We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful venue.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bushnell Center for Performing Arts

Bushnell Center for Performing Arts
166 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06100
860-987-5900, 888-824-2874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 64 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Connecticut's leading venue for the performing arts is known for its community programs and being an important advocate of music, dance and theatrical productions.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The last show I saw here was the author David
Sedaris. It was a bit gritty for some but I , naturally, love it. The Bushnell is beautiful and not too, too large. Even in the balcony I could see the diminutive Sedaris.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Performances!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is on par with any theater in New York or Boston! You can't see a bad show here whether classical performance or off Broadway show. Excellent!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Very nice theater with some first rate shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My family has gone here many times for shows. It is a beautiful theater and they have some great shows. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is for the size - if you are in the balcony seating, you are a good distance from the stage. The acoustics are good, but you need binoculars if you want to really see the performers expressions.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

They have a good variety -- symphony, pops, Broadway Shows, lecture programs, individual artists performing, and children's programs. The Mortenson Hall is a beautiful large theatre that features the largest ceiling painting in the United States. The Belding Theatre is a smaller venue with excellent acoustics.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I love theater!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I only gave this an OK rating because myself and the party I was with agreed that sitting further back it was hard to hear what was actually being said on stage. This took away from out total enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bushnell Center for Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Bushnell Center for Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bushnell Center for Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.