We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Course” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Goodwin Park

Goodwin Park
1130 Maple Ave., Hartford, CT 06114
860-722-6542
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 64 things to do in Hartford
Attraction details
Wethersfield, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Golf Course”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Godwin Park's golf course could be beautiful again if some care was put into it. Some of the woman's tee boxes are just dirt and roots. It's a shame how the course is not maintained as well as it used to be.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Britain, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for walkers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It's a great place to walk during summer and a nice place to visit during winter when they have the festival of lights!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conn
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“FOUR”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Average place for 9 holes of golf.. First time I got hit with a golf ball. They have a walking area that runs right through the golf course. So you have to be very careful when walking, riding your bike or even playing. I got hit in the leg while on the first T. FOUR!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great park in a great city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Goodwin Park is a real jewel in Hartford's Southend. From its public golf course to its playground and swimming pool to its ponds filled with wildlife, Goodwin Park is a beautiful refuge from city life, a source of recreation and a real peaceful place to take a walk through. Goodwin Park is a safe a restful destination for Hartford's residents. We love it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A sad deterioration”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I grew up across from this park, and I walk my son's dog there every now and then (he bought his grandparents' house), and I'm greatly saddened to see how this once beautiful park and golf course has gone to seed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodwin Park also viewed

 

Been to Goodwin Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodwin Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.