at 4:00 a.m. to just leave. When I explained at the front desk why we were leaving so early, she gave me a blink and stare, as if she didn't know what I needed her to do.

That being said, the room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and would otherwise have been very quiet. It was at the end of a hallway and there was noise other than those partiers (did I mention they kept us up all night?).

I wish I could have had the opportunity to give this property a good review. Maybe some day, but not this time.

Room Tip: When you check in, make sure you aren't on a floor with groups, parties, or weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is such a convenient hotel to the science museum and the convention center. The front desk staff was so pleasant and helpful. We had a drink in the pretty bar called Crush which has wonderful couch nooks to sit. We then had a fabulous meal at the restaurant Vivo. My swordfish was the best! The gelato and ice cream sampler was wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 16th floor with a view of the river and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#3 of 10 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 10 in Hartford
3.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartford Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.