We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise in Downtown Hartford” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hartford Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hartford Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Hartford Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hartford
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise in Downtown Hartford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel's convenient location made our late evening drive from Vermont end easily. Warmly greeted by the hotel staff, we parked our car ourselves, our preference, in an adjacent clean, well lit parking garage. Through the cavernous, yet sleekly modern lobby, we easily located the elevators and arrived quickly to our standard sized, double queen room. Well appointed, the room adequately allowed us to share our space with our sixteen year old son. With a large flat screen TV, large desk space and reading space, free internet access, good lighting and soft linens, we coexisted comfortably. The bathroom was adequate, clean and well stocked. After a dip in the roof top, heated pool right before it closed (the hot tub was under repair), we headed downstairs, hungry and hopeful that we could eat a late dinner at one of the hotel restaurants. Safely down the hall from the off-lobby nightclub's throbbing DJ dance mix, another bar with a small seating area was open, and we ate a delicious meal at midnight. The food was freshly prepared and politely served even though we were the only patrons there, and very reasonable for a downtown hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Our high floor room had interesting nighttime and sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    138
    42
    11
    7
See reviews for
45
53
22
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed here. The hotel itself was beautiful. Nice spacious room, and comfortable beds. Two thumbs up on the complementary soaps and stuff, which made me smell great. The staff was friendly and helpful, most notably the restaurant staff, but all were very good. I didn't get a chance to check out the pool, unfortunately.

My big qualm was parking. First, I tried to valet, but there was a line of cars almost out to the street and only one very flustered looking valet on duty who pretty much ignored me, but who can blame someone who is that busy. Next, I tried to self park in the garage. There was very little signage and I was quite confused as to whether or not I could park there overnight or if it was even hotel parking at all. The lot was almost completely full and it literally took me 45 minutes to park and get to the lobby to check in. There were even people in the garage directing traffic, but only letting one car go at a time at 4 way stops, which in my mind is kind of what would happen at those anyway. Regardless, this confused and late making nightmare was not a very good first impression to an otherwise great stay. Usually, I am not too hard on things like this, but for the price, I would expect a bit better in this department.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hartford Marriott Downtown with us and the Trip Advisor community. I was thrilled to read that you were impressed and give both our accommodations and our associates high praise. It was also great to learn that our bath amenities were a hit!

That being said, after reading about your experience in the parking garage, I could clearly understand your disappointment and share in your frustration. I want to let you know that I have specifically discussed your concerns at length with the parking garage owner and operating company, using your review as an example. (Due to our Downtown Hartford location and proximity to the Convention Center, the parking garage is owned by another entity, operated by a third-party vendor and provides shared parking services for many in this area.)

The outcome of our meeting will help all the future guests of our hotel. The owner is reviewing signage and staffing levels during Convention Center events and has committed to improve service for our hotel guests. As you can see from our #1 Hartford Trip Advisor ranking, we take guest satisfaction very seriously and we will follow this through.

I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back the next time you come to Hartford.

-John Fraher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything you expect a Marriott should be--clean, comfortable, convenient location and outstanding staff. I had issues with my reservation--when I called the 800 reservation line to confirm my late arrival they could not find my reservation and booked me again. When I arrived the front desk was very helpful (and light-hearted) and not only discovered I now had two reservations but upgraded my room because of the inconvenience. The upgrade was appreciated as it put us far away from noisy soccer tournament guests. Also, the next morning in my quest for a yogurt, (Starbucks was out) instead of charging me to "take out" a yogurt from the restaurant -- they gave it to me! It is the small things like this that makes Marriott rise to the top for me.

Room Tip: Just check to see if there are any large groups and request a room away from the room block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is attached to the Hartford Convention Center and that alone tells you they have a built-in market and they don't have to be fabulous to be busy--just okay. The hotel lobby is very large & updated. The desk staff were friendly and I was quickly checked in. The room I had included a flat screen TV, frig, acceptablely-sized bathroom with adequate counter space and make-up mirror. The bed and bed linens were in good shape (have fitted sheets, which I like) and the room was clean, including the shower and bath area. My room was quiet and I did not hear my neighbors or hall noise.

So why the score of a 3? It was all just oaky. The room rate is similar to other hotels in the area. The room furnishings are in decent shape, the gym area was adequate, my internet did work. But overall an average Marriott and nothing more. If you don't stay in hotels much you will probably like this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

As you're aware, Marriott's are complete hit or misses these days. It was a late, rainy Friday leaving NYC for a drive to Maine and I just had to stop for the night. I made a last minute reservation with a bit of trepidation given it's downtown Hartford. WHen I arrived at 11.30 pm, the bar was thumping with music and a good crowd (turned out to be an Episcopalian Convention!). The front desk was efficient and hospitable and the room was top shelf, clean, and comfortable. If you remember the way Marriott used to be, this brings back the good old days! Congrats to the staff of the hotel for doing such a great job. And thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedgesville, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

While I did not spend the night in a hotel room, I attended a national knitting convention and all my classes were in the hotel. To start with, the bathrooms were immaculate with individual, white turkish towels and a lovely hamper to dump used towels. Staff was quick to take care of any needs and were so very friendly. Class teachers even remarked how helpful and pleasant the staff in setting up and meeting odd requests. Class rooms were kept very clean and fresh water was brought every couple of hours with REAL glass tumblers and linen napkins. I can only assume the sleeping rooms were as well attended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Granted, hotel prices are high in Hartford. For what I paid for a night at the Hartford Marriott Downtown, however, I expected to at least have a useable sink. That proved not to be the case: The sink stopper was stuck in the closed position, so I could not so much as brush my teeth using the sink because the water would not drain. I wonder how many times the room had been cleaned and the problem simply ignored. Similarly, there was no Guest Directory in the room.

On the positive side, room service was prompt and efficient, even with staff calling after food had been delivered to find out if everything was acceptable. The hotel also is quiet. I don't think I ever heard a sound from the hallway or other rooms.

The hotel staff, particularly those in valet parking, were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hartford
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartford Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.